STI ETF

Mecisteus

SGX market has been underperforming for the past few years so STI is out of favor now.

Regions can go out favor for many years. See Japan.

Now is the best time to accumulate.

Set your expectations low and you will be rewarded if you have a longer term horizon.

If your horizon is like 6-12months, just dump your money into the hottest regions and sectors.

d5dude

wah then how? Put my $ where can get safest returns and preserve capitals? Looking at 4-5% returns. Safe safe.

Stocks are inherently risky, no such thing as safe. What you can do is to diversify, it can greatly reduce your risk. VWRA is not bad if you want broad diversification, though I think it has a little too much exposure to US right now, but it still beats dumping 50% or more into STI (which has lagged the MSCI world index badly for the last 3 decades!!!).

yumsang

those retail and institutions trading STI daily must be fools :(
do they really know what are they doing mans

Seannie

Stocks are inherently risky, no such thing as safe. What you can do is to diversify, it can greatly reduce your risk. VWRA is not bad if you want broad diversification, though I think it has a little too much exposure to US right now, but it still beats dumping 50% or more into STI (which has lagged the MSCI world index badly for the last 3 decades!!!).

not familiar. Duno wat is VWRA.

Slowdown

Because I don't know when the low that is why I do RSP. If I know I won't be typing in this forum liao.

If really hit $1.80 I will be deploying my reserve to buy from the open market.

low price now meh? Waiting for the double dip..looks like the covid19 havent been priced in yet. STI ETF still looking expensive now. Waiting for $1.80. If go for long haul definitely must wait for the real crash.

reddevil0728

Nope that one.not liquid cant take out.

Either crash then buy else just keep in bank savings account first.
Whether something is safe is relative to those more "risk-free" assets like government bond.

If a government bond is paying like 3-4% returns, then expecting 4-5% returns from another instrument maybe can consider quite safe la. but we are talking about an era with record low interest??? how you expect something that is giving returns of 4-5% as being safe???

Seannie

Whether something is safe is relative to those more "risk-free" assets like government bond.

If a government bond is paying like 3-4% returns, then expecting 4-5% returns from another instrument maybe can consider quite safe la. but we are talking about an era with record low interest??? how you expect something that is giving returns of 4-5% as being safe???

No lar dbs also safe. Proven for many decades liao. So many crisis still profits and giving out dividends. I thought this covid will crash but end up havent yet.

Crash, jeep at low price and get high dividend yield when price rise back is the best. If jeep low price dividend yield will not just 4% le.

reddevil0728

No lar dbs also safe. Proven for many decades liao. So many crisis still profits and giving out dividends. I thought this covid will crash but end up havent yet.

Crash, jeep at low price and get high dividend yield when price rise back is the best. If jeep low price dividend yield will not just 4% le.
Have you heard of "Past performance is no guarantee of future results"

If you feel that DBS so safe and can provide 4-5% returns, then why don't just get that? Need to ask people meh.

Slowdown

This is not a math formula. We have to consider both the Marco and micro condition. What is the reason that STI drops to 1600? We have to look at both the Micro and Marco condition and make a decision.

If by then people are still buying new iPhone then most probably I would sti be investing into the stock market. I will not increase my RSP but I will deploy some reserve capital and directly buy from the market. At that price I may directly buy the banks like DBS rather than STI ETF.

Means if STI ETF goes down to $1.60 you will increase your monthly purchase to $2k?

platee

Yes please support DBS , we people in India love Dbs

havetheveryfun

SIA also proven for many decades

Seannie

Have you heard of "Past performance is no guarantee of future results"

If you feel that DBS so safe and can provide 4-5% returns, then why don't just get that? Need to ask people meh.

waiting for below $10. Asking to see if any better investments.

Seannie

I really wonder what will happen to the world if DBS goes below $10.

Put your money in SIA lor?

Got lar. That time u still studying? 2008 crisis dbs goes below $10 and issue rights.

Ok maybe wont so low this time but maybe can kope at below $15.

When mkt crash sentiments can be crazy and can pick alot cheap durians.

Waiting to see how bad econony will be becos current mkt have not been priced in yet. But ofcos if im wrong then be it lor. $ still will be in savings account.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.