STI ETF

pylpoh

Does anyone here uses the STI ETF as an alternative to the high interest savings account (i.e. DBS Multiplier) seeing that STI is rather stable and doesn't dip/rise too much. I'm not saying to put all your money into STI ETF but rather a split between the two options.

(Apologies if this has been asked before, I scrolled a few pages and couldn't locate a similar qn).

Depends on the amount , your portfolio allocations, investment goal and time. If the total sum is not so much...better to keep in the saving accounts. If the sum is alot, must also consider properly; don't subject yourself to unnecessary risk. Key is to be discipline and maintain your portfolio as planned.

Sometimes there are also some nice steady bonds offering close to 3-4%;astrea for example.

apriliasiao

sibei siew la! within one yr my ES3 chiong >25%. + juicy dividend.
too bad for those ran out of patience waiting for it.

pcmdan

sibei siew la! within one yr my ES3 chiong >25%. + juicy dividend.
too bad for those ran out of patience waiting for it.

Haha me too...Best buy...when people bad mouth sg shares...I still put my faith in SG.

Don't believe in putting all my eggs in US. Just felt better to diversify

pcmdan

Depends on the amount , your portfolio allocations, investment goal and time. If the total sum is not so much...better to keep in the saving accounts. If the sum is alot, must also consider properly; don't subject yourself to unnecessary risk. Key is to be discipline and maintain your portfolio as planned.

Sometimes there are also some nice steady bonds offering close to 3-4%;astrea for example.

Banks are for my emergency funding

Sti etf
Astrea
Cpf
Reits
Are considered my bonds allocation haha

highsulphur

Haha me too...Best buy...when people bad mouth sg shares...I still put my faith in SG.

I went the other way last year. Diversify from sgx

frigatex

You guys ok or not? The gains from Mar 2020 till now is used as evidence that sti is a good choice? It's more of how much it fell and now regaining what it was before (and actually still not there yet, hopefully it does though).

Look longer term and compare against other indices and ETFs can?

pcmdan

You guys ok or not? The gains from Mar 2020 till now is used as evidence that sti is a good choice? It's more of how much it fell and now regaining what it was before (and actually still not there yet, hopefully it does though).

Not gd choice. But not a bad choice either

apriliasiao

hello? u ok anot 1st? Compare simi? Historical performance doesn't means anything. The important thing is to make money.

highsulphur

hello? u ok anot 1st? Compare simi? Historical performance doesn't means anything. The important thing is to make money.

Yeah so what if we made less compared to had we invested in Tesla or such. Point is its better than not to have invested at all.

pylpoh

Banks are for my emergency funding

Sti etf
Astrea
Cpf
Reits
Are considered my bonds allocation haha

different people different type of portfolio, as long as it works for you ok liao lo. for me i categories into a few different risk levels and allocate the size% i want each to be at. From lowest to highest risk; ssb & bonds (10%), sti etfs (10%), world index fund(30%), bluechip banks&reits (30%), msc stocks (10%), tech stocks (10%).

pylpoh

Got meaning to have bonds allocation and share allocation?

think bonds in general is less volatile. so as time passes, when your equities grow into a bigger size, you may want to sell some and "lock" the money in bonds instead.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.