The Spectacles Thread.

hwaa

tag is quite standard everywhere u go unless u gt friends in work in this line maybe can get staff price.

diamond96

Any idea what bout Porsche ?

Or any other brands to recommend ? with a budget around 500-600 for frame.

Would be doing Crizal lenses.

Seannie

i think my friend made the jap flex brand is DUN as well. but at that point of time i was abit shaking my head as its not that mainstream but its really light weight, lighter than tag iirc.

Hi hwaa, if you realise, i never like mainstream. I like to search for good alternatives, the exclusives. Dun is one such steal. It is light, flex but the look doesnt go that well with many people becos it look too simple. Only people who likes simplicity and go for the comfort factor will even consider Dun. Their aesthetic arent that fantastic or wow u on the first look.

Seannie

Any idea what bout Porsche ?

Or any other brands to recommend ? with a budget around 500-600 for frame.

Would be doing Crizal lenses.

Not sure wat u looking for in a spec. But if me, i look for spec maker brand and not some car maker brand. And i wont look for lens brand that spend so much $ advertising. I look for lens brand that always research & upgrade their products. Yes, u pay more but u oso get better quality. But to each his own.

Kenneth C

i think my friend made the jap flex brand is DUN as well. but at that point of time i was abit shaking my head as its not that mainstream but its really light weight, lighter than tag iirc.

Just bought a Dun frame. Light and comfy.

Seannie

if u wanna take a look at urban, can try visiting the causewaypoint branch. my friend got his specs there and the service is not bad.

if not just go look/see, they have some jap brands flex is quite good as well.

Yes! I made my linkskin at causeway branch too! Cio bu there. Service ok but its still a chain store, make sure they got do proper QC of your lens. There are some complaints that nanyang lenses not v clear not sure why but could be just isolated cases. Wish u all luck! Btw, they have Dun as well but not alot. They mostly carry euro brands.

Seannie

The brands I checked out were Silloutte, Swissflex, 999.9, DUN, Lindberg.
In the end I went for the cheapest, which was Swissflex, the "promotion" is $450 for frame+lens. I chose the AIR model, which is their slimmest rimless.
I liked many of the 999.9 frames too, but they were mostly 600~900 bucks, which is too much for me, considering that I just want to wear and forget, all-day, and have lost spectacles to the beach / sea many times.

999.9 frames are a tad heavy and for that price i dont think justifiable though its a hit in japan. Personally feel tat the designs are conservative & temple length bit short, if u google u will see that most of their models are 133 in length which is shorter than mkt standards. Maybe jap heads are smaller not sure. But what i dont like is the weight so end up nv own 999.9 but they are v exclusive here. What i heard is that those jap people actually will come down to the optical shop see whether fits their criteria before letting the shop carry its brand!

Swissflex is too light for me. There are mixed reviews. Sme say its too loose keep sliding down. Sme say its a darn good fit! I dunno wht dont you tell us how ur Swissflex feel after u got your pair? If u ask me, i have owned a swissflex before and mine kept sliding (plastic nosepad can hardly be adjusted). Same goes with steffan preutz. My gal had one & nv wear anymore after a few wears complain headache. I paid for her. Heartache!

igarashi

Hi need help on lens.
Went to Paris Miki, the staff recommend their in house lens call Junsai lens.
Which have a different coating to other brand which usually have a green coat overlay but the Junsai lens will not have this green tint.... Any comment on this Brand of lens?

WestGuy

Anyone here tried Owndays Air Ultem?

AIR Ultem |

Crazy flexibility and light at 9.4g :eek:

1097946_365641186871533_668005206_n.jpg

1098271_365640893538229_1962563302_n.jpg

kaon

Are "Free-form" and "Wavefront" "high definition" lenses available in SG?

I only read about this after confirming my spectacles at "W Optics" at Suntec. And they never offered Free-form / Wavefront to me.

If I am not wrong, these are a more precise process than simply choosing aspherical.

It involves measurements of how the chosen frame sits on your face so that the lens shape will take these into account.

Saw this link from optiboard thread: High-Definition Eyeglass Lenses Offer Sharper Vision

Seannie

I only read about this after confirming my spectacles at "W Optics" at Suntec. And they never offered Free-form / Wavefront to me.

"Virtually anyone who wears eyeglasses is a good candidate for high-definition eyeglass lenses, but individuals with higher eyeglass prescriptions may notice greater benefits than people with only mild prescriptions."

HOya Nulux EP is free form lenses lor, im using it.

"Though high-definition lenses cost more than conventional eyeglass lenses, many people who try them — particularly wearers who've been frustrated by a lack of crisp vision with glasses in the past — find free-form and wavefront lenses produce a noticeable improvement in clarity and comfort."

Hoya Nulux EP 1.67 - $550, I have astig above 200. Ever since i used freeform, i never look back. Threw away all other glasses.

Agamemnon

Most of the plastic frames on the market I tried are with fixed nose rest at the bridge. Usually these frames will touch my cheeks.

I was told that nowadays the nose rest can be shaved away & the shop can fix in normal nose pads into the frame so that it can rest more away from my face. Is this do-able & recommended? Or will it affect the integrity of the frame? I know this move would be permanent on the frame. Thanks!

kaon

HOya Nulux EP is free form lenses lor, im using it.
Hoya Nulux EP 1.67 - $550, I have astig above 200. Ever since i used freeform, i never look back. Threw away all other glasses.
Is $550 excluding the frame?
Can you remember what measurements they took to do your free-form lenses?
Which shop was it at?
Did they make measurements with you wearing your chosen frame?
Were the measurements taken after your chosen frame was adjusted to fit your face?

Anyone knows where to find lindberg?
A large shop called "W Optics" at Suntec has Lindberg.

ralliart12

...HOya Nulux EP is free form lenses lor...

So for anyone that choses the EP version, there will definitely be more measurements required to be taken, & the measurements have to be taken with the specific frame after the wearer dons the frame?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.