The Spectacles Thread.

Nakedtoes

IC!Berlin is recognised international brand. Its distinctive feature cannot escape just like tagheuer. Endorsed and worn by celebrity as well. Exudes class and style. Those 50% cheaper wu boh? Look 50% or 500% cheaper boh?

Oh yeah maybe their is made with platinum.... Maybe Rolex should make eye glass frame lor..lol..

Nakedtoes

Oakley from 8 years ago and now very different. Their quality now is bad and price also expensive, stay away. Materials and construction feels so cheap compared to the old days :(
The quality dun know drop since donkeys years
. Last time still got life time warranty ppl dun mind.. But their quality is lousy so ppl change until they lost money..

tecnica

Oakley from 8 years ago and now very different. Their quality now is bad and price also expensive, stay away. Materials and construction feels so cheap compared to the old days :(

The quality dun know drop since donkeys years
. Last time still got life time warranty ppl dun mind.. But their quality is lousy so ppl change until they lost money..

hmm in this case, what's a good alternative than? the square wire i had, was really built like a tank. i gone through a couple of frames already but the oakley was still standing tall until today. :s22:

noinimod

anyone heard of this brand called Hannes Tech? their design is same as Ic! Berlin but price is almost 50% cheaper.

came across hannes tech at one of the spec shops in westgate. did a little research and asked around and found out that Hannes Tech, despite its much lower price, is better than Ic! Berlin. Hannes Tech is made of titanium but Ic! Berlin made of stainless steel (according to shop owner and official website).

Only difference is Hannes Tech is made in Japan but Ic! Berlin is made in Germany. Any bros got experience with Hannes Tech :)
I think i tried this brand at one of the optical shops in bugis.

The paint work doesn't feel as refined compared to ic berlin, and the hinge design is not as good, Ic Berlin's hinge feels more rugged and durable. It doesn't have the same 'executive' aesthetic as ic berlin and the look appeals more to the young crowd.

I don't think that the titanium offers any benefit over stainless steel in this application because they are all very light. In fact, i think the ic berlin frames are even lighter because the frames are cut much thinner.

There's another shop at the basement of westgate that sells ic berlin. They have a wide variety of the latest collection, you can check them out.

hmm in this case, what's a good alternative than? the square wire i had, was really built like a tank. i gone through a couple of frames already but the oakley was still standing tall until today. :s22:
What kind of look are you going for? Budget for frame alone? Need the spectacles to be built like tank?

tecnica

What kind of look are you going for? Budget for frame alone? Need the spectacles to be built like tank?

i'm like 300 degree per eye, asti is like 50, cant rmb..

going for clean streamline look, dun like complicated design.. must be durable, cannot be like my nike frame, change 2x until i give up and spend money on another pair of specs.. :s22:

budget for frame maybe abt 400? another 200 for transition lenses? of cos if can save a bit, then will be good lor.. :o

Citiguy

Matsuda too hard to find and too ex .. If not can consider. Not gonna spend 1k+ on glasses just yet

Yes! Eyewear at Suntec used to sell Matsuda frames. Nice designs, but my pair corroded easily due to perspiration. Changed it as it was under warranty.

XasakuraX

need some advice.

current specs is Matsuba frameless, not sure how gd this brand is, but it is supposedly b-titanium but i still find it heavy :/

still got what brands got lighter frames?
my lens alrdy those super thin high index [iirc is 1.67 lens?].

aiming for those kinda professional sleek look.

Shalomp

I think i tried this brand at one of the optical shops in bugis.

The paint work doesn't feel as refined compared to ic berlin, and the hinge design is not as good, Ic Berlin's hinge feels more rugged and durable. It doesn't have the same 'executive' aesthetic as ic berlin and the look appeals more to the young crowd.

I don't think that the titanium offers any benefit over stainless steel in this application because they are all very light. In fact, i think the ic berlin frames are even lighter because the frames are cut much thinner.

There's another shop at the basement of westgate that sells ic berlin. They have a wide variety of the latest collection, you can check them out.
i went to that shop too in westgate. IC berlin is everywhere actually.

im surprised that u would say that about the hinge cos i actually feel the total opposite. IC berlin's hinge feels very "rough" whereas hannes tech is so much smoother. I don't know about the aesthetic part cos honestly, they look exactly the same which is why hannes tech openly acknowledges on their website that their design is patented in Germany (probably short for saying they copied the exact design from ic berlin, don't sue me for libel!).

im not sure which is thinner, ic berlin or hannes tech but i doubt its even humanly noticeable by naked eye. Like i said, both designs look exactly the same. All that for almost 50% cheaper! :eek:

striker22

Actually there are at least 10 different types of screwless hinge design on the market, IC berlin alone has 2-3 different hinge designs based on progressive improvements. Some have tried older ones and their reviews are based on that. There are advantages and disadvantages to all of them.

At the thickness of 0.5mm, there is going to be no difference in the weight regardless of stainless steel or titanium.

Most important thing is to choose one that fits well above all else. If anything, i tend to find asian manfuacturers accomodate low/ flat nosebridge better. Dun be fooled by any shop that is to eager to sell you stuff and say the fit can be adjusted. There is a limit to how much they can adjust it. You want one that fits well pretty much off the shelf.

noinimod

i went to that shop too in westgate. IC berlin is everywhere actually.
Yea, but only that westgate branch has all the latest models. Almost all the other optical shops i called up or visited don't have the latest stuff, or only have a few.

IC berlin's hinge feels very "rough" whereas hannes tech is so much smoother. I don't know about the aesthetic part cos honestly, they look exactly the same which is why hannes tech openly acknowledges on their website that their design is patented in Germany (probably short for saying they copied the exact design from ic berlin, don't sue me for libel!).
I think you mean to say the berlin hinge is more 'clicky' in nature, with a distinct open-close action without any in-between position. Mykita's hinge is even more 'rough'.

The hannes tech hinge quality feels a lot like the Urband hinge - doesn't inspire confidence in its durability.

tecnica: Can go kwong shin to try out different brands. Their prices very reasonable.

tecnica

Thanks, will take time to check the stuffs out. I stay near Westgate, maybe will drop by to ssrr first.

Kwong Shin in Bugis? Got ic Berlin and all?

noinimod

Thanks, will take time to check the stuffs out. I stay near Westgate, maybe will drop by to ssrr first.

Kwong Shin in Bugis? Got ic Berlin and all?
It's the basement westgate optical shop, near isetan. There's another one at the higher level, also selling ic berlin. But prices are quite high, as you would expect from this kind of places. I got quoted 820 with zeiss 1.6 lens at the basement store. Quite a few places can get mid 700 and less than 800 if you bargain. Can see this page for the list of shops that carry. But got other brands you can check out. Just try to stay away from those fashion brands if you can, like those under luxottica group, expensive for the quality. It's a shame that many optical shops in SG only sell those kind of brands now :(

If you want to get transition, get the zeiss photofusion. Got big difference in the clarity and coating quality. Especially for you, being photography enthusiast, you deserve quality lens ;)

Kwong shin at bras besah basement, the art friend/swee lee building. They do have ic berlin, but very little models and it's all the old ones. They also have a few Mykita models, can try those out. Price more reasonable than those westgate shops, can bargain a bit.

Stay away from the toa payoh optical shop that sells ic berlin. You google toa payoh ic berlin you know which one liao. Bad service.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.