OrcsKiller

Problem is how to import from overseas? :eek:

Dun need to depend on local retailers. They sure have a high mark-up. :o

kennyboy

Doesn't change a thing. They will most probably still release a 32gb version not too long after, and early adopters will still be pissed off. :)

And if you know the history of Nexus handsets, then you should also know very well that they are never best sellers, even compared to those from smaller manufacturers. Just look at the Galaxy Nexus and Samsung. It should sell like crazy, but obviously it didn't.

kennyboy

Didn't know having sd expansion slot requires licences.
It doesn't. They're talking about the exfat file system that MS owns, but isn't even essential to using a sdcard slot in the first place. FUD all around. :(

shawniiex

Will telco bring this in?

eventually yes, but no one has ANY clue when.
sad case with nexus devices. it isn't like S3/Note/iPhone where everyone is so excited and there are massive queues...

Such a stupid thing really.

tan1688

oki here's an update on bro hiragawa mention the charges to
bring nexus4 ship to sg

1. service fee is USD5 or 5% per merchant invoice, whichever is higher
2. google play shipping cost is 13.99usd
3. then ship to sg 1kg sgd30
4. cost insurance and freight is more than 400, need to pay 7% gst.

thus total cost is e.g 8GB nexus4

= [(299usd + 13.99usd) x 1.23sgd + 30sgd] x 1.07 + [(0.05x(299+13.99))] x 1.23sgd
= 463.27sgd

oriserzz

For those who want to import, use hopshopgo.com (comgateway owned company), they have 10% off shipping fee and uses paypal for payment.

Paypal have insurance in case the phone don't deliver to u.

Calculation from Hopshopgo.com

Cost estimate
Value of purchase $ 349.00
BuyForMe Fees $ 17.45
Estimated Weight 1.0kg
International Standard Shipping $ 13.85 (haven't add from google to ur USA address)
Duties & Taxes $ 26.34
Not Included : Fuel surcharge, insurance and domestic shipping (if any)

progene

Doesn't change a thing. They will most probably still release a 32gb version not too long after, and early adopters will still be pissed off. :)

And if you know the history of Nexus handsets, then you should also know very well that they are never best sellers, even compared to those from smaller manufacturers. Just look at the Galaxy Nexus and Samsung. It should sell like crazy, but obviously it didn't.

so meaning.. 2nd market will bee selling cheap cheap

shawniiex

For those who want to import, use hopshopgo.com (comgateway owned company), they have 10% off shipping fee and uses paypal for payment.

Paypal have insurance in case the phone don't deliver to u.

Calculation from Hopshopgo.com

Cost estimate
Value of purchase $ 349.00
BuyForMe Fees $ 17.45
Estimated Weight 1.0kg
International Standard Shipping $ 13.85 (haven't add from google to ur USA address)
Duties & Taxes $ 26.34
Not Included : Fuel surcharge, insurance and domestic shipping (if any)

So this comes out to how much in SGD?
can you quote a 16gb nexus 4.

Ratix0

oki here's an update on bro hiragawa mention the charges to
bring nexus4 ship to sg

1. service fee is USD5 or 5% per merchant invoice, whichever is higher
2. google play shipping cost is 13.99usd
3. then ship to sg 1kg sgd30
4. cost insurance and freight is more than 400, need to pay 7% gst.

thus total cost is e.g 8GB nexus4

= [(299usd + 13.99usd) x 1.23sgd + 30sgd] x 1.07 + [(0.05x(299+13.99))] x 1.23sgd
= 463.27sgd

I counted by your estimate I worked out the 16GB model to be around $530. Not a bad deal.

shawniiex

I counted by your estimate I worked out the 16GB model to be around $530. Not a bad deal.

considering that a note 2 would cost at least 900 now.

but no warranty leh....
if $530, how much will the telcos price it sia.

OrcsKiller

$530 is a lot cheaper compared to s3 or note 2.

Quite tempted to get this phone even though I hv fruit 5 n note 2 lte.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.