The Spectacles Thread. - Part 2

oldbreadstinks

WHAT TINGS DONT DETERIORATE IN QUALITY. THEY WANT TO EARN MORE WAT. PX UP BUT QUALITY DOWN SO PROFIT CYCLE SHORTER.

Y U NEED TO ADJUST STARCK? ITS DESIGNED TO BE ADJUSTMENT FREE. BIO-ADJUSTED.

......i meant the quality of an old frame, felt more solid after 10 years with hardly an deterioration. unlike new frames which are using material which hasn't been aged, it's still too early to comment if the new approach works

Seannie

can't say I see it as a problem . besides , he's reading this too or at least his friends are reading it.
main thing is essilor has good management and budget and less inane screwups

Then why dont u just buy yur own edging machine cut the lens in the shop then no such QC prob. Why rely on those useless lab ple who ask u close eyes or refuse yur rejections. Fry the lab.

oldbreadstinks

Then why dont u just buy yur own edging machine cut the lens in the shop then no such QC prob. Why rely on those useless lab ple who ask u close eyes or refuse yur rejections. Fry the lab.

i avoided unless there's a request, i prefer to avoid trouble all the way .
most of the issues weren't encountered by me but enough to make me leery

and your comments/suggestions if i were to follow any of them , either wouldn't help, or would make things/relationships worse . :s22:
if i struck toto 10 million maybe i will if i'm retiring:s22:

Seannie

Their range of products is too diverse to do a direct comparison, but in general, these three brands are pretty alright. ;) Not much of a difference between them if you compare within the same price range. Again, this is just my opinion so I'm sure others will disagree. :s13:

What is more important, IMHO, is the quality of the eye check, and whether you understand what you are buying / whether the staff explains to you the different choices without pressuring you to "upgrade" something - some of us want only the best, some of us are happy with decent stuff, so don't need to pay for things you don't really need or want.

Make sure you get a proper explanation of your power, know the index of the lens you need, the design, the coating, etc. Then make your decision.

Most important is QC and the ple handle our frame and do lenses properly. I have encounter too many mishandlings & inaccurate lenses. I think best find an optician who is ethical enough trustworthy and who cuts the lenses in his own shop to control the quality and minimises the mishandling.

When visit any shop ask them do u cut yur own lenses or send to lab.

kaikoura

can't say I see it as a problem . besides , he's reading this too or at least his friends are reading it.
main thing is essilor has good management and budget and less inane screwups

Well, for them to eat up Visitech, ILT, and Plasticplus, to form KaleidoVision, they better have good management or else. :s13:

research is guarded strongly among labs, by results and the number of lenses churned out ...... essilor seems to have the most number of researchs which ended in products? whether you appreciate the things they have is another issue

Well they do have an entire level in the building dedicated to Research so yes, they do come up with lots of stuff both here and elsewhere.

But hor... knn another optician who takes starck told me quality maintained lehz.. i ask him quality no drop he said NO. Hais if starck gg direction of rayban i will forego it le. I dont see why rayban should be so overpriced nothing fantastic no optical function creativity or specialty other than branding.

Ok. Hate to say bye to Starck.

It can be quite hard to quantify "quality" you know, what one person expects of the frame is different from another person.

Rayban's strength is, well, being the traditional good old Rayban so why change it. ;)

What brand is as good as the unbranded lenses? I only know unbranded ones sucks especially so the coatings turn bad after max 3 months. :s22:

:s12: :s12:

oldbreadstinks

Most important is QC and the ple handle our frame and do lenses properly. I have encounter too many mishandlings & inaccurate lenses. I think best find an optician who is ethical enough trustworthy and who cuts the lenses in his own shop to control the quality and minimises the mishandling.

can't say i agree though i do not understand why someone who suggests "fry the lab" would encounter so many issues

personally i have very little problems with zeiss, be it salesman/ back end stuff
hence the less things i have to think off the more i use their stuff

for cutting in house lenses, I actually feel paris miki have one of the best quality, a senior i knew described their process and it seems the seniors when I entered the trade a decade ago , had some of the best standards in paris miki and upheld that standard

kaikoura

Then you have to see who is cutting the lenses. :s13:

if i struck toto 10 million maybe i will if i'm retiring:s22:

Huat ar!

The machines are not cheap - they run in the tens of thousands - primarily because of the precision needed. Add in regular calibration, wheel changes, belt changes, etc.

For a shop to buy the machine, they will need to exceed a certain number of spectacles made to make the machine "worth the money", plus hire someone who knows how to use it properly.

And then of course it's always easier to blame the lab when something goes wrong. :s22:

oldbreadstinks

Well, for them to eat up Visitech, ILT, and Plasticplus, to form KaleidoVision, they better have good management or else. :s13:

Well they do have an entire level in the building dedicated to Research so yes, they do come up with lots of stuff both here and elsewhere.

It can be quite hard to quantify "quality" you know, what one person expects of the frame is different from another person.

Rayban's strength is, well, being the traditional good old Rayban so why change it. ;)

:s12: :s12:

they added coatings to the back of the lenses these days for raybans
the lenses isn't tinted but coated . and i've encountered the colour coming off , something i've not encountered previously .

eat up... you made it sound like a hostile take over

oldbreadstinks

Then you have to see who is cutting the lenses. :s13:

Huat ar!

The machines are not cheap - they run in the tens of thousands - primarily because of the precision needed. Add in regular calibration, wheel changes, belt changes, etc.

For a shop to buy the machine, they will need to exceed a certain number of spectacles made to make the machine "worth the money", plus hire someone who knows how to use it properly.

And then of course it's always easier to blame the lab when something goes wrong. :s22:
ok lol who are you?:s13:

kaikoura

can't say i agree though i do not understand why someone who suggests "fry the lab" would encounter so many issues

Oh to add, there is a limit on what the lab will be responsible for as well.

To sue a million-dollar lab is just...out of the picture.

kaikoura

they added coatings to the back of the lenses these days for raybans
the lenses isn't tinted but coated . and i've encountered the colour coming off , something i've not encountered previously .

eat up... you made it sound like a hostile take over

They don't soak in hot dye anymore? That's a shame. The lenses used to last like, forever. Is this for the plastic or glass ones?

Alright, gently consolidated the companies. :s12:

ok lol who are you?:s13:

Who are you then? :s13:

kaikoura

WHAT TINGS DONT DETERIORATE IN QUALITY. THEY WANT TO EARN MORE WAT. PX UP BUT QUALITY DOWN SO PROFIT CYCLE SHORTER.

Increase the prices, lower the quality, earn more.

So more people come into the business wanting to have a share of the pie, driving up supply, thus lowering prices and increasing quality because the companies want to sell their products.

The industry will balance itself out. :)

oldbreadstinks

They don't soak in hot dye anymore? That's a shame. The lenses used to last like, forever. Is this for the plastic or glass ones?

Alright, gently consolidated the companies. :s12:

Who are you then? :s13:

there's a new lab in town who sort of "stamps" colour onto lenses
meaning they can do dark tinted lenses for any index , in theory at least , i'm assuming current raybans are going to do that , sounds cheaper and faster than soaking

you know things in my trade but your level of english is beyond the norm

Seannie

Huh plasticplus eaten up by essilor already? Oh.. my impression of local unbranded like plasticplus is bad... coating problems after 3 months. How about hi top? Eaten up or not?

Feeling sort of groggy with my hoya, wonders if my optician put the OC too accurate??? And then becos frame half rim and lenses abt 6mm thick the lens touches my face a little. Hais. Wonders if 1.74 ibdex will be better or not but px almost doubles.

yfWong

Thanks guys for the valuable information.

Based on the info, kind of get the feel why Hoya was not the first choice from the shops' pov.

Going to Kong Shin to recce somemore☺

jervin88

Hahaha great debate. Essilor does invest alot in R&D. Coating wise might not be able to fight with the best. But they engineered something I say more affordable and durable at the same time. How can you compare vuitton to hermes belt. They are different products with different targets

Sent from GAGT Android App

JThinking

Has anyone tried this local brand of specs called Owlet?
Thinking of buying it as a gift for someone. Thanks

oldbreadstinks

Huh plasticplus eaten up by essilor already? Oh.. my impression of local unbranded like plasticplus is bad... coating problems after 3 months. How about hi top? Eaten up or not?

Feeling sort of groggy with my hoya, wonders if my optician put the OC too accurate??? And then becos frame half rim and lenses abt 6mm thick the lens touches my face a little. Hais. Wonders if 1.74 ibdex will be better or not but px almost doubles.
Hi top Is a local company.. (kwang meng)
They are used by a lot of shops without incident
But my single traumatic experience scarred me emotionally fOr life

I don't think plastic plus usually get problems with their coating within three months. Besides there's a warranty on manufacturing defects for a year
They don't last as well as the more reputable ones but for any cases within three months you must be pretty unlucky

If you're as old as you mentioned
You may... Need to reduce the power if it's too close
As for bumping it up to 1.74 you need to ask your optician because the higher index= lower Abbe value. If it's the lenses, changing might help
Otherwise... Things might get worse

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.