(Storage) SSD Discussion Thread

xJoker

and do i need to reformat everything from scratch ?

can i move my files over to my new ssd and NOT reformat everything ?

my steam acc take ages to dl all my games sc2 also

It's better to reformat everything from scratch.

That's another reason why i dun like to buy games from Steam. Downloading is a pain in the a s s.

wacko

my steam acc take ages to dl all my games sc2 also
if i'm not wrong, you can back up your Steam game data in another drive first. and in any case, you can change the server under Steam settings to South Korea, it's much faster.

fantasyrulz

if i'm not wrong, you can back up your Steam game data in another drive first. and in any case, you can change the server under Steam settings to South Korea, it's much faster.

guess i will just have to reformat everything
because that hdd also contain my windows file

do you think i should get a sata III but low capacity or sata II with higher capacity ?

from sata 2 to 3 got any big difference ?

some1outthere

is it reliable ?

hard to say.. a few posts b4 I posted a link.. some pple is saying that SSDs are very unreliable..

err.. you're putting files on a new SSD.. why need to reformat leh? Do you mean reinstall?

Actually you can try cloning.. machiam like transferring everything from old HDD to new HDD, provided the capacity of the new drive is bigger then the size of data.

do you think i should get a sata III but low capacity or sata II with higher capacity ?

firstly, check if the MB support Sata3.. if not, then why stress over it?

doughdough

Bought a Force 3 120gb on thursdays (revised batch 1123), replace it to vertex 3 Max isop today at PCThemes as it's still within the 7 days period. Many thanks to the staff at PCThemes for the help rendered.

Was quite disappointed with corsair this time round, firstly the freezing issue followed by BSOD. Secondly, sata 3 bug. Defeats the purpose of a sata 3 drive if i have to use a sata 2 port.

I absolutely love Corsair for their quality products, but sadly their force 3 120gb ssd this time rd is really does not live up to their reputation.

AFAIK, only force 3 120gb has such problem. The rest is ok. i.e force 3 60gb, 240gb and force gt 60gb, 120gb, 240gb.

I'm really hoping all of these issues are caused by the 120GB force 3 and ONLY the 120GB, reason to this is because I had already pre-ordered my Force 3 60GB :< haha.. seriously hoping that nothing goes wrong with it :x

Mach3.2

guess i will just have to reformat everything
because that hdd also contain my windows file

If your motherboard support sata3, then go for it if you think it's worth it for the speed. I personally would go for the sata2 higher capacity one:)
SSD is already fast, unless you transfer files everyday, then you probably won't notice any big difference.

mqz512

hello guys, can I know how to check the validity of my intel ssd? thanks!!!
and where do we bring for servicing if the ssd has any problems?

DellSuperman

Sorry, i read somewhere from this forum that mentions how to save & utilize disk space for SSD due to its small size. Does any kind soul have the link to it?

Thanks in advance!

fantasyrulz

i have got a problem with my ssd that i just bought
whenever i try to connect my ssd and hdd together
my system wont boot it will just hang
but when i take out my hdd and leave my ssd to boot everything will be running fine...

how to solve this problem man

DellSuperman

i have got a problem with my ssd that i just bought
whenever i try to connect my ssd and hdd together
my system wont boot it will just hang
but when i take out my hdd and leave my ssd to boot everything will be running fine...

how to solve this problem man

Does your HDD contain a OS?
If yes, than go to your BIOS to set that as a non-bootable disk or something like that...
If no, i also donno.. hahah...

hlots123

fantasyrulz, try plug ssd into sata port0 of the motherboard.

if it already is, try swap sata ports with hdd...

fantasyrulz

fantasyrulz, try plug ssd into sata port0 of the motherboard.

if it already is, try swap sata ports with hdd...

but the thing is my sata3 is on my last 2 slots, 5 and 6

hahaha yea i plug my sata very random also

but the thing is when i setup my hdd and ssd for the first time still ok
when i do some adjustment using windows to format my HDD and make my
HDD dynamic drive then got problem

after restart during the load to window load screen that black screen, HANGED, the led for hdd access is lighted somehow but it is not proccessing but just hang.

its quite serious man, the hang when i press restart my com will go onto a endless reboot not even booting into the bios all black screen.... i have to reset my bios by taking out my mobo battery zzz... only when i take out my hdd then my ssd can work fine

fantasyrulz

Marvell 88SE9172 chip:
2 x SATA 6Gb/s connectors (GSATA3_4, GSATA3_5) supporting up to 2 SATA 6Gb/s devices

my mobo sata3

if cannot work then really wasted man spend the money on vertex 3.... should have get a vertex2 instead haix

some1outthere

sata support hot plug and play rite?

boot up w/o the HDD, then, plug in the HDD. then, if possible, change back the setting.

fantasyrulz

sata support hot plug and play rite?

boot up w/o the HDD, then, plug in the HDD. then, if possible, change back the setting.

what u mean startup without hdd lol
u mean like DONT plug at all when startup and when in windows then i plugin ?? can meh ??? not dangerous ?

Is the OS the "home" edition?

yup using home premium oem edition of win7

really appreciate your help, now in school so unable to do any diagnostic now

wacko

u mean like DONT plug at all when startup and when in windows then i plugin ?? can meh ??? not dangerous ?

think you need to remove the MBR from your old HDD. try this, boot up with Win 7 OS disc and only HDD connected, and remove the partition of the HDD, but don't re-create the partition. then plug both SSD and HDD back in, let your OS boot (it should boot fine), then re-create partition of HDD in Windows.

alternatively, you can use 3rd party software like the one below to remove and re-create partition.

http://www.partitionwizard.com/free-partition-manager.html

some1outthere

Ya.. Sata support hot plugging, so can just plug in w/o shutting down. eSata works this way also. IDE drives cannot.

Read somewhere that home versions of windows does not support dynamic disk.. not sure how you manage to convert it thou.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.