The Spectacles Thread. - Part 2

kaikoura

That caused a bit of a backlash..... Because from supplier to salesman to shop to staff to customers..... The story was... "made in Japan " ..... Then when crisis struck... Story changed to "finished in Japan "
A lot of angry people felt cheated
I don't know much more other than that

But unless it made sense. It's rare to manufacture things in Europe / first world countries due to the cost
Like say Duravision coating. The last time I ordered the lenses they must be made in Germany. Because only German have the facilities.
But there's no way they would continue manufacturing in Germany if there's demand here enough to fuel a new manufacturing plant here
They along with all other labs like Hoya, Essilor Have manufacturing plants all over Asia. I know Malaysia has lab/ factory for Hoya
And the big labs are all in Thailand
China's a definite thing. Australia India
The future is going to get everything moved to Asia

The single vision Carl Zeiss stock lenses are made in Korea right? :s13: :s13:

Kind of a trend in Singapore where people just go for the brand. There are lenses that are equally as good as some of the branded lenses, yet they are way cheaper. Like OEM vs Retail. But well, advertising works. :)

yfWong

They do lots of marketing - in cinemas, buses, TV, online.

mitsueki.wordpress [dot] com/tag/essilor-crizal/ (too little post cows, cannot post link...)

And of course if the salesperson is getting a good commission, why not introduce Essilor to you :s13:

So is Essilor on par with Hoya or Zeiss in terms of quality?

Not a single shops I visited recommended Hoya as first choice.

Seannie

mitsueki.wordpress [dot] com/tag/essilor-crizal/ (too little post cows, cannot post link...)

And of course if the salesperson is getting a good commission, why not introduce Essilor to you :s13:

Who says Hoya does more research than Carl Zeiss? :s13:

Hoya stock lenses done in Guangzhou and Thailand, RX (special order lenses) done in Malaysia.

For stock lenses, not much variation in coating quality between the batches, but they have different series, much like how some graphics cards or processors have the same components but are sold as different models. So it really depends on what your shop gave you.

Why not just buy the Starck frame and then go to your preferred shop to get the lenses done. ;)

Bro, my optician told me hoya research much better than zeiss. But anyway most important is be comfortable and happy with what one chooses. Hah im switching between zeiss superb 1.74 SV and Hoya 1.67 nulux EP SV to test the difference. Frankly hard to tell the difference. But one thing most agree on is that hoya has the best coats. I still need time to determine the best. Some also say hoya progressive are v gd. Have not reach that stage yet maybe a few years time.

Troublesome to buy starck from one vendor and then make lens at another. I may give up on starck liow if so kang kor. Rather go for other brands.

Dun frame is ok but i grew tired of it. Just made a spivvy frame still on trial period. Japonism looks rather stylish, tried on a few models but havent really hoot one yet. Px wise normal range abt px of starck/icberlin range but the really swee range cists over 1k. Can really burn holes in pocket.

Seannie

Kind of a trend in Singapore where people just go for the brand. There are lenses that are equally as good as some of the branded lenses, yet they are way cheaper. Like OEM vs Retail. But well, advertising works. :)

What brand is as good as the unbranded lenses? I only know unbranded ones sucks especially so the coatings turn bad after max 3 months. :s22:

Seannie

out of topic, my hdmi bought 2yrs ago for $10... still works

CONGRATS BRO. Looks like im a unlucky guy. :s22: i had to top up another $30 to get a better cable. Uncle in shop says so have to folo.

Seannie

I am getting a new pair of progessive lens. Most shops I visited recommended Essilor brand of lens.

Is there a reason why Essilor is more 'popular'?

Same theory as in why macdonald is more 'popular' than mos burger?

oldbreadstinks

essilor has the biggest marketing budget

zeiss HQ thinks too poorly of optical lenses market to care, the bulk of their income comes from medical devices , they seem to care about whether research helps the company as a whole than make great specs

hoya...... suffering from a backlash now, i still believe for scratch resistance they have one of the best coatings but I hear a lot of complaints from issues not related to their lenses which offended people who are suppose to sell their lenses . they still have loyal customers but the number isn't going to grow much and most people i know feels the same way about their lenses but if they are not selling or recommending , it's because of incidents which happened between hoya staff and them.

but yes , as another member said , it's similar to why mc donalds is so popular

oldbreadstinks

YEAH I FORESEE THAT STARCK WILL GET MORE POPULAR OVER THE COMING YEARS AS IT HAS BEEN BOUGHT BY LUXXOTTICA GROUP, BELONGING TO SAME FAMILY AS OAKLEY.

any brand who is taken over by luxotica=quality drop, price x 4:s22:
when i started out, raybans were 100+, my boss said last time $60
now $300 for non polarized 3025:s22:

oldbreadstinks

I am getting a new pair of progessive lens. Most shops I visited recommended Essilor brand of lens.

Is there a reason why Essilor is more 'popular'?

best marketing, best budgeted backend service. their supply chain works better then someone who screws up then asks you to give chance and hope next time do better and ask you to close one eye and pass a defective lens to the customer .
or those that you call and they refused to turn up to send or collect your glasses to cut the lenses

i've met people who ask me " you ... got crystal lens? you know.... the 5 enemies of clear vision?"

whoever did their stuff, made sure money spent resulted in successful campaigns even their tools provided is awesome .

Seannie

any brand who is taken over by luxotica=quality drop, price x 4:s22:
when i started out, raybans were 100+, my boss said last time $60
now $300 for non polarized 3025:s22:

But hor... knn another optician who takes starck told me quality maintained lehz.. i ask him quality no drop he said NO. Hais if starck gg direction of rayban i will forego it le. I dont see why rayban should be so overpriced nothing fantastic no optical function creativity or specialty other than branding.

Ok. Hate to say bye to Starck.

oldbreadstinks

Who says Hoya does more research than Carl Zeiss? :s13:

Hoya stock lenses done in Guangzhou and Thailand, RX (special order lenses) done in Malaysia.

For stock lenses, not much variation in coating quality between the batches, but they have different series, much like how some graphics cards or processors have the same components but are sold as different models. So it really depends on what your shop gave you.

Why not just buy the Starck frame and then go to your preferred shop to get the lenses done. ;)

research is guarded strongly among labs, by results and the number of lenses churned out ...... essilor seems to have the most number of researchs which ended in products? whether you appreciate the things they have is another issue

Seannie

best marketing, best budgeted backend service. their supply chain works better then someone who screws up then asks you to give chance and hope next time do better and ask you to close one eye and pass a defective lens to the customer .
or those that you call and they refused to turn up to send or collect your glasses to cut the lenses

i've met people who ask me " you ... got crystal lens? you know.... the 5 enemies of clear vision?"

whoever did their stuff, made sure money spent resulted in successful campaigns even their tools provided is awesome .

YOUR CONSISTENT PROBLEM IS STILL YOUR VAGUENESS IN YOUR POSTS. PLS SPECIFY ELSE NOBODY KNOWS WHICH BRAND U REFERRING TO EXCEPT THE INSIDERS. BUT I GOT THE FEELING U ARE TOKING ABT HOYA. AM I RIGHT.

oldbreadstinks

But hor... knn another optician who takes starck told me quality maintained lehz.. i ask him quality no drop he said NO. Hais if starck gg direction of rayban i will forego it le. I dont see why rayban should be so overpriced nothing fantastic no optical function creativity or specialty other than branding.

Ok. Hate to say bye to Starck.

imo.. starck had no noticeable drop ..... at least where being "solid" is concerned , but i noticed it's easier to adjust these days

one thing I noticed , you have to feel for yourself . find someone who owns a Alain mikli frame, from 8 years back and one new one
touch and feel the differences in acetate , you'll realised the old ones felt harder, to my hands they(old model) felt the same as previously , acetate but harder
I was told they aged the acetate before using it last time
these days it's much softer despite being the same material .

oldbreadstinks

they have multiple factories, not sure about korea . I've actually heard of korea

but there are noticeable differences in quality . clarity/toughness/ease to clean

Seannie

research is guarded strongly among labs, by results and the number of lenses churned out ...... essilor seems to have the most number of researchs which ended in products? whether you appreciate the things they have is another issue

ARE U SURE ESSILOR IS ON PAR? BUT MY OPTICIAN DOES NOT THINK SO. BUT RECENTLT I HEARD MANY YOUNG OPTICIANS IN SHOPS PROMOTING ESSILOR LENSES, TELLING ME THEY ARE CLEAR AND GETTING BETTER. ONE FROM BETTER VISION EVEN TOLD ME THAT ZEISS RESEARCH IS LAGGING BEHIND.

oldbreadstinks

YOUR CONSISTENT PROBLEM IS STILL YOUR VAGUENESS IN YOUR POSTS. PLS SPECIFY ELSE NOBODY KNOWS WHICH BRAND U REFERRING TO EXCEPT THE INSIDERS. BUT I GOT THE FEELING U ARE TOKING ABT HOYA. AM I RIGHT.

can't say I see it as a problem . besides , he's reading this too or at least his friends are reading it.
main thing is essilor has good management and budget and less inane screwups

Seannie

imo.. starck had no noticeable drop ..... at least where being "solid" is concerned , but i noticed it's easier to adjust these days

one thing I noticed , you have to feel for yourself . find someone who owns a Alain mikli frame, from 8 years back and one new one
touch and feel the differences in acetate , you'll realised the old ones felt harder, to my hands they(old model) felt the same as previously , acetate but harder
I was told they aged the acetate before using it last time
these days it's much softer despite being the same material .

WHAT TINGS DONT DETERIORATE IN QUALITY. THEY WANT TO EARN MORE WAT. PX UP BUT QUALITY DOWN SO PROFIT CYCLE SHORTER.

Y U NEED TO ADJUST STARCK? ITS DESIGNED TO BE ADJUSTMENT FREE. BIO-ADJUSTED.

oldbreadstinks

ARE U SURE ESSILOR IS ON PAR? BUT MY OPTICIAN DOES NOT THINK SO. BUT RECENTLT I HEARD MANY YOUNG OPTICIANS IN SHOPS PROMOTING ESSILOR LENSES, TELLING ME THEY ARE CLEAR AND GETTING BETTER. ONE FROM BETTER VISION EVEN TOLD ME THAT ZEISS RESEARCH IS LAGGING BEHIND.

young opticians don't promote sh!t..... they sell what their bosses tell them . you said you're an engineer or something, do young chaps join then tell their bosses they're wrong?:s22:
as for whether essilor is getting better ............. eh , they have a lot of new stuff now but you've already seen prevencia's review from one of the customers here .

besides I'm just commenting on the research part, unless you work inside their research labs , no one really knows how much research the labs they're doing . even if they climb high enough... i don't think HQ sends an email updating directors on the research, only when something is going to be promoted

but based on the number of gimmicks essilor pushes out, one would say they have lots of research done isn't it? compared to zeiss who only pushes out 1 concept every decade?
as for the lens being on par ...... I've already stated my preferences.
Zeiss is a foundation, not a true MNC like essilor

kaikoura

Their range of products is too diverse to do a direct comparison, but in general, these three brands are pretty alright. ;) Not much of a difference between them if you compare within the same price range. Again, this is just my opinion so I'm sure others will disagree. :s13:

What is more important, IMHO, is the quality of the eye check, and whether you understand what you are buying / whether the staff explains to you the different choices without pressuring you to "upgrade" something - some of us want only the best, some of us are happy with decent stuff, so don't need to pay for things you don't really need or want.

Make sure you get a proper explanation of your power, know the index of the lens you need, the design, the coating, etc. Then make your decision.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.