STI ETF

MajinBuui

Just double checking, all in CPF OA minus first 20,000 can be invested in SPDR Straits Times Index ETF right?

Mr. Wood

if u are a retiree and only think of investing only now, dun listen to those stock market course sellers. stay far far away frm course sellers. learn instead frm SGX academy or SIAS.

peppermint7

Yes. Killing myself won't solve any problem. The only way is to win my money back. How? I just doubled my monthly purchase of the STI ETF from previous $500 to now $1K a monthly.

It is double or nothing now. Don't hold me back. I have to win my's son U money back.

Using the term "win" is no longer investing. Im sure u are aware it may take a few years for STI to turn to your "win" How many more years do u have before your kid enter uni? If u have the time, then just wait patiently. Be prepared it'll be for years..

I can understand your frustration. But do keep calm. Take it as a lesson learnt. We will grow and overcome. This is part and parcel of investing in stock market

Do not panic even if it goes further south. Just remember that whatever goes down will rise again. Just that it may take years. All u need now is time.

batniss

Using the term "win" is no longer investing. Im sure u are aware it may take a few years for STI to turn to your "win" How many more years do u have before your kid enter uni? If u have the time, then just wait patiently. Be prepared it'll be for years..

I can understand your frustration. But do keep calm. Take it as a lesson learnt. We will grow and overcome. This is part and parcel of investing in stock market

Do not panic even if it goes further south. Just remember that whatever goes down will rise again. Just that it may take years. All u need now is time.

this guy is definitely gambling.

peppermint7

this guy is definitely gambling.

I believe he has a good plan in the beginning to save for his kid's education. Many who are beginners are not aware of the risk. They read article which promotes POSB or any other bank investment then they buy into it without understanding the risk involved

Many beginners don't have someone who is financial savvy to advise them. I myself also suffer huge burn in stock market before. Also some dumb insurance policies that i bought into that isn't even worth mentioning.

This is parts and parcel of learning journey. Who never lose in stock market? Only those who are able to hold for years may win.

So we have to be more understanding. Don't stone him. His intention is good from the beginning.

jack-320

Thanks for sharing

Investment in stocks means the investment horizon must be long

and must tolerate the risks, cost may be more than current value

If this is for say education, important things...bond or FD will be better

as capital is maintained

if you can breathe mean there is hope

EDIT: sorry, bond is not 100% safe, do research before investing

googoogaga

The problem with equity market investments even if you have a long term investing horizon is the chance that you end up having to liquidate your holdings during a recession. This can however be partially solved by gradually moving a portion of equities into savings account or bonds as you approach the target date.

That being said, I believe this person is simply trolling

Slowdown

That part about killing myself is partially trolling. The rest are true.

You made a valid point about the exit point. If this year is when I need the the money and yet this crisis happened then it is a bitter pill to swallow. When I started six years ago I just set a ten year time horizon. I will continue on the RSP for another two years and thereafter start thinking whether I should continue to leave the money there. Back in February I did considered if I should sell. That was when it was still $3. I decided that since it was supposed to be a RSP I should stay the course. If a little shaking I scared then dun play the market. On hindsight of course now said should sold then. Who is not sad when everyday the price drop and drop.

I looked at the situation two weeks back and I decided that this is the best time to I increase my RSP amount. Why not. We can't catch the bottom. But I did not go with POSB IS. I prefer ES3 and thus I started a RSP with FSM thus month. Now I have $500 on ES3 and $500 on G3B.

Huat ah!....:s13:

The problem with equity market investments even if you have a long term investing horizon is the chance that you end up having to liquidate your holdings during a recession. This can however be partially solved by gradually moving a portion of equities into savings account or bonds as you approach the target date.

That being said, I believe this person is simply trolling

Mecisteus

If you are feeling horrible then I should go kill myself.

I have been on the POSB Invest Saver for 6 years now and each month I put in $500. My investment cost is close to $40K and it has already lost 38% value. Best part. This money is meant for my son local university education. How am I to explain to my son that he can't go U because his father has lost all the money. Sound like a typical Korean movie man!

I better go kill myself so that my wife can claim a little insurance money. Now cannot go Bedok reservoir then better use the pail in my home toilet and put my head in ....:(

Bro I read your posts from the POSB IS thread and I know you were 1 of the pioneers.

1) Never never ever cash out during a financial crisis.

2) Furthermore, you should be doing a reverse DCA if you need the capital.

3) Take a bank loan or use your CPF to fund for your children education. Tuition fee loan is a good loan actually. Repayment is flexible and interest rates will accrue only when your children go out to work.

4) Stop the POSB IS and open a FSM account. Resume your RSP with FSM instead. The commission is lower.

Slowdown

Thanks for the encouragement. Another POSB IS pioneer has been advising me to switch to FSM for quite a while. I decided otherwise because I like to keep things simple and in one place. Cost is just one factor. Convenient is another. Also I wanted to retain my bragging rights over at that thread.

Still......I just started a new RSP with FSM for ES3 this month while keeping my IS ongoing. I always prefer ES3 over G3B. This is the only reason why I choose FSM over IS now.

:)

Bro I read your posts from the POSB IS thread and I know you were 1 of the pioneers.

1) Never never ever cash out during a financial crisis.

2) Furthermore, you should be doing a reverse DCA if you need the capital.

3) Take a bank loan or use your CPF to fund for your children education. Tuition fee loan is a good loan actually. Repayment is flexible and interest rates will accrue only when your children go out to work.

4) Stop the POSB IS and open a FSM account. Resume your RSP with FSM instead. The commission is lower.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.