The Intel LGA1150 Haswell Owners Thread & Survey (H.O.T.S)

Are you buying Haswell? If possible, explain your choice in a post

• Total voters

Cryogenist

Is the batch number on the IHS?

Or can view via software?

Paiseh. Very long never play with these stuff.

Mem2003

In the bios setting, what parameters can be set for O/C (4th Gen Intel K series)? ... <Stable>

Any good free softwares to run for testing CPU, GPU, Memory(DDR3 4x4GB 1600), etc on win8 64bit OS? ... Stability test with O/C + undervoltage, etc

is O/c better with on internal GPU or disable int with external GPU PCIe card?

Greenbird.

Thanks.

Cryogenist

Batch is L313B445

Did some another set of tests.

4.5Ghz - 1.260V Stable, EDIT: Bootable to Windows
4.4Ghz - 1.200V Stable, EDIT: Bootable to Windows
4.3Ghz - 1.140V Stable, EDIT: Bootable to Windows
4.2Ghz - 1.135V Stable, EDIT: Bootable to Windows

I'm staying with 4.2Ghz.
Tested with OCCT's Linpack AVX test.
Maximum temp 83'C, within comfort zone.

The rest are all REALLLLLLLY HOT.. :mad::mad: for my peasant air cooling..
4.5Ghz spiked to 96'C..

EDIT : Voltage results not confirmed. Pending further stress testing. :spin::spin:

MacClipper

Remember that LinX AVX may be a useful gauge but it is actually NOT a recommended stress test cos it loads the CPU way above any real world situation. Instead AIDA64 is the current recommended stress test cos it supports the new Intel instructions unlike LinX or Prime 95.

So perhaps there is no need to get too upset if LinX hits your o'ced CPU real hard and overloads it thermally. :)

Cryogenist

Remember that LinX AVX may be a useful gauge but it is actually NOT a recommended stress test cos it loads the CPU way above any real world situation. Instead AIDA64 is the current recommended stress test cos it supports the new Intel instructions unlike LinX or Prime 95.

So perhaps there is no need to get too upset if LinX hits your o'ced CPU real hard and overloads it thermally. :)

Thanks for the advice.

Tonight shall do another round of testing..
Fine tune Vcore voltage to 0.005V.
plus some AIDA64 tests, temperature tracking.
then do some BCLK strap tuning.

I planning to start RAM tweaking, but from what I read briefly, RAM speed not as important as timings now for Haswell? Should I go for timings tightening?

MacClipper

Comparing Load Temps

Remember that if you run pre-SP1 Windows 7 (no AVX support), you can get away with non-AVX stress loads and low temps. Only way to tell is from the numerical GFlop output on Linpack tests like LinX or IBT.

Same guy - without and with SP1

Well, I really hope there are some golden chips out there among the retail boxes like there supposedly were among certain 5GHz@1.20V ES chips given out.

Good luck hunting! :)

Cryogenist

Gah... Seems like I really need to do more stress testing on my 4670k..

the proc seems to not like the certain voltage for certain stress test, need to keep increasing more..

Does adaptive voltage requests more voltage only for AVX-instructions?

MacClipper

What issues are you running into?

So far only the Asus Haswell guide says so and ime, they are prob. right.

Cryogenist

What issues are you running into?

So far only the Asus Haswell guide says so and ime, they are prob. right.

BSODs during stress time..
Probably I not testing long enough and not doing all type of tests.

Think I should remove my previous reports on the voltage first.
Let me do more tests, to confirm findings for my batch.

MacClipper

I like BSODs! :D

At least, they give an ID to the problem and can be hard reset, worst are total freezes.

So what BSOD ID?

MacClipper

Of course BSOD ID is v. impt when o'cing, must take notes and memorise them in your heart.

Else if kenna sudden test at this Fri Asus 8 series meet cannot win the prizes... =:p

Cryogenist

Of course BSOD ID is v. impt when o'cing, must take notes and memorise them in your heart.

Else if kenna sudden test at this Fri Asus 8 series meet cannot win the prizes... =:p

Dunno whether got tio the chance to go see see leh.

Cryogenist

Hmm... Question.

There is no BSOD ID in Windows 8.. Only what WHEA UNCORRECTABLE ERROR.

How to know what is wrong?

MacClipper

New Hoots For Testing The New Platforms
Z87 & H87 Mobos - All newly arrived today!

IMG_6229Copy_zps81209417.jpg~original

IMG_6235Copy_zpse481d652.jpg~original

IMG_6231Copy_zps9cb5c156.jpg~original

IMG_6234Copy_zps99602418.jpg~original

Well, holidays still comes 1st as always! :D

MacClipper

Batch, Heat & Clocking
Interesting findings

Haswell Launch Party After Action Report | Pictures and Results Inside...

We saw pretty quickly that even though these chips were all from the same batch, they had very little in common with each other. We had a range of chips, some lost stability over 4.7Ghz and some went over 4.9Ghz, Strangely we were seeing the hotter chips clock higher pretty consistently.

Looking like
1. batch spotting is not useful
2. be happy if you have a hoter running chip

:)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.