The Leather Thread

scasi

Peter Pan Bag, one of the earlier work from OGL. Thanks to Atom that evolve the bag into a beauty!
Atom%2BBag%2BPeter%2BPan2.JPG

Atom%2BBag%2BPeter%2BPan3.JPG

Atom%2BBag%2BPeter%2BPan4.JPG

jweak15

IMGP4697.jpg

Trying to sell this extra wallet that i made. Let me know if anyone is interested by pm-ing.

mikeeeey

did a leather bag myself. only learnt how to sew using sewing machine yesterday. so pardon the sewing.

the bracelet was from corter, "for Japan" bracelet. bought spares and decided to use it as a fastener

:)

5626584671_6d5cd5855f_z.jpg

divasion

206916_10150157643928259_571303258_6447813_3000001_n.jpg

208421_10150157643983259_571303258_6447814_3360858_n.jpg

207939_10150157644108259_571303258_6447816_3311714_n.jpg

eh i bought this leather shoes and that day i wore it.it was raining so what should i do now?? buy mink oil and apply on it? but den i heard leather oil is good for leather but not on threaded seams? Is it because they scared the oil seeps into the internal part of the shoes or?

reddevil76

divasion;55006684eh i bought this leather shoes and that day i wore it.it was raining so what should i do now?? buy mink oil and apply on it? but den i heard leather oil is good for leather but not on threaded seams? Is it because they scared the oil seeps into the internal part of the shoes or?[/QUOTE said:
wah, sibei chio! very suitable for those riding bike to work yet have to look formal. I always cannot stand when i see people ride to work, the wind blow up the pant legs, see the socks and hairy legs.

Where you bought and how much?

Jonathan.Ha

holla.
just want to ask how much veg tan leather should I get and what thickness should i get if i want to make a mid wallet or prehaps buying back to singapore and find a craftmen to do my design.

anyway i'm in guangzhou doing my fyp, coming back soon in a weeks time.
any leather tools I can get there? one foot long of 30mm leather cost abt 22 rmb which I believe is quite cheap uh.

brianchia

holla.
just want to ask how much veg tan leather should I get and what thickness should i get if i want to make a mid wallet or prehaps buying back to singapore and find a craftmen to do my design.

anyway i'm in guangzhou doing my fyp, coming back soon in a weeks time.
any leather tools I can get there? one foot long of 30mm leather cost abt 22 rmb which I believe is quite cheap uh.

wa. 30mm is like 7.5 oz leather leh.
wallets are normally like 5oz.

mikeeeey

^ i think 30mm is the width of the leather strip

30mm of thickness is crazy. Can use as kevlar vest alrdy. Lol

mikeeeey

haha.. 3mm still ok

by the way, a qn for the leather experts.

does quality varies for leather from country origins like USA, China, Malaysia, Thailand etc?

Geeezz

hi, wonderin if real leather cn be scratched n will the smell fade off? TIA

Kuroba

haha.. 3mm still ok

by the way, a qn for the leather experts.

does quality varies for leather from country origins like USA, China, Malaysia, Thailand etc?

For wallets usually I use 4-5oz for exterior, 2-3oz for interiors. Anything thicker I find that the wallet will bulk up more than desired. Sorry lazy to convert, 1 oz is 1/64 inch.

Yes, quality will vary from tannery to tannery, much less the country of origin. I think for good quality leather US and UK are a safer bet.

By the way mikeeeey, what kind of sewing machine did you use?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.