The Official Xperia S thread

enegue84

i have been receiving 3 sms'es daily from "Reuters" for the past 2 days...each with a news topic...has anyone else been receiving them??

i'm on singtel btw...

When I was at the Singtel shop to get my XS, the staff mentioned that I would have to call the customer hotline after 15 days, but within a month, to request for a cancellation of all these SMS services. Call earlier than 15 days, no effect as the SMS would continue coming (end result is that ur request is not processed at all!) Call after a month, may be too late as the fees would kick in liao, at 2 bucks a month as mentioned by potNPan.

maumu

bro, impressed by the mod you did (for the LED light).

do you provide this service to fellow bros here? can PM me?

like to change the light to... red :) goes well with black i believe.

anpanbun

When I was at the Singtel shop to get my XS, the staff mentioned that I would have to call the customer hotline after 15 days, but within a month, to request for a cancellation of all these SMS services. Call earlier than 15 days, no effect as the SMS would continue coming (end result is that ur request is not processed at all!) Call after a month, may be too late as the fees would kick in liao, at 2 bucks a month as mentioned by potNPan.

They know there are peeps who would forgot and they would be charged for it. Just like their other "free" VAS after the promo period, they charge you for it.

enegue84

They know there are peeps who would forgot and they would be charged for it. Just like their other "free" VAS after the promo period, they charge you for it.

Agree! Such charges are always hidden in the fine print, which most customers can't be bothered with when they get excited over that new handset! XD

Helpful staff would just flag out these items to the customer and exclude as much as they can on the spot, the rest would leave to customer to cancel after the minimum period of time lapses.

That aside, agree with maumu too. Red LED on black XS would be really chio!

timberland

bro, impressed by the mod you did (for the LED light).

do you provide this service to fellow bros here? can PM me?

like to change the light to... red :) goes well with black i believe.

wa u wanna risk ur warranty ah ?

timberland

Agree! Such charges are always hidden in the fine print, which most customers can't be bothered with when they get excited over that new handset! XD

Helpful staff would just flag out these items to the customer and exclude as much as they can on the spot, the rest would leave to customer to cancel after the minimum period of time lapses.

That aside, agree with maumu too. Red LED on black XS would be really chio!

Green on Black and Red on Black is very nice cos of the contrast.

maumu

yes... tio poison by you liao... :s13:

anyway, it's reversible right the process... if need to send in for repair to SE centre, den change back to default LED?

i'm serious by the way... :p name me a price ^^

bigbadber

Green on Black and Red on Black is very nice cos of the contrast.

anyway, it's reversible right the process... if need to send in for repair to SE centre, den change back to default LED?

LOL

I think a lot of XS owners kena poisoned by ur photos liao

when u dismantle the phone, did u remove any of those 'do not remove' sticker and thereby voided the warranty?

timberland

LOL

I think a lot of XS owners kena poisoned by ur photos liao

when u dismantle the phone, did u remove any of those 'do not remove' sticker and thereby voided the warranty?

no such sticker on my set leh , urs got ah ?

timberland

reversible. but then the stock LED cannot be re-used. I will have to use mine instead.

Same Bright White as the stock. I dunno how to charge ah. cos this is not blackberry leh

shager

reversible. but then the stock LED cannot be re-used. I will have to use mine instead.

Same Bright White as the stock. I dunno how to charge ah. cos this is not blackberry leh
Cost plus markup. Plus admin fee :). Sure a lot of hwzoners wouldn't mind I would like a green one myself :p

shager

This is what i hate abt XS:

1) Flimsy usb protector.
2) Poor Viewing angle.
3) Headphone jack too close to power button.

I find the poor battery life a turn off. It's even worse than my iPhone 4S and that pesky USB port protector! What was Sony thinking ?! Otherwise a pretty fine phone.

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator
I find the poor battery life a turn off. It's even worse than my iPhone 4S and that pesky USB port protector! What was Sony thinking ?! Otherwise a pretty fine phone.

The reason for the protector is to make the whole phone more sleek, so as to merge with the whole overall design.

As for battery life, yes, it's a bit of turning off, considering my previous IP4s last a bit longer. This is what i discover btw my IP4s and this XS, for IP4s, when you never use, it won't drop much or at all. But once you start using, that's when the battery draining appear. For the XS, i notice they drop power even during idle, but it's more constance thru out.

Smartphones nowadays are battery hunger eaters. No choice, we have to live with it.

DoraemonBoi

The reason for the protector is to make the whole phone more sleek, so as to merge with the whole overall design.

As for battery life, yes, it's a bit of turning off, considering my previous IP4s last a bit longer. This is what i discover btw my IP4s and this XS, for IP4s, when you never use, it won't drop much or at all. But once you start using, that's when the battery draining appear. For the XS, i notice they drop power even during idle, but it's more constance thru out.

Smartphones nowadays are battery hunger eaters. No choice, we have to live with it.

Agree. when to sleep with data off wifi off, gps off. Drop from 82 to 45:s12:

Chevalier

Agree. when to sleep with data off wifi off, gps off. Drop from 82 to 45:s12:

perhaps ur phone is not going into "deep sleep"

download cpu spy to verify that.

also use better battery stats to see what is keeping your phone "awake" during idle.

overnight for the past 2 days ive only had like 1% per hr drainage on idle.

during the day my usage is whatsapp, browser, fb, games, some video, youtube.

i unplug @8am and lasts me all the way till 10pm.

btw im rooted on the .67 firmware. i uninstalled a lot of the SE bloatware :D

scubyti

perhaps ur phone is not going into "deep sleep"

download cpu spy to verify that.

also use better battery stats to see what is keeping your phone "awake" during idle.

overnight for the past 2 days ive only had like 1% per hr drainage on idle.

during the day my usage is whatsapp, browser, fb, games, some video, youtube.

i unplug @8am and lasts me all the way till 10pm.

btw im rooted on the .67 firmware. i uninstalled a lot of the SE bloatware :D
.... wanna share what are the list you remove/freezed?
i usually freeze them...instead of removing it...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.