The Nexus 4 Thread

jase07

Hey ppl, i got my lovely phone 2 days ago liao. But still haven't do anything to it yet.

What do you guys do to your phone when u first get it? As in the usual steps:

1. apply screen protector front and back
2. have a casing
3. Change sim to micro sim (where u all cut? starhub want to charge me $20 to change)
4. Transfer of contacts (what do you guys use to transfer)
5. Installation of important apps (pls suggest?)

What else do you guys suggest?

siokzz

The phone already comes with default plastic covers le. Is there a need to buy extra screen protectors?

the default one comes with some "markings" on the front, but otherwise seem quite decent if you can live with it.

it also covers more of the phone than the screen protector that came with the nillkin case i bought, so decided to leave the default one on for now.

innumerabilis

My phone is in Singapore too! Just called DHL to have it delivered tonight.

The default plastic covers will peel off soon though. It isn't a permanent solution.

As for micro SIM cutting, I've heard that M1 shops will have the cutter that you can borrow. Otherwise, there are some shops that provide free cutting service over on the iphone thread. I'll try to contact some of them - if successful I'll post here.

Edit: Mobyshop at Far East seems to provide free microSIM cutting.

tnk001

My default one came off the first day I used it. Thinking whether to get those front and back combo.

madeapan

Hey ppl, i got my lovely phone 2 days ago liao. But still haven't do anything to it yet.

2. have a casing
3. Change sim to micro sim (where u all cut? starhub want to charge me $20 to change)

1. I've been using with the original SP since day 1. No issues so far except for the markings in front.
2. Casing -it depends. if you love to see the stylo Milo back, then go for a bumper. If u wanna protect it well, use a case.
3. I went StarHub to get a new micro sim at $21.40. But most dealer shops offer cutting services at about $5+/-
4. If u were an Android user, your contacts should have been sync-ed with your gmail account.
5. Apps - I think this really depends on preference. Plenty out there in the Play Store. This phone is so fast, you may wanna download everything and try!

Hope this helps. :)

floodgate

saw this at tanah merah 7-11.
$7.90
(if you're concerned about cutting your beloved sim card)

8tGPS.jpg

jase07

1. I've been using with the original SP since day 1. No issues so far except for the markings in front.
2. Casing -it depends. if you love to see the stylo Milo back, then go for a bumper. If u wanna protect it well, use a case.
3. I went StarHub to get a new micro sim at $21.40. But most dealer shops offer cutting services at about $5+/-
4. If u were an Android user, your contacts should have been sync-ed with your gmail account.
5. Apps - I think this really depends on preference. Plenty out there in the Play Store. This phone is so fast, you may wanna download everything and try!

Hope this helps. :)

Thanks bro.

Update - I managed to call starhub CS and kpkb abit on the charge on microsim and they managed to waive it off for me.

Oh so the contacts are all synced already, damn i really dun no man.

Are u guys using it as it is (stock) or rooting it?

Force89

2. have a casing

These are the steps I took for my Nexus 4.

1) Replace the front SP while keeping the back one intact (Since there is no point in replacing the back one as well)
2) Bought the Nillkin matte casing for this phone
3) Cut existing Sim card to micro-sim (Mine was the older sim card hence some of the gold contacts would be cut off, no worries about the connectivity though)
4) Titanium Backup apps (Requires root on both devices and apps with all information would be cloned to new device)
5) Additional information like SMS/Call Log can be backed up as well and transferred
6) Root Nexus 4 and Log in to Gmail account (All contacts would be auto synced if you backed up to the cloud)
7) Restore apps/information to Nexus 4

This way most of the apps and information would be restored to Nexus 4, stuff like game progress/whatsapp threads would also be intact.

madeapan

Thanks bro.

Update - I managed to call starhub CS and kpkb abit on the charge on microsim and they managed to waive it off for me.

Oh so the contacts are all synced already, damn i really dun no man.

Are u guys using it as it is (stock) or rooting it?

No problemo. Wah I can't believe I paid $21.40 for it. Zzz...
My advice is when u use ur android phone, your new contacts should be saved to your Google account. Similarly, all contacts should be sync-ed. So the next time when u change to another Android phone, your contacts stays as long as u sync over the air with the same gmail account!

I'm still using it stock. Gonna root when I have time this weekend.

tekster

My advice is when u use ur android phone, your new contacts should be saved to your Google account. Similarly, all contacts should be sync-ed. So the next time when u change to another Android phone, your contacts stays as long as u sync over the air with the same gmail account!

go kpkb say why you have to pay when friend don't need. demand for free 6 months caller id or something. lol

tekster

To tekster,

Why your n4 back look plastic? Is it glass or like plastic bhind?

it's default screen protectors lo. you buy any phone brand new, will also have one ma.

but this one is much better. cause there aren't much markings. others is so many till can't see the screen.

kennyboy

Starhub. The data connection is just sh*t. Can't wait to get rid of it when my contract is up. Tolerated it for many years already if not because I kept recontracting early to grey a new phone, id have moved to m1 long ago
So what is the general consensus? M1 or ST? :D

xstrake

Starhub has free NFC microsim till Jan 31

Guys, Starhub has free NFC micro sim promo till Jan 31 (it's on their website). They're giving this to promote their smart wallet app. The App is trash as it doesnt work with N4 in spite of being NFC phone.
However just go and ask for free NFC sim, which is a micro Sim, so you'll get it for free instead of $21.40.
I think it's ridiculous that they charge so much for a sim card, so would never justify paying for it.
I got mine for free at the 100am (tanjong pagar) Starhub shop this monday. Works well on my Nexus 4.

BTW, has anyone got HSPA+ speeds on Nexus 4 on Starhub yet? any config changes need to be done say in network mode preferences?

cattwl7

Starhub too. Really cannot make it. Will switch once my contract is done.
Actually when I was using my iPhone 4, I didn't find the network so bad... With the N4, the network detection seems weaker.

Zetsuei

is it me or N4 ringtones are too soft ? even in normal working environment its hard to hear the ringtones, either sms notification or phone call..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.