Stashaway discussion thread

Gametaku

hi guys anyone how long it would take to transfer fund from my Stashaway investment portfolio to my Stashaway Simple? or is it immediate?

They have to sell your asset first so you have to go through 1 to 3 night of US market trading before your fund get trsfed to Stashaway Simple.

goblinn

They have to sell your asset first so you have to go through 1 to 3 night of US market trading before your fund get trsfed to Stashaway Simple.

aww sian thought could transfer immediate coz i think market gonna drop again :(

tutonic

what's the difference between monthly deposit and one-time deposit?

If you set up monthly deposit on stashaway side, then every month when you transfer the same amount into stashaway, they'll know what to do with the money; i.e. how to split the money into the different portfolios.

If one time deposit, they'll know what to do for your next deposit of that amount. After that, when you deposit again, you'll need to set up another deposit instruction on stashaway. If not, they'll email you and return the money.

arsenalfc85

If you set up monthly deposit on stashaway side, then every month when you transfer the same amount into stashaway, they'll know what to do with the money; i.e. how to split the money into the different portfolios.

If one time deposit, they'll know what to do for your next deposit of that amount. After that, when you deposit again, you'll need to set up another deposit instruction on stashaway. If not, they'll email you and return the money.

Sorry I don’t get the one time deposit part. Can explain with examples? Thanks

tutonic

Sorry I don’t get the one time deposit part. Can explain with examples? Thanks

Say you want to transfer $500 into Stashaway and have 2 portfolios (A and B).

So you make one-time deposit on Stashaway and allocate $300 into A and $200 into B. Then you transfer through ibanking/PayNow into Stashaway.
Settle.

Now if you want to make another deposit tomorrow/next week/next month for $500 and same split ($300 into A and $200 into B), you'll need to make a one-time deposit on Stashaway again, before transferring through ibanking/PayNow.

Stashaway deletes your one-time deposit after they receive the money for that deposit, so you need to keep making them on Stashaway.

That's why they got the monthly deposit option. That instruction doesn't disappear after each deposit.

So if you set up a monthly deposit instruction on Stashaway to split $300 in A and $200 into B. Whenever you transfer $500 exactly into Stashaway, for the first time in that month, they'll split accordingly. Next month, can just ibanking/PayNow to Stashaway since the monthly deposit instruction is still there.

It doesn't matter if you deposit it on 10th this month, and then 15th next month. As long as it's the first deposit for that month + the exact amount stipulated in the monthly deposit instruction on Stashaway.

If you set up whatever instruction for $1000 but you only transfer $800 or even $1200, Stashaway won't process your funds. They'll email you.

The deposit instructions are simply instructions to Stashaway on how you want to split the money into the different portfolios, once they receive your deposit. That's all.

Mclairs83

Any advise if we should continue to hold? The market tank quite jia lak. Now my portfolio losing money quite a bit. Thinking of stopping my monthly deposit to them and start the simple portfolio instead.

Sent from OnePlus GM1910 using GAGT

assiak71

Any advise if we should continue to hold? The market tank quite jia lak. Now my portfolio losing money quite a bit. Thinking of stopping my monthly deposit to them and start the simple portfolio instead.

If you do that you will be worse 1 year later than if you sticked to it

Stay the course

tutonic

Let me be blunt. Are you retiring any time soon? No, right? So why take out? You kancheong over short term drop for what? Doesn't matter what medium you use for investment, be it robo or DIY.

Let me just put it in a different light. Now nearly all the stuff are cheaper. It makes sense to increase your monthly top up, rather than decrease it. This is because your normal monthly deposit will now be buying more units, for the same amount. So it makes sense to increase contributions now. Then, when markets recover, you reduce your top up, to balance things out.

Mclairs83

Let me be blunt. Are you retiring any time soon? No, right? So why take out? You kancheong over short term drop for what? Doesn't matter what medium you use for investment, be it robo or DIY.

Let me just put it in a different light. Now nearly all the stuff are cheaper. It makes sense to increase your monthly top up, rather than decrease it. This is because your normal monthly deposit will now be buying more units, for the same amount. So it makes sense to increase contributions now. Then, when markets recover, you reduce your top up, to balance things out.

Nope. Not retiring. Infact I'm thinking of starting to look out another place where I can grow more money since most of the things are down now.

KinoChoco

Nope. Not retiring. Infact I'm thinking of starting to look out another place where I can grow more money since most of the things are down now.

Personally I do a mixture of stashaway / individual brokerage stocks trading / cpf buying ETFs.

Now is a good time to average down your stashaway (the higher the risk setting, the better for now) or buy up some safe undervalued stocks.

—-
Feel free to PM me if you would like to understand more, do use my referral in order for both of us to enjoy 6 months off fees.

https://www.stashaway.sg/referrals/yonghuink5xr

KinoChoco

You’re right. Currently for stashaway I’ve increased to 4x my usual amount, now is the period where you should buy more, not panic and start selling. I know some people who got freaked out and started selling off all their investments and resulting into 30-40k losses (and those are safe stocks which in no risk of defaulting) it’s such a waste when people play the stocks market without really knowing what they should do in the event of crisis...make losses for no reason.

—-
Feel free to PM me if you would like to understand more, do use my referral in order for both of us to enjoy 6 months off fees.

https://www.stashaway.sg/referrals/yonghuink5xr

tutonic

Just DCA a few key ETFs like XLK XLV XLY and some SG REITs. They're all down 20+%. You can even get a couple Tesla stocks. It's 400+ now, down 50% since mid Feb. There are a lot of other key tech stocks that are down >30% too. Do your own research if you're keen.

arsenalfc85

Say you want to transfer $500 into Stashaway and have 2 portfolios (A and B).

So you make one-time deposit on Stashaway and allocate $300 into A and $200 into B. Then you transfer through ibanking/PayNow into Stashaway.
Settle.

Now if you want to make another deposit tomorrow/next week/next month for $500 and same split ($300 into A and $200 into B), you'll need to make a one-time deposit on Stashaway again, before transferring through ibanking/PayNow.

Stashaway deletes your one-time deposit after they receive the money for that deposit, so you need to keep making them on Stashaway.

That's why they got the monthly deposit option. That instruction doesn't disappear after each deposit.

So if you set up a monthly deposit instruction on Stashaway to split $300 in A and $200 into B. Whenever you transfer $500 exactly into Stashaway, for the first time in that month, they'll split accordingly. Next month, can just ibanking/PayNow to Stashaway since the monthly deposit instruction is still there.

It doesn't matter if you deposit it on 10th this month, and then 15th next month. As long as it's the first deposit for that month + the exact amount stipulated in the monthly deposit instruction on Stashaway.

If you set up whatever instruction for $1000 but you only transfer $800 or even $1200, Stashaway won't process your funds. They'll email you.

The deposit instructions are simply instructions to Stashaway on how you want to split the money into the different portfolios, once they receive your deposit. That's all.

Ok. thanks. i roughly understand liao.

Let's say i set monthly deposit to $250/mth and yesterday i already deposited $250 for this month.

Can i still deposit another $250 tomorrow? How to go about doing it?

arsenalfc85

I only have one portfolio.

1) If i only have one portfolio, does it mean there's no difference between one-time deposit and monthly deposit? Am i right?

2) So let's say i have only one portfolio, i set it at monthly $250. But i want to put more money into it, i can switch the deposit to one-time deposit and then just proceed to put in whatever amount the next day, correct?

3) i'm worried if i set monthly deposit to $250, then i make more than one deposits in a certain month, or say i accidentally deposit $350, there will be problems.

tesarise

I only have one portfolio.

1) If i only have one portfolio, does it mean there's no difference between one-time deposit and monthly deposit? Am i right?

2) So let's say i have only one portfolio, i set it at monthly $250. But i want to put more money into it, i can switch the deposit to one-time deposit and then just proceed to put in whatever amount the next day, correct?

3) i'm worried if i set monthly deposit to $250, then i make more than one deposits in a certain month, or say i accidentally deposit $350, there will be problems.

you can have many monthly deposits and one-time deposits active at the same time.

WoShiPro

Did stashaway start reoptizmining portfolio already? It sold off some of my gold at a loss to keep cash..

duhduhduh

Hows the Portfolio performing?

I am puzzled on the performance of the Portfolio

reddevil0728

Is Monthly Investment Plan / Regular Savings Plan available on StashAway with SRS?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.