The Spectacles Thread. - Part 2

Seannie

and lens prices are actually dropping:s13::s22:

you would have to top up $40 for multicoat last time, these days the same lenses for a 1.56hmc of similar standards can go for $25/$35/$40
I often sell them as a set to old folks for like $38

transitions 1.5 crizal when it first came out was $280
theses days lenses with the transitions brand photochromic properties go for less than $100 to crizal's $248
(crizal transitions was$228 at one point )

R U SURE LENS ARE CHEAPER NOW?!!!

I only see lens px increased just recently, im not happy thats why switched to cheaper alternative.

oldbreadstinks

I only see lens px increased just recently, im not happy thats why switched to cheaper alternative.

if you compare "apple to apple" the price of "apples" is slowly and surely deflating because it's a mass manufactured good

but if you go for the latest tech the price of your glasses would go up

a pc would cost you $3000 years back with windows 3.0
nowadays no one would buy it for even $100

this applies across the board for all goods unless there's a shortage, which isn't happening for glasses

oldbreadstinks

I NEVER TAKE IT FOR GRANTED THESE DAYS. IF MY LENSES ARE DONE PROPERLY NO SCRATCHES NO BLUR NO SLANTING I WILL CONSIDER MYSELF LIKE STRIKING 4D ALREADY. U KNOW THE CHANCES OF WINNING 4D.

............no offense

but seeing the way you type and respond to me, are you sure it's not petty revenge on the optician's part?:s22:

if you talk to me the way you do here in person, i wouldn't want your business . I've seen how a shop in orchard tactfully let a customer know indirectly they don't want her business despite her purchases being 1k

when you buy a pair of glasses there's a basic standard

if you purchased a -2.00-2.00x180 it should read as that on the lensometer, some slight variations maybe on the axis , like 1-3 but it should be without scratches, or at least no scratches visible to the naked eye

no idea what you meant by no blur/no slanting

oldbreadstinks

yes, in fact everything that doesn't involve service is cheaper, human service pushes prices up but older products are cheaper

it's poppycock to say prices are increasing, it's falling all the time.
those who say it's going up are almost always

getting carroted

or going for a branded lens with new technology

tanjiajun_34

Hey guys! May I ask does ultrasonic eyeglass cleaner damage your spectacles after prolong use and any idea where can I get it?

oldbreadstinks

Hey guys! May I ask does ultrasonic eyeglass cleaner damage your spectacles after prolong use and any idea where can I get it?

Yes

Home fix. But there are probably cheaper options

Edit: there's a model that's metal and hurts your fingers when you put your fingers in
Don't use that. A lot of non branded lenses when scratched will lose entire patches of the coating when inside.
Especially when the user thinks adding detergent will help to clean the oil off :crazy:

If You wash the glasses every other day and dry with a microfiber cloth. There's no need to add detergent. Most of the oil will come off when wiped with microfiber
Any remaining oil. Is less than what's on your face

CCW Yeo

Wa too many pages, Need advice from kor kor and jie jie here, I have $400 budget, can get a branded spec frame like prada/gucci with transition lens? Which shop is the best to buy from ar?

Seannie

if you compare "apple to apple" the price of "apples" is slowly and surely deflating because it's a mass manufactured good

but if you go for the latest tech the price of your glasses would go up

a pc would cost you $3000 years back with windows 3.0
nowadays no one would buy it for even $100

this applies across the board for all goods unless there's a shortage, which isn't happening for glasses

NOPE i still dont understand it. The lens i always get is the same thing no improvement yet they raise the px up. Same brand. Same index. Same lens design. U think i dont know my stuff as a consumer? R u mocking at consumers not in the know? The only difference is just an upgrade of coating which DOESNT warrant the px increase of over 100dol at least. How can that be? The excuse it gives is that the particular brand has not been revising their price lists for a long time. To me i think its pure bull ****. But thats how the way tings go. Out of consumers control. Either accept or find alternatives. Just like if u think transport fares are increased unfairly or restaurants are expensive can always choose to walk or eat at home.

Seannie

YES NOT ALL SPECS CAN GO UNDER ULTRASONIC. STARCK FRAMES CANNOT BE CLEANED BY ULTRASOUND OR THE SPRING MECHANISM WILL GET WORN OUT FASTER!!!!!

Seannie

............no offense

but seeing the way you type and respond to me, are you sure it's not petty revenge on the optician's part?:s22:

if you talk to me the way you do here in person, i wouldn't want your business . I've seen how a shop in orchard tactfully let a customer know indirectly they don't want her business despite her purchases being 1k

if you purchased a -2.00-2.00x180 it should read as that on the lensometer, some slight variations maybe on the axis , like 1-3 but it should be without scratches, or at least no scratches visible to the naked eye

Definitely not as petty as u. In real person i will not tell u off. I will just walk away never return.

My power is -800 -300 × 5 i do not accept any deviation of my axis, maximum is just 1. Not so relaxed 3-5 as u said. Even axis of 1 degree off makes vision blurred.

Slanting means the lens do not flush symmetrically with the ends of the frame rims. One side protrude out unevenly to the other sides.

And scratches even without microscope can be seen under naked eyes. Most opticians dont even bother to check QC. Sme probably knows but still give to customer that makes me sick. Usually what i do if i suspect axis or PD wrong i will go another optician to confirm and my last pair was confirmed axis out by at least 5. Knn. I really duno how edgers do work nowadays.

Seannie

............no offense

There really is no need for that lady to go orchard unless to get chanel specs cos its exclusive. Otherwise business is based on willing buyer willing seller no obligations. No contract signed that the shop must sell to the lady or the lady must buy from that shop. Unless that lady complain to CASE.

This shop dont sell go other shop lor. Im sure there will be many shops who want to do business with the lady. Come on man. Not like sg only one shop. Its like thousands of shops. Go malaysia even more and cheaper. Hah.

oldbreadstinks

Wa too many pages, Need advice from kor kor and jie jie here, I have $400 budget, can get a branded spec frame like prada/gucci with transition lens? Which shop is the best to buy from ar?

Yes. I assume Prada is still $3-400 for some models
After the usual discount with an unbranded but still transitions lens you can still get within $400
Just don't pick a $5-$600 model and say I bluff you

Seannie

Especially when the user thinks adding detergent will help to clean the oil off :crazy:

If You wash the glasses every other day and dry with a microfiber cloth. There's no need to add detergent. Most of the oil will come off when wiped with microfiber
Any remaining oil. Is less than what's on your face

Typical optician standard answer. How can specs not washed with detergent. Oils simply wont come off la REAL COMMON SENSE, whether have it or not.
Try use microfiber cloth clean yur dishes with plain water without soap leh see clean or not.

Just use dettol liquid handsoap or just those watson handsoap just as good to clean off the oils. Just rinsing with water aint gd enuff la. Pls. Oils trap on the surface and u are just seirling the layer of oil in circles when u wipe.

oldbreadstinks

NOPE i still dont understand it. The lens i always get is the same thing no improvement yet they raise the px up. Same brand. Same index. Same lens design. U think i dont know my stuff as a consumer? R u mocking at consumers not in the know? The only difference is just an upgrade of coating which DOESNT warrant the px increase of over 100dol at least. How can that be? The excuse it gives is that the particular brand has not been revising their price lists for a long time. To me i think its pure bull ****. But thats how the way tings go. Out of consumers control. Either accept or find alternatives. Just like if u think transport fares are increased unfairly or restaurants are expensive can always choose to walk or eat at home.
I think this is ******** lor
You kept talking about using different lenses but now you're telling me about the same lenses but prices go up
Competition is stiff these days. If you really care about the prices you're paying you should talk to your optician
They'll do something or their competitors will do something.
If you like going to places who are not giving you a preferential rate then come here to argue you know your stuff
How do you want me to respond? Anything I reply honestly you'll say I'm mocking you.

I don't reply honestly you shoot me saying I'm "vague "

:s22:

oldbreadstinks

Definitely not as petty as u. In real person i will not tell u off. I will just walk away never return.

My power is -800 -300 × 5 i do not accept any deviation of my axis, maximum is just 1. Not so relaxed 3-5 as u said. Even axis of 1 degree off makes vision blurred.

Slanting means the lens do not flush symmetrically with the ends of the frame rims. One side protrude out unevenly to the other sides.

And scratches even without microscope can be seen under naked eyes. Most opticians dont even bother to check QC. Sme probably knows but still give to customer that makes me sick. Usually what i do if i suspect axis or PD wrong i will go another optician to confirm and my last pair was confirmed axis out by at least 5. Knn. I really duno how edgers do work nowadays.

No need to test at another shop.
-3.00cyl will look blur when axis is out by 5
You can request for a change on the spot
The fact that you need to go verify at another shop is sad enough... You should just tell the optician straight away there's a warranty fOr the lenses
Eh.... Most of my customers would tell me off for nosepads misalignment... No need to wait for lens to misaligned
I dunno whether you're really that suay or you're bluffing me
Assuming it really happened. The shop in question is supposed to change and rectify everything Foc. When I used to work in orchard we even got cards and hamper to apologize for serious cases when Px was really pissed...

oldbreadstinks

There really is no need for that lady to go orchard unless to get chanel specs cos its exclusive. Otherwise business is based on willing buyer willing seller no obligations. No contract signed that the shop must sell to the lady or the lady must buy from that shop. Unless that lady complain to CASE.

This shop dont sell go other shop lor. Im sure there will be many shops who want to do business with the lady. Come on man. Not like sg only one shop. Its like thousands of shops. Go malaysia even more and cheaper. Hah.

I doubt SG has thousands of shops lol and I totally dont get your rant about the lady but yes some of the stuff she took was Chanel

oldbreadstinks

Typical optician standard answer. How can specs not washed with detergent. Oils simply wont come off la REAL COMMON SENSE, whether have it or not.
Try use microfiber cloth clean yur dishes with plain water without soap leh see clean or not.

Just use dettol liquid handsoap or just those watson handsoap just as good to clean off the oils. Just rinsing with water aint gd enuff la. Pls. Oils trap on the surface and u are just seirling the layer of oil in circles when u wipe.

I've actually never washed my glasses with anything more than water
The " seirling the layer of oil in circles when u wipe" comment

You should see how I usually make my customers laughed when I used to rub my Teflon lenses all over my nose. Then clean off the oil with microfiber. :s12:

I only rinse my glasses to prevent residue dust from scratching them

But note. Frame wise I'm using Swiss flex. Rimless. Hardly any place for trapping dust / oil

End of the day oil I can't wash off with water is still safer than detergent I can't clean off in corners

If using dettol works for you go ahead but I don't see the need

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.