The Nexus 5 Thread

DXMachina

Used to use LagFix (requires root) on my Galaxy Nexus to fix (eMMC) slowness issue, if u dun wish to root, then dun need to manual fstrim

Nexus Storage Performance Over Time & TRIM 20130829 - xda-developers

Even though Android 4.3 and later is supposed to include TRIM automatically, sometimes it just seems it isn't working and we might need to manual TRIM..

As for the Gallery app being slow, its due to toooo many pictures over time, and Gallery app is trying to generate a thumbnail for each of your pictures so you will experience "slowness" while it is in fact busy generating thumbnails for ALL your pictures..

I haven't used Gallery for a long time, as I use Quickpic, don't have this issue :D or quite little of this issue popup..

Thanks a lot for the informative post! :)

DXMachina

Sorry if this is a noob question, but all this talk about replacing the N5's screen piqued my interest as I have 2 dead pixels on my current screen. Would getting say, this item solve my dead pixels problem? Much thanks in advance. :)

Audris

The sim card tray of my Nexus 5 is stuck with a sim card adaptor inside. Any idea where can I get this fixed?

Fixed.

||||||||||

Sorry if this is a noob question, but all this talk about replacing the N5's screen piqued my interest as I have 2 dead pixels on my current screen. Would getting say, this item solve my dead pixels problem? Much thanks in advance. :)

Wah 2 dp already want to change screen?

You cannot guarantee the new screen is perfect also

davion901

Erm what's the problem? Cannot get a location fix?

When in "device mode", the GPS locks immediately but when using high accuracy mode, it will either take too long to lock or it won't.

GPS test shows the satellites and their strength signal but my phone refuses to lock to it (in high accuracy mode).

Frustrating when using Google maps when driving. Always have to look and plan ahead...

ykeen

where can find $100?

www.ebay.com

ps: i don mind helping to repair.. But only when i am free

found this one.. FR LG Google Nexus 5 D820 D821 LCD Display Screen Digitizer Touch Glass Assembly | eBay

another one below is cheaper by US$4.52 and comes with all opening tools :D

ultimately found cheapest one but no free tools:
100% original for LG Google Nexus 5 D820 D821 LCD Display Screen Touch Digitizer Glass Assembly - seem to indicate promo for 4 more days though..

Thinking which one to get, seems the same anyway hmm..

Video on how to replace the screen ;)

yongqing25

Hi just to check, my nexus 5 screen is "jumping". I have restarted a few times liao. Is it kena virus? What can i do? Tks

Bloodcrave

thinking of either getting this or wait for oneplus one....
does rooting nexus 5 void the warranty? i heard it won't for oneplus one

DXMachina

The OnePlus One's availability will probably kill most people's enthusiasm. Furthermore, it's a huge phone compared to the N5, which is pretty compact and feels good during hand-handed usage. :)

BlitzStryker

Firstly can't really compare one plus one with Nexus 5. Should be comparing with probably Nexus 6 or probably LG G3 or Xiaomi Mi3 S..

Anyway one plus one running in cyanogenmod so quite competent in terms of software.

Warranty wise if I recall correctly, Google does not cover. But you can easily unroot it and revert back to stock for RMA purposes.

fighting

u guys know if we can display multiple lines for whatsapp message in notification dropdown like iphone?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.