The bears den

Mr.Canberra

Bought some XAUUSD with margin in IB this morning.

Gonna put a 10% trailing stop soon.

Forgotten how to do it already. Must login to Trader Workstation. :s13:

Gold price already priced in. Near term upside is limited. Friday closing will drop. Short hor yi si if one is brave (hint to revhappy). :D

Wah now play precious metals sia! :eek:

Kah kah lai lah. NO STOP LOSS! :eek: :s13:

On a serious note not recommend to play forex/commodities on margin will be good for you. Forex/commodities market is super manipulation casino and bets are all speculative. It is not investment. Period. :s13:

Mecisteus

On a serious note not recommend to play forex/commodities on margin will be good for you. Forex/commodities market is super manipulation casino and bets are all speculative. It is not investment. Period. :s13:

Borrow 20k only. Got ample of margin. =:p

BBCWatcher

The SPX futures are already at ATH. Should be targeting 3000 next.
Yes, the S&P 500 futures imply that the U.S. stock markets will open at a new all-time intraday high. That should also be an all-time high in Singapore dollar terms if the futures are correct.

For those trying to time stock markets, I hope you went long about 6 months ago. I don’t try to time markets and don’t recommend you try either.

USDSGD has also broken down, this will be bullish for Singapore equities.
That’s much more complicated and not a given. For example, the STI is very bank heavy, and ordinarily negative interest rate bias is not good for the bank earnings and bank share prices.

Slack is IPOing today.

coolhead

Any idea how to see realtime price of slack?
I know it sounds stupid but some live sites tend to have a funny update when it comes to live update of ipo stocks which then normalise on the second day.
Sent from HMD Global TA-1004 using GAGT

BBCWatcher

You could try the NASDAQ’s own Web site, which offers quotes from its primary competitor (the NYSE) as well as NASDAQ quotes.

Slack is supposed to list with the ticker symbol SK when the NYSE opens today. It’s a direct IPO, so it won’t raise any new capital for the company. It’s also cheaper to pull off. It’s merely an opportunity for some private shareholders to sell some stock in a public market rather than in private transactions.

Mecisteus

For those trying to time stock markets, I hope you went long about 6 months ago. I don’t try to time markets and don’t recommend you try either.

Don't really need to time.

You just need guts and patience.

Even a monkey who threw darts to buy some stocks in the last 1 year will be sitting on profits now.

BBCWatcher

Correction: Slack will have the ticker symbol WORK on the New York Stock Exchange. (Their SEC filing suggested SK would be it, but they got WORK.)

We should see an opening price within the next 4 minutes (as I write this).

Dividends Warrior

Don't really need to time.

You just need guts and patience.

Even a monkey who threw darts to buy some stocks in the last 1 year will be sitting on profits now.

"Far more money has been lost by investors preparing for corrections, or trying to anticipate corrections, than has been lost in corrections themselves....."
~ Peter Lynch

:o

BBCWatcher

Sure enough, as the futures market suggested, the S&P 500 has already hit a new intraday all-time high of 2,956.20 today (June 20, 2019). That's the high number so far.

limster

I'm more interested in earnings hitting new highs than stock prices hitting new highs. :s13:

BBCWatcher

I'm more interested in earnings hitting new highs than stock prices hitting new highs. :s13:
I believe the consensus forecast is currently -2.5% for the S&P 500's collective 2Q2019 earnings (versus a year ago). However, lots of companies are buying back their stock, so earnings per share will probably behave a little differently (better).

I question the wisdom of companies buying back their shares at what seem to be fairly lofty valuations, but evidently they cannot find anything better to do with their cash.

d9_lives

Let's see...+12%, +2x% and +5x% here and there...all just by diligently DCA-ing since end Sep'18 regardless of the headlines.
Has it always been this easy?

BBCWatcher

We're almost an hour into the trading day. Slack (symbol: WORK) hasn't opened yet, but apparently IPOs typically launch sometime in the middle of the trading day. The NYSE traders now think it'll open somewhere between US$30 and US$34 a share.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.