The Independent SG - ‘He doesn’t pay when we’re out on a date!’ — SG women give their brutally honest answers to: ‘What’s one thing that makes you los

luffix7

Maybe I'm an outlier but I would prefer it if my daughter pulls her own weight and pays for her share during dates. That is one way of fully understanding and appreciating the value of money, rather than having everything delivered on a silver platter.

A person must feel the pain of eating a 100+ per pax meal on a 4-5k monthly salary to put some perspective to spending and saving.

If anything, I look down on women who expect men to cover everything, every time, or even most of the time, when they draw a salary of their own, or when they have an allowance from their parents. Fair is fair, boys also need to juggle their finances without having to date a freeloader.
same here +1. i have a daughter and she ain't gonna depend on guy to pay her food

firestyle

Aiyoh why the whole day opening threads discussing on this topic.

At the end of the day, it's very simple.

Most women want their men to be generous and not calculative with things. And the fastest way for them to gauge that is whether the men offer to pay on the first date or not.

But when a decent woman sees you as someone of potential romantic interest, she will usually offers to treat you back de. This is becos she values your opinion of her, and wouldn't want you to have a bad impression of her either.

So if at the end of the date, if she offers to treat you on the next round means you pass liao.

And if she offers to either go dutch or do nothing, then usually means you should get the message liao.

Also need not be so concern on who pay who. Just pick a place that you dun mind paying for and enjoy each other's company with not much expectation.

If men can't even do that then should just stay home and watch tv.

Shion

Senior Mentor
why must the guy always pay

we want real gender equality and not use mouth talk only or female-only gender equality...

Mila Azul

Guys always end up paying… I remembered someone here form a WhatsApp group he knew some girls from his classes. He invited them to join us in the group, and we all ended up meeting at a pub. Man, those girls totally expected us to cover their meals and drinks, so we ended up picking up the tab for them. What a trip! 🥴

Nuclear Boy

• “Oh, usually when they open their mouth!” quipped one woman, drawing immediate laughter.
  • “If the ego is damn big!” another woman added, while several other women in the nightlife scene said all the following:
  • “Narcissism!”
  • “If he doesn’t respect me!”
  • “Possessiveness!”
  • “Rudeness!”
  • “When they’re too touchy!”
  • “If they don’t reply!”
  • “A pick me man!”
  • “When he has no ambition!”

Actually, these kind of sentiments all will be ignored when it comes to their eye candy, no matter how incompetent, they'll somehow be able to justify.

SayPorkGuy

Guys always end up paying… I remember the last time at EDMW form a WhatsApp group hr knew some girls from his classes. He invited them to join us in the group, and we all ended up meeting at a pub. Man, those girls totally expected us to cover their meals and drinks, so we ended up picking up the tab for them. What a trip! 🥴
imma acherly discovered charbohs make chu pay is to make it seem like chu are a potential interest but is also to see how malleable and agreeable chu are. imma also found out if she dontch like chu at all, she will never let chu pay for her.

d3n

usually the girl that will pay for a date are the dinobus. No offence but yes, it's true.
not true. u never watch the video?
Screenshot-2025-10-13-164926.jpg

MynameisS

As I mentioned, some amdk are cheapstake and worse than the sinkie that they are despising.

AMDK being cheap : so thoughtful, very smart thinking about future, can travel on van with no toilet oso can, backpacking is so glamorous., husband material,

Sinkie being cheap : ewww cheap guy only kampung girls will rike, can’t show off, disrespectful to me, show face, must break up.

aarontansp

The video, clocking close to 30K views and 1000 likes, didn’t hold back. Each woman gave her brutally honest (and sometimes hilariously savage) take on what sends a man straight into the “ick” and “eeew” zone.

• “Oh, usually when they open their mouth!” quipped one woman, drawing immediate laughter.
  • “If the ego is damn big!” another woman added, while several other women in the nightlife scene said all the following:
  • “Narcissism!”
  • “If he doesn’t respect me!”
  • “Possessiveness!”
  • “Rudeness!”
  • “When they’re too touchy!”
  • “If they don’t reply!”
  • “A pick me man!”
  • “When he has no ambition!”
And of course, the line that’s caused a mini earthquake was: “If you don’t offer to pay on a date!”

Another woman drove the point home with a gesture straight out of a K-drama breakup scene: Crossing her arms in an “X” and declaring, “The lack of communication!” with a disgusted facial expression that said, “bye!”

https://theindependent.sg/he-doesnt...-thing-that-makes-you-lose-interest-in-a-man/

The girl her arms like my thigh says not generous.

TrollAndOgres

Some people say, the above average man is just an average woman....

Most of the reasons are valid what. You mean a guy will enjoy dating a gal who is rude, disrespectful, narcissistic, egoistic, stingy and calculative?

Ethan_

Wonder if they have given it a thought that the other party don't pay for them is caused felt they not that worth it at the moment. So just split equal, monitor further and see how. :s22:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.