(Storage) SSD Discussion Thread

speedster4005

With the recent spike of purchases for Crucial M4 recently, just thought of sharing this.

My recently purchased Crucial M4 256GB was having some consistent freezes (about 30 seconds to 1 minute) when accessing large files (average of 2GB), connected via the eSATA port on a HP8440p notebook, on Windows 7 Professional x64. I tried both enclosure DeLock MultiPort (eSATA + USB 3.0) and the Seagate GoFlex eSATA adapter. Windows log shows an entry

"The device, \Device\Ide\iaStor0, did not respond within the timeout period."

Connection via USB 2.0 and USB 3.0 works ok and does not cause this error.

Anyway, this is how I solved it:

1. I updated the firmware to 000F (factory was 0309). Although not sure if this contributed to the fix. This was my first instinct.

2. I removed the Intel Rapid Storage Technology driver and reverted to Microsoft AHCI stock driver.

That's it.

Sen

Not much diff unless you compare benchmark scores. Using Win7 rite? using win7 can liao, Vista or anything below won't be optimised for SSD

see heng or sway one lor.

but even when ur mobo is WOLS and don't support SATA3... will it make that much difference in speed...? i'm more worried about reliability though when i see the reviews on amazon... all the "dead in XX months".... :o

regards,
wacky

wackykid

Not much diff unless you compare benchmark scores. Using Win7 rite? using win7 can liao, Vista or anything below won't be optimised for SSD

see heng or sway one lor.

no... i'm using ubuntu... recently just installed xubuntu 12.04... but planning to try out linux mint when they releases mint 13 with ubuntu 12.04 base...

regards,
wacky

Nakedtoes

你猜你猜你猜猜猜;66589671 said:
1st time user upgrade ssd. Anything to look out for? Is it just set the ahci in bios, install the os and it will works great?

connect to sata3 port if possible..

nightbreed

Can I just attach the SATA and power cable to the SSD and then not mount it in the drive bays? Just leave it sitting inside the bottom of the casing? I mean, with no moving parts I can don't secure it, right? Technically.

xonix

Can I just attach the SATA and power cable to the SSD and then not mount it in the drive bays? Just leave it sitting inside the bottom of the casing? I mean, with no moving parts I can don't secure it, right? Technically.

That's what I do for my Intel 320 and tonight, Crucial M4.

digishot

noe problem...
unless chiu move chiur case around often

chiu can also try double-sided tape wif it

xonix

Ok thanks. I can save money and not buy the mounting bracket. :s13:

FYI.........

storage1h.jpg

aces8080

thinkin of getting a SSD.. considering that i am not in a rush to get one... should i wait for the IT fair this coming june? :)

Nakedtoes

upgrading of firmware... i know all the things inside will be gone.. so how do u all do it?? clone the ssd to HDD then update firmware then clone back?

xusykl

upgrading of firmware... i know all the things inside will be gone.. so how do u all do it?? clone the ssd to HDD then update firmware then clone back?

my m4 update no data gone leh.
but to be safe better backup first. :o

ASUSinside

Quick update we have new prices for OCZ SSD. Is it a good upgrade for D3? :D

Vertex 3
OCZ Vertex 3 SATA III 2.5" SSD - OCZ

60GB SRP: $145 -> $135

90GB SRP: $229 -> $209

120GB SRP: $249 -> $229

240GB SRP: $499 -> $469

Agility 3
OCZ Agility 3 SATA III 2.5" SSD - OCZ

60GB $125 -> $119

120GB $220 -> $$199

240GB $429 -> $399

Not forgetting the Vertex 4 too ;)

OCZ Vertex 4 SATA III 2.5" SSD - OCZ

5 years warranty

Vertex 4 128GB $289 -> $265

Vertex 4 256GB $529 -> $495

OCZ Vertex 4 SSD - Independent Media Reviews

OCZ SSD for gaming. Check out the load times!

ceecookie

Quick update we have new prices for OCZ SSD. Is it a good upgrade for D3? :D

Vertex 3
OCZ Vertex 3 SATA III 2.5" SSD - OCZ

60GB SRP: $145 -> $135

90GB SRP: $229 -> $209

120GB SRP: $249 -> $229

240GB SRP: $499 -> $469

Agility 3
OCZ Agility 3 SATA III 2.5" SSD - OCZ

60GB $125 -> $119

120GB $220 -> $$199

240GB $429 -> $399

Not forgetting the Vertex 4 too ;)

OCZ Vertex 4 SATA III 2.5" SSD - OCZ

5 years warranty

Vertex 4 128GB $289 -> $265

Vertex 4 256GB $529 -> $495

OCZ Vertex 4 SSD - Independent Media Reviews

OCZ SSD for gaming. Check out the load times!

Your pricing for vertex 4 cannot fight with Amazon :s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.