The Nexus 4 Thread

52gdpl

Ok, before you bash the white case, let me ask you this... what case color would you choose? Transparent purple, trans red or plain white? I was looking fir plain black but no luck! This will have to do till nice cases reach sg...
crlmo.jpg

shawniiex

Ok, before you bash the white case, let me ask you this... what case color would you choose? Transparent purple, trans red or plain white? I was looking fir plain black but no luck! This will have to do till nice cases reach sg...
crlmo.jpg

nice what..
but the buttons at the side still as responsive anot?
the beautiful back is gone right?

52gdpl

nice what..
but the buttons at the side still as responsive anot?
the beautiful back is gone right?

The power button is not as responsive but still ok. Im sure other nice case will come on their way. Back cant be seen anymore. If there was an all clear without the S style, that would have been cool. The S style just ruins it IMO.

shawniiex

The power button is not as responsive but still ok. Im sure other nice case will come on their way. Back cant be seen anymore. If there was an all clear without the S style, that would have been cool. The S style just ruins it IMO.

hate all the S style casings in the whole world.

52gdpl

hate all the S style casings in the whole world.

Lolz! Every phone has one. But they do get out very early. Just temporary leh till we get the nice ones. Hope someone can design than can cover the back but still show off the design. Like black side and clear back. That would be nice.

shawniiex

Lolz! Every phone has one. But they do get out very early. Just temporary leh till we get the nice ones. Hope someone can design than can cover the back but still show off the design. Like black side and clear back. That would be nice.

why do they even need to engrave that ****ass letter there.

wouldn't it cost less without any engravings and that bit of extra material?! :s22::s22::s22:

swgj86

Hey swgj86: I must say, I am jealous of you for your job! :D You know, I have so wanted to become a tech journalist so that I can get my hands on a lot of new devices at the earliest and once in a while get a chance to travel to those tech conferences! Hahaha

Anyway.. I have always used Nexus phones since the Nexus One.. the OTAs generally take a week or two to reach all the devices.. dont worry, no way is the delay going to be anywhere near those other OEM updates! I am sure you know that! :D However if you want, you can always unlock and put the factory image of 4.2.1 from google's website and relock the device.. again I think, you already know all this.. please excuse my post in that case Bro.. :)
Hi alprakas,

Got pros & cons about being a tech journalist la. Won't deny the fact that we get to have first hands-on with new devices even before official releases / announcements. the valuable opportunities to go overseas for events.

in fact, MWC 2012 was my first major overseas assignment. My dream since sec skol (when my tech craze first started) to go MWC. HAHA.

however, the timeliness in doing up articles, writing reviews & articles to appeal to readers, to make them relevant to the ever-changing audience, remains key challenges that me (or any other writer) will face.

and not forgetting having to be on the ball most of the time (24/7) for breaking news. but I guess passion for tech outweighs everything else.

I got my Android 4.2.1 update earlier this morning. Just feel sad that my kind of usage, only the Razr Maxx can cope. Even the Note II (review unit) barely made it through a day for me. LOLZ.

alprakas

Exactly! Just plain tpu with no design. Clean look.

Haha Glad to know that you found your casing....

I just got lucky then.. Mine is the partially transplant blackish color.. So still can see the NEXUS logo vaguely.. LOL

Yeah Man, I agree it is not what we would ideally like, but has to suffice for now.. I suppose getting a bumper type case which just covers the sides should look excellent and provide okay okay safety.. :)

alprakas

Hi alprakas,

Got pros & cons about being a tech journalist la. Won't deny the fact that we get to have first hands-on with new devices even before official releases / announcements. the valuable opportunities to go overseas for events.

in fact, MWC 2012 was my first major overseas assignment. My dream since sec skol (when my tech craze first started) to go MWC. HAHA.

however, the timeliness in doing up articles, writing reviews & articles to appeal to readers, to make them relevant to the ever-changing audience, remains key challenges that me (or any other writer) will face.

and not forgetting having to be on the ball most of the time (24/7) for breaking news. but I guess passion for tech outweighs everything else.

I got my Android 4.2.1 update earlier this morning. Just feel sad that my kind of usage, only the Razr Maxx can cope. Even the Note II (review unit) barely made it through a day for me. LOLZ.

CES, MWC and Google I/O ...main attractions for me swgj86... Hahaha So want to go for them.. of course there are so many others too... :D

Agreed about the other accompanying challenges with the job, but like you mentioned its the passion for tech that drives this job! :D

Yeah, I saw the update in the middle of the night and updated..and yeah, motorola really turned the wheel again with the battery design.. Still dont understand, why would anyone mind a couple of millimeters extra thickness for a bigger battery! At least until we can get a new battery technology to cope with the newer power hungry hardware and software.. In my opinion, Motorola Razr Maxx HD did a great job in that regard!

52gdpl

Haha Glad to know that you found your casing....

I just got lucky then.. Mine is the partially transplant blackish color.. So still can see the NEXUS logo vaguely.. LOL

Yeah Man, I agree it is not what we would ideally like, but has to suffice for now.. I suppose getting a bumper type case which just covers the sides should look excellent and provide okay okay safety.. :)

Tnx for the heads up bro. I bought the screen protector also which sucks! Its small. Ill get a good one when i stocks come in which will take awhile coz if the phones are slow to roll out here then good accessories will be slow too. Tnx!

kennyboy

why do they even need to engrave that ****ass letter there.

wouldn't it cost less without any engravings and that bit of extra material?! :s22::s22::s22:
Only $3+...mai hiam lah. Most probably pattern there cos the mould is like that one lor. :D

swgj86

CES, MWC and Google I/O ...main attractions for me swgj86... Hahaha So want to go for them.. of course there are so many others too... :D

Agreed about the other accompanying challenges with the job, but like you mentioned its the passion for tech that drives this job! :D

Yeah, I saw the update in the middle of the night and updated..and yeah, motorola really turned the wheel again with the battery design.. Still dont understand, why would anyone mind a couple of millimeters extra thickness for a bigger battery! At least until we can get a new battery technology to cope with the newer power hungry hardware and software.. In my opinion, Motorola Razr Maxx HD did a great job in that regard!
Hi alprakas,

Can call me sidney la, not swgj86. hahah!

not all events we are going, due to funding / manpower restrictions. HWZ will be there at CES 2013!

Yeah, Razr Maxx HD is one phone to look forward to. If only updates can come as fast as Nexus devices. Hopefully the next Nexus phone is made by Motorola, then pack Razr Maxx / Maxx HD battery, then SONG BO liao!

Fifa03fan

This phone looks to be really fragile, really can't risk using it without a case :/

shawniiex

Hi alprakas,

Can call me sidney la, not swgj86. hahah!

not all events we are going, due to funding / manpower restrictions. HWZ will be there at CES 2013!

Yeah, Razr Maxx HD is one phone to look forward to. If only updates can come as fast as Nexus devices. Hopefully the next Nexus phone is made by Motorola, then pack Razr Maxx / Maxx HD battery, then SONG BO liao!

Extremely jealous, all i can do is follow the various android sites for those updates regarding MWC CES and I/O.

Doubt the Razr Maxx HD will never make it's way to our shores. Ever since MOTO split up into two entities, they even put this on their site.

We are streamlining our business and support systems,
and unfortunately, we'll no longer have a dedicated website
for Rest of Asia.
Your local support site will remain open well into the future,
and we'll continue to provide support for our existing products.
If you are interested in viewing our current products,
you can still do so here.*

Seems like Moto Mobility is pulling out of Asia cause Samsung too big influence here liao or even HTC and LG.

Ratix0

Honestly with so much focus in form factor and all the less realistic stuff, i really appreciate how motorola strikes the right chord in their devices. Long battery life + hardy construction beats all the form factor you can get in the world, despite the device being not as beautiful or whatsoever.

The only archilies heel of moto is their software. Imagine the next nexus being a Nexus Maxx. Holy mama.

shawniiex

Honestly with so much focus in form factor and all the less realistic stuff, i really appreciate how motorola strikes the right chord in their devices. Long battery life + hardy construction beats all the form factor you can get in the world, despite the device being not as beautiful or whatsoever.

The only archilies heel of moto is their software. Imagine the next nexus being a Nexus Maxx. Holy mama.

i was hoping HTC or Moto be the next nexus. until LG leaks came out..
I would love me a Nexus Maxx.
Or an Xperia Nexus would do fine as well please.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.