Stats time!

bOnkfEsT

fishbuff said:
welcome, Bonkfest (guess u get the nick after much enjoyment there? :))

ok, some facts... strongman contest is organised yearly by hometeamns. they will first host the prelims somewhere around mid jan and the qualifying round are; farmer walk with75kg each for 20m, 4.5ton truck pull for 20m, and 600lb tire flip. they will select the top ten for the final contest.

for the final, there will be 5 events; 100kg barrel walk for 20m, 75kg logwalk for 40m, 500lb tire flip for 20m, car pull over some humps and the usual rhino truck pull for 20m. heard that there will be 2 events to replace some, yoke walk and car deadlift. there will be some revision to the weights use too. hopefully they will up the farmer walk weightst to 100kg and stick with the 600lb tire for flips.

where are you putting up in brisbane now? toowong, redhill, indooroopilly?
hehe thank you. Actually i've been using this nick since i was 15 but thats a really good guess hehe.
Also thank you for detailing the events so clearly for me. Much much appreciated. I wish they would include the car deadlifts heh. Is it true that there are no weight categories involved? A 150kg freakshow would have a massive advantage over a 80kg person ....

I'm staying in Spring hill currently but i'm due back in sing on the 27th of nov. I suppose you've been to Brisbane before?

bOnkfEsT

fishbuff said:
welcome, Bonkfest (guess u get the nick after much enjoyment there? :))

ok, some facts... strongman contest is organised yearly by hometeamns. they will first host the prelims somewhere around mid jan and the qualifying round are; farmer walk with75kg each for 20m, 4.5ton truck pull for 20m, and 600lb tire flip. they will select the top ten for the final contest.

for the final, there will be 5 events; 100kg barrel walk for 20m, 75kg logwalk for 40m, 500lb tire flip for 20m, car pull over some humps and the usual rhino truck pull for 20m. heard that there will be 2 events to replace some, yoke walk and car deadlift. there will be some revision to the weights use too. hopefully they will up the farmer walk weightst to 100kg and stick with the 600lb tire for flips.

where are you putting up in brisbane now? toowong, redhill, indooroopilly?
hehe thank you. Actually i've been using this nick since i was 15 but thats a really good guess hehe.
Also thank you for detailing the events so clearly for me. Much much appreciated. I wish they would include the car deadlifts heh. Is it true that there are no weight categories involved? A 150kg freakshow would have a massive advantage over a 80kg person ....

I'm staying in Spring hill currently but i'm due back in sing on the 27th of nov. I suppose you've been to Brisbane before?

bOnkfEsT

galapogos said:
omg, bonkfest that's amazing strength. And armwrestler, that's fantastic strength to weight ratio too. Care to share how long you've been training and your height? It's extremely rare to see such lightweight people lift so much.

Edit: after tabulating the scores and charting out the results, we have a new overall winner in bonkfest! I didn't think the day that captnj's superlative numbers were relegated to 2nd place would come so soon.

Anyway, the big numbers are great, but I wish more people in other stages of training would join in the fun as well. Don't feel shy/intimidated/whatever man. Just pick up the barbell and lift lift lift!

Whao, thank you...

but the bottom line is that i would still be a scrawny without Captnj's guidance. Plus his massive weights have certainly aspired me to go further and lift harder and heavier before. I have somewhat discarded some of the usual bodybuilding routine and embrace the hardcore world of powerlifting and strongman lifting routines haha.

Believe me when i say this though, with captnj and i training together, the sky's the limit.

bOnkfEsT

captnj said:
haha welcome bonkfest! ok guys, bonkfest is no dbout a gifted guy. Built for lifting. But hes also a good example of a guy who works hard.

remember "HArd work beats talent if talent doesnt work hard" but this guy works hard + has talent so thats a great combination. hehe!

Hes got the Thick torso, popping out traps and all. He and I will be training together when he gets back. I'm glad to have somebody to train with. He will be gunning for the strongman competitions. I will be going for the 11sec 100m dash. Quite an excitign year 2007! stay tuned:)

regds
Jonathan
Jon we see each other on MSN so i've nothing to say hahaha.

But people just remember this quote from someone i forgot heh.
Whatever numbers we put up, just remember that in remote china, a 12 year old girls is lifting the same weight/ using your weight as a warm up.
Knowing this always puts me on the edge and forces me to shut up and lift so to speak haa

Doinker

WOOT!!! Another Asian Powerlifter.

Damn good lifts man...and at 81kg!!!

I'm currently towards the final stages of my training cycle...going for a Powerlifting meet in 3 weeks.

Will keep you guys updated.

Got 205kg x 5 x 3 for deadliftings tomorrow (my final day of 5 rep sets). Not sure if I can manage...but will give it my all anyway.

Peace out.

fishbuff

bOnkfEsT said:

actually it is the other way around. the winner of last year contest was Chaar, a 70+kg guy who excel in both speed and strength. hopefully next year there will be some changes, as there are alot more stronger contestants and hope to match the world strongman event in 1-2 year. not sure if they will extend the invitation to malaysia which i had heard the organising major mentioning this before. can share with u on the events execution, need some handons like truck pull and tire flip. i ripped my shoulder skin, pulled the finger's tendon when i was newbie then.

spring hill? how is the rent? im moving to brisbane there next jan/feb. can take over your rented house? :)

fishbuff

Doinker said:
WOOT!!! Another Asian Powerlifter.

Damn good lifts man...and at 81kg!!!

I'm currently towards the final stages of my training cycle...going for a Powerlifting meet in 3 weeks.

Will keep you guys updated.

Got 205kg x 5 x 3 for deadliftings tomorrow (my final day of 5 rep sets). Not sure if I can manage...but will give it my all anyway.

Peace out.

205kg for 5 reps for 3 set?! awesome!
i will try to catch up.. only 3 reps at 1 set only for me. :(

ithunk

Damn u guys are strong im benching 140kg now also with chalk.....i dun do deadlift neither do i do squats.....but yeah i could do a pretty decent amt of weight if needed to...so where do u guys train?

bOnkfEsT

fishbuff said:
actually it is the other way around. the winner of last year contest was Chaar, a 70+kg guy who excel in both speed and strength. hopefully next year there will be some changes, as there are alot more stronger contestants and hope to match the world strongman event in 1-2 year. not sure if they will extend the invitation to malaysia which i had heard the organising major mentioning this before. can share with u on the events execution, need some handons like truck pull and tire flip. i ripped my shoulder skin, pulled the finger's tendon when i was newbie then.

spring hill? how is the rent? im moving to brisbane there next jan/feb. can take over your rented house? :)
Whao Chaar is certainly impressive pound for pound. Although i`ve been doing some powerlifting routines(eg. over presses etc), i`ve never participated in any strongman competition. I look forward to doing my first one in sing.

It would be great if we could meet up over coffee for a chat.
I doubt you would want my apartment in SH. Its expensive as hell , 400 aud for 2 bed 2 bath, but if u don`t mind the price, the location is awesome.
Are you coming over for studies or business?

nakorius

ithunk,

Deadlifts and Squats require an entire set of stabilizers and uses a completely different set of muscles for each exercise.

It is very different from benching.

Why don't you squat or do deadlift? I am surprised that for a chap who wants to be the biggest, strongest and most muscular fella in CF Bugis, he does not do all the big 3 and most pro-bodybuilders along with Strongmen do that.

nakorius

fishbuff said:

Woot? We have not even started training together and you are moving to Brisbane!?

This is... unacceptable! :(

fishbuff

bOnkfEsT said:
Whao Chaar is certainly impressive pound for pound. Although i`ve been doing some powerlifting routines(eg. over presses etc), i`ve never participated in any strongman competition. I look forward to doing my first one in sing.

It would be great if we could meet up over coffee for a chat.
I doubt you would want my apartment in SH. Its expensive as hell , 400 aud for 2 bed 2 bath, but if u don`t mind the price, the location is awesome.
Are you coming over for studies or business?

walao!!
that is ex. im looking around $250/wk, probably have to live somewhere further liao like parkinson. :p

nakorius said:
Woot? We have not even started training together and you are moving to Brisbane!?

This is... unacceptable! :(

ok ok lah.. next week ok? howabout on sat weekend? promise is promise ...

ithunk

okay squat about 2 and half plates.....deadlift about 3 plates....i can do all those but im more into making my body more massive....but at the same time retaining a small waist...

bOnkfEsT

fishbuff said:
walao!!
that is ex. im looking around $250/wk, probably have to live somewhere further liao like parkinson. :p

Why don't you try sunnybank.....you'll be surrounded by good old asian food.

Plus you'll be surrounded by all the asian grocery shops. Imagine cooking up a no fuss feast of bak kut teh or laksa.
Never miss singaporean food again hehe.

nakorius

ithunk said:
okay squat about 2 and half plates.....deadlift about 3 plates....i can do all those but im more into making my body more massive....but at the same time retaining a small waist...
Erm... About?

2 and half plates?

about 3 plates?

Did you really do it?

These exercises do not give you a big waist fyi :)

nakorius

fishbuff said:
Should be fine... hopefully I will finish moving house by then.

I will msn you or something.

You can also sms me lah.... you have my number :D

galapogos

nakorius said:
Erm... About?

2 and half plates?

about 3 plates?

Did you really do it?

These exercises do not give you a big waist fyi :)

Agreed. For a guy who claims he can bench 3 plates, it seems weird, almost a blasphemy, that his squat and deadlift numbers are lower than his bench numbers. Hell, I squatted more than 2.5 plates before my injury.

nakorius

galapogos said:
Agreed. For a guy who claims he can bench 3 plates, it seems weird, almost a blasphemy, that his squat and deadlift numbers are lower than his bench numbers. Hell, I squatted more than 2.5 plates before my injury.
Unless of course, he has weak legs and a weak back... :p

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.