STI ETF

Mr. Wood

This may seem controversial. But is it correct to say STI has been in a bear market since 2007?

why u say controversial leh? can alwys giv yr opinions.
i dun think anyone here will hate if u hav a diff opinion, but i detest if the someone has a hidden agenda. somemoar those rich scums say STI dis STI dat but do nothing to help the poor ppl.

RedsYWNA

why u say controversial leh? can alwys giv yr opinions.
i dun think anyone here will hate if u hav a diff opinion, but i detest if the someone has a hidden agenda. somemoar those rich scums say STI dis STI dat but do nothing to help the poor ppl.
Bcos the word "bear" is a emotional term for some.

I think STI is 1 of the very few indices that had not regained the pre GFC levels.

While Japan had not regained 1989 peak, at least they had re-taken 2007 levels.

I think it's an indictment of the capabilities of our GLC leaders.

DevilPlate

I think STI is 1 of the very few indices that had not regained the pre GFC levels.

We fail to attract tech growth stocks.
Hoping to see some quality big cap IPO listed here in 2021.

Mostly value stocks in STI which lag behind as we rapidly head towards global digitalisation.

MangoTuna65

Even after considering total returns?

Mr. Wood

i think is more than juz no tech growth stocks. i was looking at new zealand index which outperformed S&P500. its components oso banks, utility, industrial, reits.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/NZX_50_Index
Israel hav tech and pharma stocks but not as strong as S&P

i hav 2 theories. 1) BB no confidence in the 4G miw vision. 2) sg risk free rate 4% v high compare to NZ, US etc.
so other country investors pump money into the stock mkt.

starbugs

I place the blame on STI's poor performance in large part on the s-chips saga which shook the confidence in Singapore stocks. While these s-chips stocks are not STI component (except YZJ), their collapse dragged down the valuation of every Singapore stock. Even good China-linked companies such as GLP then delisted. Tech companies such as SEA and Razer also don't dare to list here. Without such tech companies as peers, even IPOs such as Nanofilm kena slammed for being over-priced by some people in this very forum. When Grab eventually IPO, they won't want to list in SG. The s-chips scandals are casting a long shadow.

RedsYWNA

Even after considering total returns?

Even considering 4.5% returns for STI, other markets should be able to garner at least 2-3%?

STI is a long way off 3.9k reached in 2007.

I think its not difficult to see who the laggards since 2007 are,namely Singtel, SIA, Keppel Corp, Semb Corp, Capitaland, HK Land, Dairy Farm etc.

I actually think the 3 local banks and the reits have done well. But the GLCs have been terrible.

Kojo0403

Came off a bit today, esp YZJ & Jardine C&C due to MSCI rebalancing..

Anyone looking to add on position to STI at current price?

GreenTeaa

Thought etf is considered passive investment and supposed to be held for long term?
correct. passive investing believes that you can't time the market and you want to have the right amount of risk while receiving the premiums you deserve. You are earning from it's economic engine

moonlighter_sg

Do the contrary and buy

True, most of the time they will release some "bad" news before market cheong. I learnt my lessons from following these analists advice all these years. Trading opposite to their advice works for me.... DYODD

Manufacturing activity in Singapore remained buoyant in November for the fifth consecutive month, albeit at a lower level than the previous month.

Data released by the Singapore Institute of Purchasing and Materials Management (SPIMM) on Dec 3 shows a 0.1 point dip in the republic’s Purchasing Manager’s Index (PMI) to 50.4.

https://www.theedgesingapore.com/ne...apores-factory-output-continues-grow-november

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.