Submitting application for Aussie PR in October.

dilphinus

Bro how disconnected from reality are you? Do you even process what you wrote before you submit? They pick foreigners over us because they are cheaper in wages. Are you like a retard or something? Why are so many Singaporeans unhappy? Why can't so many nUS graduates with first class honours facing difficulty in finding jobs?

So you have to resort to name calling?

You go to Aus, the same people will work for a lower salary as well. So how are you competing with them?

It is a fact the the pap has gotten an average vote of 70%. It is not even borderline like 55%.

Are you sure many Singaporeans are unhappy? The Singaporeans around me are generally happy. I know of a fair bit of fch grads who managed to secure jobs begore graduation. My brother is one of them. My colleague's brother too.

Sure, there are people who are unhappy. There are people who are contented too. Doesnt mean you go to another country you will be happier.

wenjie182

You go to Aus, the same people will work for a lower salary as well. So how are you competing with them?

It is a fact the the pap has gotten an average vote of 70%. It is not even borderline like 55%.

Are you sure many Singaporeans are unhappy? The Singaporeans around me are generally happy. I know of a fair bit of fch grads who managed to secure jobs begore graduation. My brother is one of them. My colleague's brother too.

Sure, there are people who are unhappy. There are people who are contented too. Doesnt mean you go to another country you will be happier.

Please read the reply by ponku below. Employers here go for the cheaper candidate. Not the better qualified one. In western countries everyone is paid the same. I'm surprised you haven't noticed that employer preferring foreigner trend in local employment market by now. I'm happy going overseas, you are happy going to be replaced by a foreigner, why you spewing hate? You jealous I don't have to pay COE and but you have to?

ponpokku

Employer pays you for the work you do, not the knowledge that you have. Good enough is the key word.

if u are paying the same money would u want the better worker ?

no prize for the answer.

only when there is a diff in payment then u would consider getting the just enuff guy instead of the over qualified guy.

but the sad thing is, our system used to tell us to be the best guy and get the best job, then they import the just enuff guy and say u are over qualified, plz go work in other countries and be FT. :s13::s13:

silent_espy

So why are the employers hiring the foreigners and not you? Cos they are better than you? :s13:

Just letting you know that these foreigners are in Australia as well. You will face the same situation regardless.

You will not be replaced if you are in a niche industry or have a set of niche skills that makes you irreplaceable but for the majority of graduates what niche skills do they possess? The only way we can compete with the foreigners is to depress our pay and work harder. Many ppl don't believe that this is happening but I have seen many of my colleagues and even my own manager being replaced by fts in the banks the only reason why I wasn't replaced was because I was the fresh grad with the lowest pay at that time and I did not have or ask for any bonus and increment for 3 years. I managed to survive 3 retrenchment exercises until I left for another bank.

Question for you is am I really better than my colleagues and my manager when I only had 6 months of work experience when the first retrenchment came?

ponpokku

which is why they had the minimum wage in aust unless u are talking about illegals.

dilphinus

Please read the reply by ponku below. Employers here go for the cheaper candidate. Not the better qualified one. In western countries everyone is paid the same. I'm surprised you haven't noticed that employer preferring foreigner trend in local employment market by now. I'm happy going overseas, you are happy going to be replaced by a foreigner, why you spewing hate? You jealous I don't have to pay COE and but you have to?

Do you know how much is the levy for foreign workers? Do you know that it is quite difficult for a foreigner to get an EP? Do you know that even skill professionals who have been working in SG (some for 5 years) have had their application for PR rejected?

The company im working for, hires Singaporeans. And even so, after placing ads, getting agencies to look for candidates, no (experienced) Singaporean applies. Even when my colleagues an I ask around, our friends, no one is keen or looking for a job.

dilphinus

which is why they had the minimum wage in aust unless u are talking about illegals.

Some places especially those that pay cash dont practise min wage.

I have worked for a few places in Aus that do not pay the min wage. Take it or leave it. I have the TFN.

Vanyel

hahahaha
after losing liao the "classy" acts 1 by 1 all starts coming out by the sore lot on here~

Liquid Snake

Try harder :) Unless you've the wealth like those PRC millionaire paying millions for a property, NO developed country would want a peasant. :s13:

Besides, an elite relies on nobody. Whether PAP is in power or NOT doesn't affect his business. It's the peasants that are pissed by the PAP:s13:

ponpokku

Some places especially those that pays cash dont practise min wage.

I have worked for a few places in Aus that do not pay the min wage. Take it or leave it. I have the TFN.

and most places here would choose the cheaper guy, so what do u think?

lesser of the 2 evils.

besides, if u manage to get over aust with high points, u are prolly not gonna work in some org that openly flaunt the laws. u are more or less protected.

whereas my previous workplace, 7 in 10 ish FTs, only 3 sinkies, lol.

wenjie182

Some places especially those that pay cash dont practise min wage.

I've said my piece, my heart is cold and my hands are set. A few people below have pawned you with their accounts of what they experienced. I don't know what industry you're in, but I refuse to believe any job would have a lack of Singaporean interest, unless you're a dishwasher, which you might be.

dilphinus

and most places here would choose the cheaper guy, so what do u think?

lesser of the 2 evils.

besides, if u manage to get over aust with high points, u are prolly not gonna work in some org that openly flaunt the laws. u are more or less protected.

whereas my previous workplace, 7 in 10 ish FTs, only 3 sinkies, lol.

Australia's economy is not doing well. A friend moved over last year and hasnt found a job. He's a programmer. A friend in mining came back to SG as there is no work. She was in civil engineering then switched to mining. A friend in IT moved back to SG to start a branch. A friend who moved to Aus 5 years ago have been doing casual jobs cos she cant get a proper job. Have a few more friends (in IT) who moved bavk to SG a few years ago.

Those still in Australia, are mainly doing casual jobs like waitressing. All Australia born HK friends I have, moved back to HK. Classmates who graduated and found jobs in Aus, 90% of them went back to Thailand, China, HK, Taiwan, Japan and South Korea after a year or so.

ponpokku

Do you know how much is the levy for foreign workers? Do you know that it is quite difficult for a foreigner to get an EP? Do you know that even skill professionals who have been working in SG (some for 5 years) have had their application for PR rejected?

The company im working for, hires Singaporeans. And even so, after placing ads, getting agencies to look for candidates, no (experienced) Singaporean applies. Even when my colleagues an I ask around, our friends, no one is keen or looking for a job.

nope, u have no idea. FTs are still cheaper than sinkies even with the levies. this is oso part of the argument for those pro-minimum sum ppl in sg. there are a lot of ways to circumvent. this is oso why there are constantly FTs caught for faking their income statement. esp ah neh coys.

if u apply min sum and same wage to FTs, they would be much more expensive than locals with their levies, and local coys will naturally choose locals over them, as sinkies are more effective (knows the local scene and culture) and cheaper.

wenjie182

Try harder :) Unless you've the wealth like those PRC millionaire paying millions for a property, NO developed country would want a peasant. :s13:

Besides, an elite relies on nobody. Whether PAP is in power or NOT doesn't affect his business. It's the peasants that are pissed by the PAP:s13:

I happened to own a million dollar landed property

dilphinus

I've said my piece, my heart is cold and my hands are set. A few people below have pawned you with their accounts of what they experienced. I don't know what industry you're in, but I refuse to believe any job would have a lack of Singaporean interest, unless you're a dishwasher, which you might be.

In this case, i think you are the one who's pretty disconnected :s13:

pierceyip

Good luck with your application. Don't come Melbourne, train and taxi drivers are on strike here. Even if you don't rely on public transport traffic is crap here coz almost everyone is forced to drive to work.

ponpokku

Australia's economy is not doing well. A friend moved over last year and hasnt found a job. He's a programmer. A friend in mining came back to SG as there is no work. She was in civil engineering then switched to mining. A friend in IT moved back to SG to start a branch. A friend who moved to Aus 5 years ago have been doing casual jobs cos she cant get a proper job. Have a few more friends (in IT) who moved bavk to SG a few years ago.

Those still in Australia, are mainly doing casual jobs like waitressing. All Australia born HK friends I have, moved back to HK. Classmates who graduated and found jobs in Aus, 90% of them went back to Thailand, China, HK, Taiwan, Japan and South Korea after a year or so.

that is another point liao, u are shifting goal post. so we can agree that aust does have an advantage over the wage issue b4 we move on?

and again, u are not talking about jobs that high points ppl would do, which were most prolly white collar not waitress or other blue collar, even thou most blue collar jobs pays quite well too.

the most common reason for HKers or sinkies to leave aust ish boring lifestyle. most places knock off early nothing to do at night except hitting cafes and pubs, and becos their family is not in aust with them, lacked companionship. not becos of work or pay.

dilphinus

Good luck with your application. Don't come Melbourne, train and taxi drivers are on strike here. Even if you don't rely on public transport traffic is crap here coz almost everyone is forced to drive to work.

And one can experience four seasons in a day!

New Eden

I'm sorry bro. If you voted for change and your trains got disrupted, I'm sorry you have to suffer with the daft 70%. You should not be short changed for their mistakes.
Hope to join u when my wife and I are qualified enough.
Meanwhile I hope next week onwards lets start with a black swan event type of market crash. I would be happy.

:(:(:(

Sent from inside a Wormhole using GAGT

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.