The Spectacles Thread.

ahboy82

plastic frame, even u buy new ones, also already tio scratched before you wear them. i think bo bian eh. aiya buy cheap is the best la. now specs change like accessory like that. One pair u wear how long? 5, 10 years meh?

i typically change every 2-3 years/

dun get so exp ones la. seng li offers good price, 300-400 can get a branded one liao.

ahboy82

yup exactly. 1 pair expensive cost 400-500 bucks u can buy 3-4 pairs cheap, maybe even more if u buy online. I change specs every 2-3 years so really pointless investing large sum on branded frames. Also even u buy the most costly branded frame to haolian, its not like anybody will actually take notice and come up to you and ask "wah, what brand specs you wearing?"

not abt haolian la. sometimes u just like it. ok maybe i am brand *****.............:s13:

Seannie

i typically change every 2-3 years/

dun get so exp ones la. seng li offers good price, 300-400 can get a branded one liao.

owndays cheaper or seng li cheaper? seng li QC ok or not?

300-400 not cheap leh.. i thinking of 200+ max

owndays got plastic frames or not? And where is it located?? :s11:

ahboy82

owndays cheaper or seng li cheaper? seng li QC ok or not?

300-400 not cheap leh.. i thinking of 200+ max

owndays got plastic frames or not? And where is it located?? :s11:

I went owndays le. Didnt find any nice plus can get cheaper in neighbourhood loh

Anyway seng li quite gd prices la. 300-400 is for premium brands like prada ferragamo etc i still trying to find time go there

noobzpro

I dont mind spending on plastic frames especially if they have a nice history and are handmade...

Inzaghi009

I went owndays le. Didnt find any nice plus can get cheaper in neighbourhood loh

Anyway seng li quite gd prices la. 300-400 is for premium brands like prada ferragamo etc i still trying to find time go there

I have shortlisted a $350 Gucci frame which I like it a lot, but as what you said their branded eyewear are in the range of 300-400, does that mean it is pointless to visit them? please advise. thank you.

Seannie

Ahboy when u go sengli help me ask the aunty what local lens brand they have? Mine now is OS, previously known as KV, lastime called ILT. Thanks.

Waa gucci, prada all 300+ after discount? I think too ex le, if just plastic frane. Armani oni $200 at woodlands. I suppose D&G also $300-400? Then i donwan le..

ahboy82

I have shortlisted a $350 Gucci frame which I like it a lot, but as what you said their branded eyewear are in the range of 300-400, does that mean it is pointless to visit them? please advise. thank you.

my range of 300-400 is based on my own experience and my frens experience at seng li.

and maybe i wasnt clear. 300-400 plus is frame plus lens all in. hoya lens. but my degree isnt high to begin with la.

example: my gucci frame (metallic) with hoya lens cost like 410. my fren's ferragamo (metallic) with hoya lens cost like 450. another fren prada frame (plastic) with hoya lens cost like 380.

so these are the kind of prices u can expect to get.

ahboy82

Ahboy when u go sengli help me ask the aunty what local lens brand they have? Mine now is OS, previously known as KV, lastime called ILT. Thanks.

Waa gucci, prada all 300+ after discount? I think too ex le, if just plastic frane. Armani oni $200 at woodlands. I suppose D&G also $300-400? Then i donwan le..

let me know the prices at woodlands can? i want to know roughly the price of hoya lens or normal lens with those branded plastic frames like prada, gucci etc. then i can judge from there............

noobzpro

let me know the prices at woodlands can? i want to know roughly the price of hoya lens or normal lens with those branded plastic frames like prada, gucci etc. then i can judge from there............

bro kwong shin quote me 360 for zeiss photofusion. pricing correct anot? any more expensive lenses non custom or is zeiss the most exp le

ahboy82

bro kwong shin quote me 360 for zeiss photofusion. pricing correct anot? any more expensive lenses non custom or is zeiss the most exp le

Gt to ask seannie liao. As far as i noe, zeiss is most exp. my atas fren also said the same thing...

noobzpro

Gt to ask seannie liao. As far as i noe, zeiss is most exp. my atas fren also said the same thing...

Ah ok thanks bro!

@Seannie

Bro! 360 for zeiss photofusion consider ok bo? Thanks in advance. Cheers.

Seannie

Oh, if include lens then seng li is cheap bah, depends yur lens cost how much, just for armani frame is $200 at woodlands. Lens wise cannot compare becos mine is high power unbranded lens. I think seng li ok can hoot.

Seannie

I duno leh i dont use zeiss lens and yes they are more exoensive than hoya. Dont think there is need for me use branded lens anymore & no $ to burn as well. No brand lens just as good for me since i change often.

But i really think plastic frames are better leh. Can cover alot of thickness & no nosepad hassles or adjustment needed. Just put on & go. Rugged also ok. :)

Seannie

I hope China will come out with their brand of lenses so that good & cheap kill off all the nikon, zeiss, hoya, essilor let them die pain pain :p

ahboy82

I duno leh i dont use zeiss lens and yes they are more exoensive than hoya. Dont think there is need for me use branded lens anymore & no $ to burn as well. No brand lens just as good for me since i change often.

But i really think plastic frames are better leh. Can cover alot of thickness & no nosepad hassles or adjustment needed. Just put on & go. Rugged also ok. :)

yes i dun want those with the nose pad or what u call it. i dun like the pressure on my nose....

Seannie

pleasantly surprised that tagheuer, starck eyes have also come out with plastic frames! starck eyes as usual cant really fit asian faces, have not tried tagheuer yet, but dont look as fantatastic as oakley crosslink

ahboy82

pleasantly surprised that tagheuer, starck eyes have also come out with plastic frames! starck eyes as usual cant really fit asian faces, have not tried tagheuer yet, but dont look as fantatastic as oakley crosslink

ahboy, oakley Crosslink swee boh no nosepads pressure? i went to try it on..damn stylo

:s12:

tag heuer and oaklay? u try liao can tell me? i scare they overpriced in SG leh.........

esp tag heuer.......:s22::s22::s22: i not willing to spend more than 500 on a spec with lens. if more than 500 i might as well buy oliver peoples.......:s22:

noobzpro

Reasons why I nvr buy tag Heuer last year. There is problems with the rubber parts melting and becoming sticky..somehow it's cheaper locally than in France. Also nose bridge for me is very painful recently. Thus decided on plastic vintage frames. Tried starck and Oliver people too. Stack is about the same as tag so gave it a pass. Oliver people quality imo not there because currently machine made in Italy unless u get their vintage range handmade in Japan.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.