Swimming anyone???

mikezuper

Secret to swimming easily and able to float better in water base on few things below:
1) Stream line of body posture as much as possible in water (Lock your back, shoulder relax and bring to back, leg straighten as much as possible)
2) Understand your own floatation point (pivot point) Each ppl has their own balancing point.
3) Ease of inhaling and exhaling coordination during the stroking.

Have fun swimming. :)
Thanks for all the tips nyquist2000! Keep them coming :)

racerguy

U know i am reminded of my sec school days. I had a plum or fat classmate and he could swim fast. The rest of us were thinner and take note we were not national swimmers although my class had 1 national swimmer but it's not us. I think we had the same muscle mass as that fat classmate just that he had more fat than us.

Anyway i cannot remember what exactly happened but i think at the least he could take to swimming rather easily because of his high BF that allowed him to float better than the skinny ones.

Does this make sense?

Fat people should be able to swim better cos of their high fat content and hence they float better.

Contrast that with african ppl or ppl with high bone density that causes them to sink.

Cress_knightness

U know i am reminded of my sec school days. I had a plum or fat classmate and he could swim fast. The rest of us were thinner and take note we were not national swimmers although my class had 1 national swimmer but it's not us. I think we had the same muscle mass as that fat classmate just that he had more fat than us.

Anyway i cannot remember what exactly happened but i think at the least he could take to swimming rather easily because of his high BF that allowed him to float better than the skinny ones.

Does this make sense?

Fat people should be able to swim better cos of their high fat content and hence they float better.

Contrast that with african ppl or ppl with high bone density that causes them to sink.

How come I dont see any fat top swimmers in world swimming competition ???

:s22:

Cress_knightness

I wanna learn freestyle from scratch, anyone interested to join me or not ???

One-to-one lesson fees too expensive for me ...

Looking for another 3 to 4 persons to form a group ...

I staying at west side so most probably I will want it at bb pool or clementi on

weekdays late evening ...

I dont mind learning in mix group of ladies and guys too ...

Anyone interested can pm me ...

:look:

nyquist2000

Cos these fatties dun have as much muscle mass as the top swimmers. I think fatties can take to swimming more easily.

Shape and size does matter in swimming. Imagine a thin pencil and the fat pencil flowing together in the drain..... Thin pencil can move faster or the fat pencil? :)

nyquist2000

Proof that swimmers can get better deals at buffets.
http://forum.scubatoys.com/fitness/26660-calorie-intake.html
Nice one...thanks for sharing.

Swimming can improve your weight and slim you down. Swimming is the only excerise that train you head to toe. And it does not cause you any injury cos it is a non impact exercise... and it helps to strengthen your back. So those with back problem.... go for swim soon. You will be surprise how the pain will just go away after regular swimming.

mikezuper

Nice one...thanks for sharing.

Swimming can improve your weight and slim you down. Swimming is the only excerise that train you head to toe. And it does not cause you any injury cos it is a non impact exercise... and it helps to strengthen your back. So those with back problem.... go for swim soon. You will be surprise how the pain will just go away after regular swimming.
I must agree with nyquist2000, whenever I want to 'straighten' my back, muscles, etc2 after my weights training and my cardio - I always go for a swim. The result - Marvelous!

Now I am swimming at least once a week. Trying to increase it to two :)

HyperD

Yeap2, but I dont think my back is straight enough :(

Gonna video-tape my swim next time and review :)
how do u videotape yr swimming?

Anyway, i normally go for swimming around 30 laps rite after my gym session.
Erm, is this good or bad? Will I lose mass instead of building up?

mikezuper

how do u videotape yr swimming?

Anyway, i normally go for swimming around 30 laps rite after my gym session.
Erm, is this good or bad? Will I lose mass instead of building up?
Gonna go to my friend's place condo, swim in the morning where it is not crowded (hopefully just two of us).
Then use mobile phone camera to take the video and review it, so we can correct it if we made mistake: body not straight enough, form is not right when taking breath, stroke that is not fully extended and straight, leg that is too flapping, etc2.

Wah.. did you swim 30laps everytime you finish gym? You gonna lose some fat and muscle I think.
Never tried before though, coz usually I split my Weights and Cardio session separately.
Anybody else has more info on this?

HyperD

Gonna go to my friend's place condo, swim in the morning where it is not crowded (hopefully just two of us).
Then use mobile phone camera to take the video and review it, so we can correct it if we made mistake: body not straight enough, form is not right when taking breath, stroke that is not fully extended and straight, leg that is too flapping, etc2.

Wah.. did you swim 30laps everytime you finish gym? You gonna lose some fat and muscle I think.
Never tried before though, coz usually I split my Weights and Cardio session separately.
Anybody else has more info on this?
erm yeh, 25-30 laps, combo of free/breast strokes after each gyming bout 1 hour.
sometimes after that go blading for 1hr plus somemore :s13:

I think i am wasting my time gyming, all burn off already.... :s13:

mikezuper

erm yeh, 25-30 laps, combo of free/breast strokes after each gyming bout 1 hour.
sometimes after that go blading for 1hr plus somemore :s13:

I think i am wasting my time gyming, all burn off already.... :s13:
Haha.. what you trying to achieve? Lean Cut?
Do you see the effect?

How often you gym-swim-blade? You got so much time hor - are you working yet? :)

HyperD

yeh, lean cut is what i prefer, no need for heavy mass, those mag model look is good enough..i think this is what i have now though still needs improvement.

i only do gym swim blade on weekends morn, will be done before noon so ok la...after this sure shack like hell and rest during te afternoon lor :s13:

per week 2x gym, swim 4-5km, rollerblade (10km i think....)

i am a working adult....time is how u manage it..even if i knock off at 8pm still can make it for swim at least

crandfs

yeh, lean cut is what i prefer, no need for heavy mass, those mag model look is good enough..i think this is what i have now though still needs improvement.

Really? Strip! Strip! Strip! NPNT!!! :s12: :s12: :s12:

mikezuper

i only do gym swim blade on weekends morn, will be done before noon so ok la...after this sure shack like hell and rest during te afternoon lor :s13:

per week 2x gym, swim 4-5km, rollerblade (10km i think....)

i am a working adult....time is how u manage it..even if i knock off at 8pm still can make it for swim at least
Nice! You must have a great determination too then, good stuff bro!
I am trying also now, really cut down carbo at lunch and dinner, then workout 5 days a week: combination of cardio(swim and run) + weights. So far I see good result, but not lean yet :p

Btw I am a working adult too =)

Really? Strip! Strip! Strip! NPNT!!! :s12: :s12: :s12:
Haha.. there is request bro.. npnt npnt =:p

HyperD

Nice! You must have a great determination too then, good stuff bro!
I am trying also now, really cut down carbo at lunch and dinner, then workout 5 days a week: combination of cardio(swim and run) + weights. So far I see good result, but not lean yet :p

Btw I am a working adult too =)

Haha.. there is request bro.. npnt npnt =:p
eh sala lah...

paiseh i meant i have the lean cut look, but not yet model like. which i hope to attain..paiseh :s13:
i think i will cut back on the swimming after gym. But the fact i eat alot rubbish is not helping either..

just timed myself on thur, can swim 20laps BS in 22mins.....target 30laps in 30 mins!!!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.