The NERF Hobby

mortpenguin

hey guys v long nvr post here alr but been reading the thread.

just got a longshot ytd from isetan. got a bit of a prob with the front gun. i attached the handle alr but it just won't fire. so now the front gun is cocked but the firing mechanism doesnt work - not v good to leave it like tt for a nerf gun as it will spoil v easily. don't feel like packing everything back tgt for an exchange. anyone can help me out? im oso figuring out the prob and will update u when i get it fixed.

also how do u open up the longshot with the bolt mechanism fitted in alr? i might want to add in another spring to increase range.

mortpenguin

my personal observations about the longshot:

• it is not leftie-friendly. unlike the recon, the longshot only comes with a magazine release and stock release on the left so it's inconvenient for a left-handed person like me. but i guess i can practise with my right hand with ns just months away.
  • the scope does not slide as smooth on the rail as the attachments on the recon.
  • the magazine insertion is not smooth as well compared to the recon.
  • the bipod is quite useless as setting it up will only allow the gun to be elevated instead of allowing you to steady a straight shot.
however ranges fare much better than the recon with the front gun removed, which is why im hesitant to send it for an exchange if it is faulty since i dun think there is any need for a front gun - it reduces range greatly. unless of course i manage to add a spring. i will also see if adding a real laser can help increase accuracy instead of using the scope - doesnt have to be pinpoint but at least i know where im aiming, even when elevated.

Maxxum

Guys,
OG have 20%* Storewide sale today till 18th Jan for All AMEX card holders. Any idea if OG stock the full range of NERF products?

* on regular price items. If controlled price items the 20% disc. will be given as OG vouchers

timonsim

What refills does the Recon use? Streamline darts?

Cant seem to find extra mags for them too :(

Need to know so that I can put in the order for them :p

if got anything you guys may want do let me know soon... those that I will be attempting to bring in will be here:
http://black-technology.com/store/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=31_115

really!!! you really own a shop are you the boss of bedok north black tecnology store? i saw the uzi and wuld like to buy it...how to pay i cannot pay onlinecan dont go your there and buy ? got other way out and the guns there are bb guns or what they shoot

XxDrAg0nxX

ya
so much rubbish in the signature, take up so much space, so distracting but never put URL link of shop web site :s13::s13:
pls relax on taking up so much space on your signatures and focus on the content of your posts.

I was warned to to do that :(

XxDrAg0nxX

really!!! you really own a shop are you the boss of bedok north black tecnology store? i saw the uzi and wuld like to buy it...how to pay i cannot pay onlinecan dont go your there and buy ? got other way out and the guns there are bb guns or what they shoot

those are classified as toy guns by our police, cannot shoot one :p

my customers buy to mod and display :)

The thread is here:
http://deluxeforums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=2065486

hiimajerk

get someone who just bot their vulcan to give you their box and their receipt ... settle liao
or if u more honest, then you buy another one from the same seller, then you have a new box and receipt to use ... simply done.
its not like you play the vulcan like siao until it spoilt right?

i can understand your once bitten twice shy phobia.
y dont u call hasbro spore pte ltd at 6736 2822 (no. from yellowpages.com.sg) and see what they say. maybe they will allow a direct exchange. u have nothing to lose. their add is 60 Albert St #14-12 OG Albert Complex Singapore 189969.

good luck and dont give up.

I just called today

They said that they are unable to do anything about my broken vulcan >_>

ernanist

o i c.
my apologies then.
expains your logo advertisement :s13:
i guess they r ok with that:s13:

btw how do u plan to compete wit the dept stores selling at 20% disc.
i guess in the east there arent many shops (Isetan parkway) selling NERF so u have the advantage.
can PM me your profit margin. i promise not to reveal. 100% ??
in business school they teach u to sell at 200% your cost price.
curious to know how much the consumer getting ripped off for made in China goods.

I was warned to to do that :(

hiimajerk

so sorry to hear.
any idea if taka has restocked their Vulcans?
if so then go to plan B.i called taka just now and asked if they have an exchanged policy for spoilt electronic toys and they said yes. just bring it back with packaging ang receipt for a 1 to 1 exchange or to exchange for other items if the item is no longer in stock. o course you will still need the receipt.

see there's where my problems lies.

I dont have both the box and the receipt...

timonsim

i cant remember who gonna sell me the iron man magstrike so i m really reserving it for real

SgNerf

Seems like the iron man's NRF 425 Blaster paintwork isn't very well done. Majority of the stocks at carrefour have some form of paint damage on them on various portion. Sgnerf your original magstrike have such issues too?

The original blue and red Magstrikes have good quality paintwork, most of it is the original casing colour anyways, so they have a similiar nice exterior finish like vulcans and Recons.

Iron Man Blasters tend to have rather messy paintwork because they are re-painted versions of the Magstrike (you can see the additional layers of paint), the painters over at nerf factory are definitely not professional detailers! :)

Add this to the fact that the good units are all usually snapped up by early bird buyers (admit it, we all pick and choose the boxes with nicer units), the leftover boxes will always end up with the crappiest paintworks! :D

XxDrAg0nxX

o i c.
my apologies then.
expains your logo advertisement :s13:
i guess they r ok with that:s13:

btw how do u plan to compete wit the dept stores selling at 20% disc.
i guess in the east there arent many shops (Isetan parkway) selling NERF so u have the advantage.
can PM me your profit margin. i promise not to reveal. 100% ??
in business school they teach u to sell at 200% your cost price.
curious to know how much the consumer getting ripped off for made in China goods.

wah where got so high, its a fraction of that :(

when they start selling at 20% its usually when they trying to clear away stock before it becomes obsolete OR they want to attract people to come to their store.
If we sell 20% we will earn almost nothing liao :(

This is a common practice by courts, they sell cheap, earn nothing just to draw crowd.

sagaran_s

Numbers

200% only possible if you are the distributor, and get your stock direct from manufaturer/inventor in qty of hundreds!

I have an online store selling music stuff and other gear, and most of the time realistic margins are about 30% or so after factoring in costs.
Its either low margin/high volume, or high margin/low volume!

More pics now:

vulcan3.jpg

XxDrAg0nxX

200% only possible if you are the distributor, and get your stock direct from manufaturer/inventor in qty of hundreds!

I have an online store selling music stuff and other gear, and most of the time realistic margins are about 30% or so after factoring in costs.
Its either low margin/high volume, or high margin/low volume!

More pics now:

vulcan3.jpg

You should try spraying matt lacquer, it will take the shine away, making it look more tacical and less plastic :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.