The Spectacles Thread. - Part 2

oldbreadstinks

hi i am new here. Anyone knows where to find a spec frame with magnet paste-on sunglasses?

//gd4.alicdn.com/imgextra/i4/181048157/TB2AORFbVXXXXXbXpXXXXXXXXXX_!!181048157.jpg

also want to make a progressive lens with budget $300 a pair possible? my existing one is about $230 (lens alone) a few years back index 1.6 i think.

look for older shops . magnetic paste ons are quite rare among newer shops once , i only have one piece where i work,
mainly due to transitions

there was a shop near commonwealth MRT station , below i think the row of shop houses,call lens hub
they had lots of these when i was there 5 years ago , not sure if they still carry them but you can give them a call in advance to check

depending on the lenses it should be possible to fit within $2-300

oldbreadstinks

Anyone see ads in Facebook for cheap Oakley? Like really cheap (USD30) and they advertise like 90% discount

Well in case anyone is wondering... I got curious and wanted to see what kind of glasses they were so ordered

First, I actually wouldnt have been surprised if they didnt arrive at all.
But they did so its not a scam....

However, they are not good quality and you get what you pay for...

If anyone wants 2 pairs, I have and will give away!! LOL

..... eh 30usd is actually overpriced

i got people buy KO stuff think good deal when they pay $80 for rayban
china sell same stuff probably 10-20 usd you can walk into the industrial and buy
taobao has them also

i changed some lenses for my customers, unless very regular and close liao, i'll usually say i dunno much and act blur if they ask me if it's real :s22:
otherwise say liao offend people

for oakley so far, best prices is still USA , a lot of models is roughly half or slightly over half of local prices

if not from the known sources, it's likely whatever you're ordering online and super cheap is KO

oldbreadstinks

Anyone uses standard high index 1.67 lens (-5.00) with Oakley rimless frames? Just wanna know if there's any distortion or discomfort due to the slight overall curvature of design.
Thanks

distortion no, but you'll feel uncomfortable

oldbreadstinks

Thanks Jervin88,

I think will take the opportunity to test out what Aliexpress has to offer cause the savings in future could be significant.

Option 1 - Get Computer/Office Lens, price around S$500-800/= depending on index

Option 2 - Get Single Vision for Computer only. ~$100-200

Option 3 - Get Aliexpress Backside :)/Interior/Free Form progressive lens... ~$100/=

Of course JB is an option as well...

your prescription may not need to go that high for office lenses so erm.... ask around at your optician

2 single vision if you need 200 and below, non branded lenses you can consider owndays , they do $98 for 1.6 with frames, $30 top up and so on
or your neighbourhood shop near your home, likely within 5-10 mins walk
they'll generally cost less than 1-200 even for 1.67
unless you stay in orchard or holland village

3 $100 backsurface.... go JB make bah , progressives anything go wrong at least someone can adjust or answer for it
JB should have, $100
singapore some older shops already do $100+
but if you're wearing crizal/zeiss/hoya currently, don't compare lah

Nitrile

paid abt $700 for 1.67 zeiss digital with duravision blueprotect cotaing.. is that an ok price?

bberry

I'm looking around for Giorgio Armani frames, anyone know which shop(s) has wide range?

tia

TUV2008

digital and progressive is different leh

anyways, i paid $660, not $700

So if add progressive will exceed $1000??? Really expensive .

What is the meaning of digital I still catch no ball why lens must have digital ?

Nitrile

yr degrees very chin huh?? i was told about 500 bucks

Edit : paiseh, 500 is for office lens...my bad

my degree about 800+ on both sides, with astig.

minimum i can go for is 1.67

digital something like a "mini" progressive.. reduces eye strain when reading devices

xRenol

your prescription may not need to go that high for office lenses so erm.... ask around at your optician

2 single vision if you need 200 and below, non branded lenses you can consider owndays , they do $98 for 1.6 with frames, $30 top up and so on
or your neighbourhood shop near your home, likely within 5-10 mins walk
they'll generally cost less than 1-200 even for 1.67
unless you stay in orchard or holland village

3 $100 backsurface.... go JB make bah , progressives anything go wrong at least someone can adjust or answer for it
JB should have, $100
singapore some older shops already do $100+
but if you're wearing crizal/zeiss/hoya currently, don't compare lah

How is the quality by Owndays?

ralliart_ray

Bought a pair of Tincan recently, anyone have lens recommendation? (I always been on Crizal transition) for most of my specs, 500 degree each eyes, seeing if there are other options :(

main_OO6017-01_Tincan_Carbon-Satin-Chrome-Grey_001_33679_psd_hero.png

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.