Submitting application for Aussie PR in October.

nyvrem

Australia's economy is not doing well. A friend moved over last year and hasnt found a job. He's a programmer. A friend in mining came back to SG as there is no work. She was in civil engineering then switched to mining. A friend in IT moved back to SG to start a branch. A friend who moved to Aus 5 years ago have been doing casual jobs cos she cant get a proper job. Have a few more friends (in IT) who moved bavk to SG a few years ago.

Those still in Australia, are mainly doing casual jobs like waitressing. All Australia born HK friends I have, moved back to HK. Classmates who graduated and found jobs in Aus, 90% of them went back to Thailand, China, HK, Taiwan, Japan and South Korea after a year or so.

actually, AUS never came across as somewhere i would want to migrate or go too for work. i don't even know what their strong points economy wise. You hear people going US for IT jobs, or even UK or EU for engineering. Consultancy etc. But when you talk about AUS, i have no idea what people do there sia.

of course i can roughly figure jobs like teaching or medical field would be around since these are basic needs for the community. but can't really find a field that Australia excels in. maybe Mining and Energy ? dunno sia ~

:s13::s13::s13:

kingtrade

actually, AUS never came across as somewhere i would want to migrate or go too for work. i don't even know what their strong points economy wise. You hear people going US for IT jobs, or even UK or EU for engineering. Consultancy etc. But when you talk about AUS, i have no idea what people do there sia.

of course i can roughly figure jobs like teaching or medical field would be around since these are basic needs for the community. but can't really find a field that Australia excels in. maybe Mining and Energy ? dunno sia ~

Just happens to be the nearest country with ang mor majority population n a springboard to the western countries in the northern hemisphere.

dilphinus

that is another point liao, u are shifting goal post. so we can agree that aust does have an advantage over the wage issue b4 we move on?

and again, u are not talking about jobs that high points ppl would do, which were most prolly white collar not waitress or other blue collar, even thou most blue collar jobs pays quite well too.

the most common reason for HKers or sinkies to leave aust ish boring lifestyle. most places knock off early nothing to do at night except hitting cafes and pubs, and becos their family is not in aust with them, lacked companionship. not becos of work or pay.

Aus advantage of min wage is only an advantage when you get a company that practise it.

Construction jobs pay pretty well too. But how many can take jobs like this?

Im not arguing over anything, just sharing my real life experience, not hearsay.

People leave Aus not becos of the lifestyle. My friends' have families in Aus. Their parents are in Aus but they chose to go to HK, China, Taiwan to work. It's career prospects. Have a SG friend who has Aus PR. Went to medical school in Aus on a local rate and now settled inn SG.

Problems are everywhere.

pierceyip

Mining and energy has died as well.... many have been made redundant (retrenched)

nyvrem

Just happens to be the nearest country with ang mor majority population n a springboard to the western countries in the northern hemisphere.

sinkies to obsessed with white men.

:s22::s22::s22:

see AMDK straight away panties wet riao.

ponpokku

mining is the worst thing to join now lol. with china economy slowing down, not needing too much steel and copper...

they are pretty laid back lah. in some ways like a closed economy to themselves. but of cos they do have trade and such. my relatives were in banking and some in IT job over there. 2 cousins were doctors. yes they have IT jobs but not the most niche innovative kind. more like databank or some other service type.

yantao

Look back and be glad that Singapore has provided you and your family with the opportunity to become a "skilled" immigrant.

Regardless whether it's PAP as the government or not, the country has invested in you and all the best for your future endeavors. Please "enjoy" the feeling of being a FT/FW in other country while it last and the door is always open for the place that you are born as long as you have not surrender your citizenship yet.

dilphinus

There are approximately 2.4 million Asians in Aus (as of 2011).

Around 8% of the Aus population is of Asian descent.

silent_espy

economy and job opportunity wise imho staying in sg no diff with moving to aus

nyvrem

mining is the worst thing to join now lol. with china economy slowing down, not needing too much steel and copper...

they are pretty laid back lah. in some ways like a closed economy to themselves. but of cos they do have trade and such. my relatives were in banking and some in IT job over there. 2 cousins were doctors. yes they have IT jobs but not the most niche innovative kind. more like databank or some other service type.

AUS is my 'retirement' country

hope to go there to enter semi retirement by 45 ~

work part time job

live around Darwin, lesser population.

:o:o:o

ponpokku

Aus advantage of min wage is only an advantage when you get a company that practise it.

Construction jobs pay pretty well too. But how many can take jobs like this?

Im not arguing over anything, just sharing my real life experience, not hearsay.

People leave Aus not becos of the lifestyle. My friends' have families in Aus. Their parents are in Aus but they chose to go to HK, China, Taiwan to work. It's career prospects. Have a SG friend who has Aus PR. Went to medical school in Aus on a local rate and now settled inn SG.

Problems are everywhere.

if u can go over with high migration point u are not likely to end up in construction. for the case of TS, he has high points and his path is prolly organised properly liao. if he's like he said had at least a mil he could prolly buy over a small biz employ a few aust and be a boss himself.

so all the scenario u mention doesnt fit his situation. there is no relevance. in fact no relevance to most sinkie who moved out, to aust or other countries, with good migration points and sizable cash.

kingtrade

sinkies to obsessed with white men.

:s22::s22::s22:

see AMDK straight away panties wet riao.

Just observing that the average Australian have an easier time moving around UK or the states than those joe with Asian passport.

dilphinus

if u can go over with high migration point u are not likely to end up in construction. for the case of TS, he has high points and his path is prolly organised properly liao. if he's like he said had at least a mil he could prolly buy over a small biz employ a few aust and be a boss himself.

so all the scenario u mention doesnt fit his situation. there is no relevance. in fact no relevance to most sinkie who moved out, to aust or other countries, with good migration points and sizable cash.

You will be surprised at how easy it is for an Asian to get a 'good' job in Aus. That's why i said, move to Aus get a job then talk. Most people take those casual menial jobs for income and networking.

He has half a million, start biz in sg and hire whoever he wants. Can hire FTs and torture them. May make him feel better. Better than take the money to Aus and not knowing the market and local laws suppliers, customers, etc.....wont be easy. Just saying.

ponpokku

economy and job opportunity wise imho staying in sg no diff with moving to aus

but costs generally lower. unless u go makan restaurant everytime.

our BM 7series here costs ~300k, there ard ~50k. get a house 2x size of ours here, plus a pool, cost only 1/4 the price. of cos not in the city lah. suburb area.

really can bring money over and sit on it.

kingtrade

To be honest, if Singaporeans want to work overseas n being a blue collar worker is on their top choices, it will just mean that Singapore will by then be in a pretty bad shape.

Just ask any Mexicans or PRCs...

dilphinus

but costs generally lower. unless u go makan restaurant everytime.

our BM 7series here costs ~300k, there ard ~50k. get a house 2x size of ours here, plus a pool, cost only 1/4 the price. of cos not in the city lah. suburb area.

really can bring money over and sit on it.

I dont think you have been following the property development news in Aus.

ponpokku

You will be surprised at how easy it is for an Asian to get a 'good' job in Aus. That's why i said, move to Aus get a job then talk. Most people take those casual menial jobs for income and networking.

He has half a million, start biz in sg and hire whoever he wants. Can hire FTs and torture them. May make him feel better. Better than take the money to Aus and not knowing the market and local laws suppliers, customers, etc.....wont be easy. Just saying.

already mentioned, i got relatives over there doing that. lol. none of them in blue collar jobs. not that difficult like u said.

4 cousins, 2 were docs, 1 owned a coy, the other could be a doc too, not so sure. 1 sis-in-law, and her husband, both in banking, 3 nieces, 2 in finance and one still uni. my own brother and his waifu already got PR there, starting a new branch in aust for their coy based in SG.

and u dun need 1/2 a million to buy over a small biz there. lol. u dun have to pay ur earnings to the govt as high rents or FT levies.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.