Stuff you pack for trips

magna_strike

I was contemplating between the basic one and extra warm one. Decided to go with extra warm one because temperatures is negative 10 and below. Some say basic one is enough, but I think they are not afraid of cold, lol.

Yah i think so too, those that say the basic one is good enough maybe got more fats to burn.. Haha.. Now starting to try out this american but made in korea brand for baselayers called wool and prince, really not bad. As im really small sized at around 1.65m, even the popular icebreaker merino is like abit too big for me,but wool and prince size really fits me perfecr.

Henabi

Just to check, is nail cutter allowed in hand luggage while passing thru' scanning machine in airport security?

so far so good... go thru Changi, vietnam, malaysia, thailand, indonesia, myanmar and hk customs all ok.

its those blade shavers which they might ban.
my missus kena before. she bring those eyebrow shaver, kena at changi airport before boarding... must throw

I have ready zip bags with travel size things inside like facial, moisturiser, shampoo, etc and it cuts my time in packing bro liao! You better try it guys! How about you?

Beefsteak

I guess most of you make use of the coin laundry machines in your hotel? I've never tried that when I go overseas. Also lazy to dry the clothes after washing. And not all hotels provide such service.
So it's hard for me to pack light because of this.

magna_strike

I guess most of you make use of the coin laundry machines in your hotel? I've never tried that when I go overseas. Also lazy to dry the clothes after washing. And not all hotels provide such service.

Most hotels should have some sort of laundry service for a fee, but maybe when u book your accom, see if the website got list such services or not first? I usually book through agoda so can see the available services they have.

Henabi

I have ready zip bags with travel size things inside like facial, moisturiser, shampoo, etc and it cuts my time in packing bro liao! You better try it guys! How about you?
That's why my toiletries kit bag is so important. All personal essentials are inside. I haven't unpack it for years. Only replace accordingly.

Well...I feel you, especially if you are constantly on the move, and changing hotels everyday.

it is doable but need to be extremely disciplined.

I will choose those business shirt with quick-dry, wringle-free and then bring those washing powder meant for indoor drying

After washing, squeeze dry and hang in front of the air con outlet
Let it blow dry the entire night

Another way to see if the hotel offer laundry service is to look out for laundry basket and the laundry slip in your room

Sent from Henabi virus using GAGT

butterbarter

You just need the hotel to lose your laundry once, and you have no clothes to wear for the next day, you will never use hotel laundry service again. Especially if you are the type to accumulate several days of clothes and use laundry service to wash all of them at once.

Remember that not all hotels are 5 stars. Many small hotels, especially in 3rd world countries, may outsource their laundry service to small businesses or family cottage industries. These people collect and wash laundry from many small hotels, and they could lose your clothes. Happened to me once in HCMC, and although they eventually found my clothes, I would never trust them again.

Its far easier to wash your clothes nightly. Frankly, what's the effort in washing 1 shirt and 1 underwear? It's no harder than brushing your teeth. If you wear synthetic materials, just towel stomp them and they dry by next morning. No problem at all.

Din0saurus

OMG!!!! so many carabiners!!!

might wanna be careful as airlines nowadays are slowly lowering the max weight for cabin hand carry.
most full service airlines still at 10kg
issue will be with Budget... most are 7KG. only few still allow 7KG (Cabin luggage) + 3KG (Handbag/small backpack)

The last 4 trips where to Europe and North America, So its all full service airlines. Wouldn’t have been to pack everything in a carry on anyway. Made a list for trips nearby and it also exceeds 7kg. :s22:

Item Model Weight (g)
Helmet Petzl Meteor 220
Harness Arc'teryx FL-365 365
Locking Carabiner DMM Rhino 72
Belay Device DMM Pivot 72
Locking Carabiner Petzl Spirit SL 45
Leash Petzl Connect Adjust 125
Backpack Millet Prolighter 30+10 1070

Total: 7389

Excludes: clothes, toiletries and chargers. So far I’ve only done sports climbing in Malaysia via bus but I’ll have to be careful if I go elsewhere. Probably bring 1 set of quickdraws and rope to be shared instead of hanging multiple ropes up.

Henabi

Seriously this is such an informative thread.

Din0saurus

Just body wash or shampoo and the sink. No way I’m gonna bring 10+ baselayers, socks and underwear. Can’t afford to buy that many too. :s13:

I don’t bother with the stomping in towel thing. Just find somewhere to hang stuff and they should dry overnight. In winter I use the radiators. It’s really nice to have warm socks in the morning.

magna_strike

Ralph Lauren jacket. I think it's a sample. So it's cheap cheap. :o

How cheap is cheap ah? And how compact is it to pack? The only down jacket i have is the one from uniqlo which actually works not too bad for me, but bad thing after two trips is that i see the feathers start to pop out from the seams, therefore i dont dare to cramp it too much into my pack despite it being in a compact packed form. Therefore wondering if got better alternatives that are not too ex out there

magna_strike

Just body wash or shampoo and the sink. No way I’m gonna bring 10+ baselayers, socks and underwear. Can’t afford to buy that many too. :s13:

I don’t bother with the stomping in towel thing. Just find somewhere to hang stuff and they should dry overnight. In winter I use the radiators. It’s really nice to have warm socks in the morning.

Hmmm, for me i feel, when i stay in hostels, yah can anyhow hang to dry the clothes because alot of places u can hook, but in a proper hotel room, sometimes really lack of a proper place to hook and dry. End up best place is probably the back of the chair in the room to hook it up, bathroom i skip because its still in a wet environment so how to dry? Haha

butterbarter

Can always hang your clothes on a hanger (almost all hotels will provide a couple of hangers) and than hang it on the door knob, door-chain, or from a wall lamp.

I do that all the time.

Hmmm, for me i feel, when i stay in hostels, yah can anyhow hang to dry the clothes because alot of places u can hook, but in a proper hotel room, sometimes really lack of a proper place to hook and dry. End up best place is probably the back of the chair in the room to hook it up, bathroom i skip because its still in a wet environment so how to dry? Haha

Henabi

I know right hahaha!

Usually I will just swing the cupboard door out and hang along the door

magna_strike

Can always hang your clothes on a hanger (almost all hotels will provide a couple of hangers) and than hang it on the door knob, door-chain, or from a wall lamp.

I do that all the time.

The thing is, their hangers sometimes are the partially detached one, so no hook on the hanger to hang. In brisbane i had no choice but to open the balcony windows and use the tiny knob on the end of the hanger w/o hook and shove it up the window grooves with some force to hang sia.

joeey

Wash and hang in room also can ar

butterbarter

One little trick I do is to bring 2 or 3 small S-hooks. They come in handy for hanging those hookless hangers. I usually also put 1 small S-hook in my daybag, so that I can hang my bag from the toilet door when I need to take a crap while sightseeing and the toilet has no wall hooks, haha.

The thing is, their hangers sometimes are the partially detached one, so no hook on the hanger to hang. In brisbane i had no choice but to open the balcony windows and use the tiny knob on the end of the hanger w/o hook and shove it up the window grooves with some force to hang sia.

tiger2013

How cheap is cheap ah? And how compact is it to pack? The only down jacket i have is the one from uniqlo which actually works not too bad for me, but bad thing after two trips is that i see the feathers start to pop out from the seams, therefore i dont dare to cramp it too much into my pack despite it being in a compact packed form. Therefore wondering if got better alternatives that are not too ex out there

How compact (Uniqlo example) - https://www.uniqlo.com/sg/store/women-ultra-light-down-jacket-4091120010.html?colorc=COL09

You see it packs into one ball? This compact. Haha.

Pricing wise, I think $20 or so.

Henabi

One little trick I do is to bring 2 or 3 small S-hooks. They come in handy for hanging those hookless hangers. I usually also put 1 small S-hook in my daybag, so that I can hang my bag from the toilet door when I need to take a crap while sightseeing and the toilet has no wall hooks, haha.
Recently I saw a "What's in my EDC?" Youtube video and the YouTuber introduced a carbiner which combines a S-Hook

I am actually thinking of getting that cuz it's like super useful

Beefsteak

Just found out that actually most hotels do provide laundry service. But not all have those coin laundry machines.

Those who send your clothes to the laundry service. Do you include your undergarments too and do they accept it?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.