The Official Xperia S thread

Unknownx

ooo u brought a used set ah
hee if local sony don't bring in TX then maybe can to look for a keitais liao :p

or go KL hoot hahaha
I do know of sony eric service cte at KL its at bukit bintang
it still there after so long
I just went too I saw it tlatilll there

Yeah, bought from someone here also
Now waiting for xperia nexus then see how :D

eeLsinneD

Hi eelsinned korkor. Long time no see. No, my phone not on wifi when I tether.

Haha I'm always browsing here lah just that never really comment much since it is always when the phone haven't come yet then there'll be more posts, or shares from people who just bought.

After that it's just rantings of how lousy they find the phone lah, or when will the next OS upgrade will come, else it's mentioning of other phones which are not even supposed to be a topic of this thread, so yeah...

i will post if I am able to share knowledge of Nozomi here lah.

For myself I don't really tether much outside as it kinda sap a great deal of data and the phone sometimes get hot (a sign that it is overworking, thus battery naturally will drain faster), so I normally tether to my tablet if I am like of my way home or am at a public place where I can legally charge via their power sockets like Starbucks, National Library etc.

Well since we are on this topic, rssd, I hope you are reading this =X

How do you find using a 2nd SIM for your tablet? As in will usage tend to increase, thus reaching the pathetic data cap the greedy telcos are restricting us now?

I feel like upgrading to an LTE tablet... I know having the power widget on Nozomi is very convenient for switching tether ability on and off, but the issue still boils down on trying not to have my phone die faster than usual.

teh__o

Haha I'm always browsing here lah just that never really comment much since it is always when the phone haven't come yet then there'll be more posts, or shares from people who just bought.

After that it's just rantings of how lousy they find the phone lah, or when will the next OS upgrade will come, else it's mentioning of other phones which are not even supposed to be a topic of this thread, so yeah...

For myself I don't really tether much outside as it kinda sap a great deal of data and the phone sometimes get hot (a sign that it is overworking, thus battery naturally will drain faster), so I normally tether to my tablet if I am like of my way home or am at a public place where I can legally charge via their power sockets like Starbucks, National Library etc.

How do you find using a 2nd SIM for your tablet? As in will usage tend to increase, thus reaching the pathetic data cap the greedy telcos are restricting us now?

I feel like upgrading to an LTE tablet... I know having the power widget on Nozomi is very convenient for switching tether ability on and off, but the issue still boils down on trying not to have my phone die faster than usual.
I see. Thanks many many for sharing your knowledge. Me is noob. When you tether to your tablet, ever experienced drop in connection or your XS wifi hotspot off by itself?

rssd21

Wah pai seh leh, such big fonts.

Anyway, my tablet is used for browsing, watch youtube and pps shows. Using sim for browsing is not fast but acceptable. Sometimes youtube loads too slow. For pps i will use wifi - too big sized files and faster downloads.
Not reaching limit easily, unless download from pps using data.

If you need faster data, LTE will be better. But it does not guarantee faster speed for all overseas url. And local integration of LTE is still not widespread enough to cover whole country at the moment. Think of it as investment for future LTE or just wait around for A15 hardware tablet with LTE.

eeLsinneD

Wah pai seh leh, such big fonts.

Anyway, my tablet is used for browsing, watch youtube and pps shows. Using sim for browsing is not fast but acceptable. Sometimes youtube loads too slow. For pps i will use wifi - too big sized files and faster downloads.
Not reaching limit easily, unless download from pps using data.

If you need faster data, LTE will be better. But it does not guarantee faster speed for all overseas url. And local integration of LTE is still not widespread enough to cover whole country at the moment. Think of it as investment for future LTE or just wait around for A15 hardware tablet with LTE.

Scared you never read that post mah =X
okok thanks for your info =d

eeLsinneD

I see. Thanks many many for sharing your knowledge. Me is noob. When you tether to your tablet, ever experienced drop in connection or your XS wifi hotspot off by itself?

Me newber than you XD
Off by itself never, but drop in connection sure will one lah. If your reception poor sure will.

Just like even if you are not tethering, sometimes your phone will tell you no network available, then your timescape feeds fail to update.

teh__o

Me newber than you XD
Off by itself never, but drop in connection sure will one lah. If your reception poor sure will.

Just like even if you are not tethering, sometimes your phone will tell you no network available, then your timescape feeds fail to update.
Must be the network not good then. No wonder sometimes I make calls, people can't hear clearly.
Thanks for your reply eelsinned korkor

teh__o

Lol what's the thing with sh?

Rss korkor, when you tether to your tablet is vis bt or wifi?

anpanbun

It depends on e area too. Certain areas are better some telcos, especially those with two lines under different telcos, you can see e difference at times when e signal is better than e other

dreamz13

Sony had confirm the Jellybean update for Xperia S on mid q1 2013. I think abit late arh... I think at that time I am waiting for their 2013 flagship liao lor.

Source: http://www.xperiablog.net/2012/10/19/android-4-1-jelly-bean-for-2012-xperia-devices-rolling-out-from-mid-q1-2013/
You read wrongly la. Xperia S not confirmed date.

Sony Mobile has this morning confirmed that Android 4.1 Jelly Bean for its new Xperia devices (Xperia T, Xperia TX and Xperia V) will start to receive the update from the middle of Q1 2013. Sony Xperia devices that launched earlier this year including the Xperia S, Xperia acro S, Xperia ion, Xperia P, Xperia go and Xperia J will be upgraded to Android 4.1 in “due course”.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.