Swimming anyone???

addict951

Maybe you can try blowing out from your nose? Save that clip for future use. :)

i think we know in the back of our minds I've already done that

I dun know if this is a common problem. BUt from I see at the Olympics, it is. Many of the medalists are using nose clips as well.

When u swim backstroke and u go underwater for the underwater dolphin it is very difficult to control air outflow. Maybe my training not enuff lah. :o

Also for butterfly, I dun rike how the water chiong into my nose when plunging back into the water.

I really do think the nose clips aids air intake/outflow mgmt esp. for backstroke

megalord

WAH! got compete one ****!!!! :s12::eek:
sexpert already
I recently finally managed to swim str8 consistently. Very sexcited
I watch Margaret Hoelzer, Ryan Lochte, Coughlin and Coventry videos compulsively ****! :s12::s12:
I even got the Peirsol Go Swim DVD! :s12:

There are alot of competitors around la, just that they didn't reveal themselves nia. I am beyond the age of competition, some more my lower limps were crippled during my reservist... I only swim to keep fit now. 2 decades of sweat and blood all destroyed in 1 reservist...

Just one word of caution from me: The best possible stroke for everyone differs. Everyone is borned with a unique set of muscle, and making best use of the muscle set derives the most powerful stroke. Following what others do may not suit you. There are only a few fundamentals to follow, the rest is up to you liao.

kettler

the thing about swimming is
you need constant practice!

it took me almost 3 yrs to be able to finally swim front crawl smoothly 200m and also master front crawl gliding.

when it comes to swimming, technique and form are super impt.

very often u see ppl swim front crawl like worm like that, whole body like curling up
or u see some ppl swim front crawl the lower bod is lower than the upper body, like that dragging already, bod not streamlined.
the entire stroke is inefficient and you have to expend more energy to move forward. Consequence? -> cannot swim fast, tire easily, cannot swim laps

addict shushu machiam sexpert rike tat .............

rike eberything oso noe reh ...............

tis thread alot of hidden dragons ones rike megalord said .......

:s22::s22::s22:

nyquist2000

Its due to different muscle group being used. The stroke should be used to propel yourself forward. Most of the people i noticed spent more energy in trying to keep afloat. When propelling forward, the body will automatically float. Check if your stroke is trying to keep your afloat.

You maybe surprise some people have negative buoyancy while some people have positive buoyancy. Negative buoyancy are those that sink while positive buoyancy are those that can stay afloat easily.

Those belong to the negative buoyancy are massive muscles people, heavy bone density people. So they need to work hard to stay afloat.

People with positive buoyancy are usually old people, female, babies, and people with light bone density. THey can just feel relax and can still float. :)

Hope this help. Have fun training and enjoy your swim.

megalord

You maybe surprise some people have negative buoyancy while some people have positive buoyancy. Negative buoyancy are those that sink while positive buoyancy are those that can stay afloat easily.

Those belong to the negative buoyancy are massive muscles people, heavy bone density people. So they need to work hard to stay afloat.

People with positive buoyancy are usually old people, female, babies, and people with light bone density. THey can just feel relax and can still float. :)

Hope this help. Have fun training and enjoy your swim.

Actually to my observation, most competitors belong to the negative buoyancy variant. That is essential to high power to weight ratio, giving them the edge. However, they are often the people perceived to have an easy time swimming. I attribute it to the forward trust that keep them buoyant.

I also belong to this group of people: I sink alot. However, the faster i swim, the less i need to bother about floating because the faster i swim, the more i surface/float. During sprints(freestyle), my upper body is partially above water. I attribute that to the forward trust that pushes my body upwards, alike a speedboat mechanism.

I do a little bit of lifesaving as sport, and i realized too, that the faster i tow a person, the more they float, the easier it is for me to concentrate on moving, and not keeping them afloat. It appears that with speed and trust, it reduces the energy wasted to keeping afloat.

nyquist2000

Actually to my observation, most competitors belong to the negative buoyancy variant. That is essential to high power to weight ratio, giving them the edge. However, they are often the people perceived to have an easy time swimming. I attribute it to the forward trust that keep them buoyant.

I also belong to this group of people: I sink alot. However, the faster i swim, the less i need to bother about floating because the faster i swim, the more i surface/float. During sprints(freestyle), my upper body is partially above water. I attribute that to the forward trust that pushes my body upwards, alike a speedboat mechanism.

I do a little bit of lifesaving as sport, and i realized too, that the faster i tow a person, the more they float, the easier it is for me to concentrate on moving, and not keeping them afloat. It appears that with speed and trust, it reduces the energy wasted to keeping afloat.

Body profile of a person is equally important too. Regarding to ability to float, it varies from person to person. U read about the floatation point varies for all different people. I heard it from total immersion.

With right technique, speed generally come. :) good luck in your swimming and enjoy!! :)

tomb

does swimming affect the bladder?

have had to pee quite often. reason i linked it to swimming is because when i run out of breath during swims i feel the urge to pee (i dont do it in the pool).

crandfs

i have some problems with freestyle, hope someone can can help provide possible solutions thanks

the problem is that when after only one pool length (50m) my left arm (bicep and tricep area) gets very tired and there is alot of aching. it only happens to my left arm, my right arm is ok, no tiredness and no aches. and then when i try to go for another 50m, by the time i reach 3/4 way during the 2nd round of 50m, my whole upperbody cramps up badly and the entire freestyle form is pretty much gonecase.

but stroke-wise during the 1st 50m, everything else is fairly ok, not much issue of feet dragging, breathing, sighting,etc. i can do 2 or 3 strokes without breathing. my form is not the best but i feel it is fairly decent. (but maybe i am wrong lol)
and i breathe only on right hand side, not used to breathing on left hand side. not sure if this has anything to do with the weird aching on my left arm

another thing is that i can do frog-style and swim 1 to 2km non stop effortlessly so i dont think it is a stamina problem. so i am puzzled as to why my left arm and then subsequently my whole upperbody acts up upon a mere 50m to 100m of freestyle

Must be your stroke is assymmetrical loh. Take video of yourself, then you will see.

nyquist2000

i have some problems with freestyle, hope someone can can help provide possible solutions thanks

the problem is that when after only one pool length (50m) my left arm (bicep and tricep area) gets very tired and there is alot of aching. it only happens to my left arm, my right arm is ok, no tiredness and no aches. and then when i try to go for another 50m, by the time i reach 3/4 way during the 2nd round of 50m, my whole upperbody cramps up badly and the entire freestyle form is pretty much gonecase.

but stroke-wise during the 1st 50m, everything else is fairly ok, not much issue of feet dragging, breathing, sighting,etc. i can do 2 or 3 strokes without breathing. my form is not the best but i feel it is fairly decent. (but maybe i am wrong lol)
and i breathe only on right hand side, not used to breathing on left hand side. not sure if this has anything to do with the weird aching on my left arm

another thing is that i can do frog-style and swim 1 to 2km non stop effortlessly so i dont think it is a stamina problem. so i am puzzled as to why my left arm and then subsequently my whole upperbody acts up upon a mere 50m to 100m of freestyle

From your explanation, I could tell there is something wrong with your breathing and your left arm was not totally relaxed. When you breathe on your right side, your left arm was probably feeling tense at the moment you are breathing. Fear is there that you might drink water, so your left hand constantly tense without you knowing it. Your head could be lift up instead as a matter of fact. Did you feel also that your neck felt stiff after awhile? If so... likely to be the case.

nyquist2000

have had to pee quite often. reason i linked it to swimming is because when i run out of breath during swims i feel the urge to pee (i dont do it in the pool).

Swimming does not affect the bladder. Probably you drank too much water befre you swim? Again... you should not be running out of breath when you swim or during swimming.

tomb

Swimming does not affect the bladder. Probably you drank too much water befre you swim? Again... you should not be running out of breath when you swim or during swimming.

no, not because of drinking too much water. but the problem seems to have gone away for now.

breathing has improved after doing drills with more strokes/breath. still trying to get the flip turn right.

mommyboiboi

me too, I need to go for pee every 30 minutes, maybe because we do not sweat during swimming. BTW anyone know how to neutrelize the chlorine, I got rashes after swimming even though I shower immidiately and apply body lotion.

crandfs

-.-
Not sure if serious....
We do sweat in the pool. The pool is full of our sweat, among other body fluids. I always shower with showel gel after swimming, so far so good.

I think the peeing reflex stems from the the coldness, not sure how the mechanism works though.

nyquist2000

May all swim like a fish soon. Do drills after drills.....especially drills that you hate to do. This year 2013, I would like to wish everyone here a very happy new year and may you succeed in everything you do. Plus...good health too.

The public pool is closed on the first day (unless you staying at condo) so if you need to do drill, try tomorrow.

nyquist2000

Breathing technique in swimming is equally important with stroke technique. So in a way, they co-relate to each other.

Key word: breathe in a lot of air quickly, blow out early.

Cress_knightness

Breathing technique in swimming is equally important with stroke technique. So in a way, they co-relate to each other.

Key word: breathe in a lot of air quickly, blow out early.

I realised that when I breathe properly, I don't get

tummyache when I swim .. haha:s13:

When I do running, I also get tummyache after a while ..

Think its my breathing problem ..

:look:

gtreds

yeah when my left arm is in the outstretched extended position it doesnt feel as natural as when my right arm is outstretched position. i am right handed. guess i have to find a coach to correct the imbalance thanks

Alternatively,u can get a frend to go swimming with u.ask him to video the way u swim and from there,u will better understand why u are feeling comfortable and then u can try to correct it.u dun need a coach to correct small tweaks.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.