SUSS recognised?

divasion

That why divasion i think u better faster go accumulate more experience, the full time have internships and others part timer may not have, if u not enough job experience i also dont know how to compete for a job

bo pian. like if i get degree,i dun mind ask for 1.5k salary only. thats the only route out. if cant fight with experience and age,i fight with low salary,go spoil market
the only reason why i choose hr degree is because my Ns i work in hr department, same as ppl who work as dxo, signed on regulars working in hr department.

anyway,i most likely should be working retail hours kind like clothing store or gym..the degree is just incase need a general degree to promote

buttercracker

bo pian. like if i get degree,i dun mind ask for 1.5k salary only. thats the only route out. if cant fight with experience and age,i fight with low salary,go spoil market
the only reason why i choose hr degree is because my Ns i work in hr department, same as ppl who work as dxo, signed on regulars working in hr department.

anyway,i most likely should be working retail hours kind like clothing store or gym..the degree is just incase need a general degree to promote

U also mai discouraged le. Like that maybe is be a contract staff through agency, see can struggled your way to a good job one day a not. Some of my friend also like that lah, u not alone.

i won't generalize until like that la. there are some Unis that you graduate from, you can go 5 years jobless/slack around and anytime pick up and get a high end gig.

but those are few. in general, yeah, work experience would be more important, esp in a technical role. a degree becomes a tick on the job application form.

Okays ba, I was thinking more of my perspective since I worked first and I'm rather old. People look at my job first, before the degree.

I see people sweating it out on SIM confessions like saying that they are worried abt their university recognition etc.

But in my opinion, nobody even bothers to ask which degree you are from after some time. In spite of the weekly bashing, people don't connotate your stupidity to your university, stupidity is just you as an individual, mostly. 😂 It's just the ticket for you to enter, after that it depends on how well you perform at work and others etc. SUSS/SIM does have to work on their courses though. A few courses doesn't seem to be attuned to the industry.

At openhouse, I remember asking once about a software that is the bare minimun of close to the industry standards that was taught in my diploma. The answer I received that it wasn't taught (in the degree) because it was too hard, but they use a simpler version of it instead. I was shocked to pieces, because that is the bare minimum and this IS university standards and I was wondering what do they teach there. It's not even close to what the people are using another software, which is harder and if I am an employer, I would think poorly of all SIM/SUSS students because you don't even know the basic softwares and you're practically irrelevant to me. I have to spend time to hone and teach you if I have the patience to. It makes me wonder if they're so out of touch for all degrees as well. 🤔😅😅😅

In SME/MNCs, how much money can you earn for the boss is more important than how well you can study. To be a profit revenue instead of a cost centre more 😂

It does matter for govt sector as a teacher, but from what I understand, all diploma students eventually undergo the upgrading of degree and gets paid better now. I think about $2k shifted up to a maximum of $7k for farmer teachers? Govt uhhh well you're a farmer, it's whether if u get a manager role or executive equivalent job. Your trajectory is hugely defined from your psle/degree onwards, they're trying to change some things so that it improves the mobility and gives a beam of light at the end of the tunnel, so as to speak, but well.. you're a farmer at the end of the day. Or you can be the poster boy to show the ray of hope for exceptional incremental for others.

I suppose they have to act in a way that is fair and upholds meritocracy and their standards, it wouldn't be fair to overhaul the entire system because of some disgruntled employee and yet, not effective to ask them to stay put without giving some motivation. There is a distinction of calibre between people imo, even though it's rather painful to say it. 😶 #classdivides It's a new generation Z where people job-hop if they're not given what they want. From HR or company's perspective, it might be costly to constantly have to retrain employees or loss of productivity in a company with high turnover rate.

When I graduate, I'd rather look at the pay, working hours or working culture for the trade offs. I'd probably want to start up a family and stuff like that, and I'm not sure if I can work 17 hours in peak hours in my 30s. In the 20s it's fine, but 30s hmmmms.

Hmms. Which university or degree are you talking about? I've met a few nus econs friends who face difficulties in finding jobs, so I am rather curious now.

@clubbie: we need more practice like 20 to 30 lessons.

But I think I will die hahaahhaa.

Marketing is an online class, but I feel like i'm doing more work compared to other modules. Maybe its because they are breaking it into pieces, and I'm not sure how effective the retention is.

If you are looking for a temporary gig, my place pays decently well. You can pm me, I'll try to put in a word of recommendation for you. It's higher than 1.5k and helps for your resume even if it might be unrelated. Not sure if the HR department is hiring, but I think that there's no harm trying for it.

You've helped me a lot in my first year and tend to help a lot of the SUSS people.

It's harder get in as a FT position, but I can try with recommendation for you.

loststeak

The fact is even though, career progression depends a lot, largely, enormously, tremendously, humongously, on work performances, still more opportunities, not equal opportunities are given to those with perceived better qualifications. So it is not entirely true when people just preach work performances only. To reiterate, the emphasis on career progression is still work performances.

Also SUSS standards have increased considerably over the years as compared to SIM’s standard. Acknowledgement wise, In 2017, SUSS conducted an exercise to issue certificates in SUSS for UniSIM certificates. However, a statement will indicate that the qualifications had been received under the former’s name.

nyvrem

Okays ba, I was thinking more of my perspective since I worked first and I'm rather old. People look at my job first, before the degree.

I see people sweating it out on SIM confessions like saying that they are worried abt their university recognition etc.

But in my opinion, nobody even bothers to ask which degree you are from after some time. In spite of the weekly bashing, people don't connotate your stupidity to your university, stupidity is just you as an individual, mostly. 😂 It's just the ticket for you to enter, after that it depends on how well you perform at work and others etc. SUSS/SIM does have to work on their courses though. A few courses doesn't seem to be attuned to the industry.

At openhouse, I remember asking once about a software that is the bare minimun of close to the industry standards that was taught in my diploma. The answer I received that it wasn't taught (in the degree) because it was too hard, but they use a simpler version of it instead. I was shocked to pieces, because that is the bare minimum and this IS university standards and I was wondering what do they teach there. It's not even close to what the people are using another software, which is harder and if I am an employer, I would think poorly of all SIM/SUSS students because you don't even know the basic softwares and you're practically irrelevant to me. I have to spend time to hone and teach you if I have the patience to. It makes me wonder if they're so out of touch for all degrees as well. 🤔😅😅😅

In SME/MNCs, how much money can you earn for the boss is more important than how well you can study. To be a profit revenue instead of a cost centre more 😂

It does matter for govt sector as a teacher, but from what I understand, all diploma students eventually undergo the upgrading of degree and gets paid better now. I think about $2k shifted up to a maximum of $7k for farmer teachers? Govt uhhh well you're a farmer, it's whether if u get a manager role or executive equivalent job. Your trajectory is hugely defined from your psle/degree onwards, they're trying to change some things so that it improves the mobility and gives a beam of light at the end of the tunnel, so as to speak, but well.. you're a farmer at the end of the day. Or you can be the poster boy to show the ray of hope for exceptional incremental for others.

I suppose they have to act in a way that is fair and upholds meritocracy and their standards, it wouldn't be fair to overhaul the entire system because of some disgruntled employee and yet, not effective to ask them to stay put without giving some motivation. There is a distinction of calibre between people imo, even though it's rather painful to say it. 😶 #classdivides It's a new generation Z where people job-hop if they're not given what they want. From HR or company's perspective, it might be costly to constantly have to retrain employees or loss of productivity in a company with high turnover rate.

When I graduate, I'd rather look at the pay, working hours or working culture for the trade offs. I'd probably want to start up a family and stuff like that, and I'm not sure if I can work 17 hours in peak hours in my 30s. In the 20s it's fine, but 30s hmmmms.

Hmms. Which university or degree are you talking about? I've met a few nus econs friends who face difficulties in finding jobs, so I am rather curious now.

Marketing is an online class, but I feel like i'm doing more work compared to other modules. Maybe its because they are breaking it into pieces, and I'm not sure how effective the retention is.

eh, the Unis i'm talking about are not restricted to SG nia la. If it's only our 'SG' Unis, i think apart from the medical/allied health fields, all others will have problems finding a relevant job if they went jobless for a couple of years.

Shion

Senior Mentor

nah, other unis ard 14-15 lessons iirc

loststeak

Nia, I think you may need to attend SUSS open house to keep to date the current standards.

Yes of course. That was 2 years ago.

I even asked the person 2 times are u sure.

But to be fair la, maybe 1 year back they may have included the uses .

orinyori

I can't say the same for all programs. But the psychology program is definitely recognised. We have had alumni from the psychology program who went on to NUS' Master in Clinical Psychology program (the annual intake is only 12 people). Even for overseas universities...the number of postgraduate psychology programs in Singapore is very limited. Many specialities are not even offered in Singapore. Nonetheless, students from UniSIM/SUSS have applied and gained admittance to a variety of overseas psychology programs as well. We also have alumni who are currently working in the Singapore Prison Services and the Institute of Mental Health. So...psychology wise, I am confident that it is recognised :)

Thank you for your clarifications that SUSS is advancing forward.

If you are staff, please allow students to submit anonymous feedbacks.

I don't want to penalise any lecturers because I am not frustrated by them.

Nor the student support.

Will you penalise me if I give a negative feedback?

loststeak

If you are staff, please allow students to submit anonymous feedbacks.

I don't want to penalise any lecturers because I am not frustrated by them.

Nor the student support.

Will you penalise me if I give a negative feedback?

I’m not a staff and it’s up to you what you want to do. It is also up to others how they would want to respond.

Okays. Everybody has their own ways to respond.

Let me clarify, I did mention that the software being taught in the school two years ago wasn't mentioned.

But I did not mention that SUSS was progressing, since I had not went to the past openhouse. If there is due credit to be given, I will give it.

buttercracker

just one more post for this thread, and i dont even want to think about this for now. If you are really going to take up a degree, for the next few years it will be inetgrated into your life, and what you learnt and what you get is probably going to affect you for very long. So pls do not just get your information from the mass media, pls look for information that is pertaining to your situation, and whether it will add value to you for your particular situation. i think it is best to also get additonal info from people you really know and trust that are in the same situation as you and see what is the value, reliability and feasibility of the goal for the education you are getting.

nyvrem

I can't say the same for all programs. But the psychology program is definitely recognised. We have had alumni from the psychology program who went on to NUS' Master in Clinical Psychology program (the annual intake is only 12 people). Even for overseas universities...the number of postgraduate psychology programs in Singapore is very limited. Many specialities are not even offered in Singapore. Nonetheless, students from UniSIM/SUSS have applied and gained admittance to a variety of overseas psychology programs as well. We also have alumni who are currently working in the Singapore Prison Services and the Institute of Mental Health. So...psychology wise, I am confident that it is recognised :)

can add Social Work into the list

i know MOE hires social work graduates from SUSS as counsellors in schools.

i've worked with them before.

i've also came across SUSS (last time SIM) graduate in Chinese Lit/Language, went through MOE to become MT teacher.

tf2noobz

Oh, Straits Times lo

Social service staff to get another pay rise, with monthly salary for social workers starting at $3,400

*********The starting pay for a social worker fresh out of university is now $3,400 a month, up 4 per cent from $3,270.

They include those with a degree in social work from the Singapore University of Social Sciences or a Bachelor of Social Sciences with a major in social work from the National University of Singapore.*********

Work attachments pay off for SUSS grads

*********Of the total are 83 accountancy graduates. About half of them have gone to work with companies that they interned with after receiv- ing priority offers. Their starting salaries were $3,800 ********* $200 more than the starting salaries of other fresh accountancy graduates.*********

Straits Times premium version. Can refer to SUSS website under media coverage.

Thats high. But maybe is it because some are mid career switch?

Posted from PCWX using GAGT using hardwarezone app

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.