The Spectacles Thread.

xialankia

I believed the lady lor...if can be clearer, then I dun mind paying the extra 90 bucks assuming it's spread over 4 years of use. But if they had listed lower prices for the Essilor lens then I would have chosen that instead.

Still feel cheated. Think I'll go back to ask why the prices are so high. But I dunno how much other shops will charge for Essilor 1.6/1.67 lenses for high degree. Anyone know?

I saw crizal lenses on the list also, looked quite expensive but I dun remember the exact prices. Sigh.
My essilor crizal was included in the frame price didn't know how much it should be but I must say really quite clear super not used to it(subjective thingy, exceeded my expectation) , maybe coz I wore my scratched glasses for too long already=.=
Its supposedly quite scratch resistant donoe how true only time will tell, quite ideal for me since I quite chor lor with my specs
I got the free zeiss lens cleaner set too I assume they got give you also supposed to come free with your lens

xialankia

spectacles shop are such profitable biz, i counted my HDB homeland area with 10 over shops within a space of each other :s22:
Yeah my dad's friend owns a spec shop, I used to make my old specs with the uncle, my first spec was like 38bux with lens some years ago, den 68bux for an ellesee, tot some ulu pandan brand till I saw the jay chou poster recently... But stop making there as I get more expensive frames, Didn't want to get nagged by my dad thou its my own money=S (hes quite thrifty)

wow realise I massive OOT..
I meant to say the uncle tell me the cost price of the lens is super low, same for the frames where the premium is on the brand...
When I was working in some company distributing luxury products den i realise the cost price/intercopx/ex-works for such stuffs in general was sooooOooo frigging low =O enuff for quite afew ppl to take a cut and still earn

buggerbuggerbrinjal

u got authenticity card not? Zeiss have de leh.
Not yet delievered, but thanks, I'll demand auth. card from them.

My essilor crizal was included in the frame price didn't know how much it should be but I must say really quite clear super not used to it(subjective thingy, exceeded my expectation) , maybe coz I wore my scratched glasses for too long already=.=
Its supposedly quite scratch resistant donoe how true only time will tell, quite ideal for me since I quite chor lor with my specs
I got the free zeiss lens cleaner set too I assume they got give you also supposed to come free with your lens
Hope to get it also. I hope Zeiss is as clear as they claim, since I think it cost even more than the Crizal...

I called up a few shops today, they quoted me similar prices for the Essilor and Zeiss, so maybe I didn't get chopped. Just that choosing an expensive brand = kena chop already :s13:

warhunter

Yeah my dad's friend owns a spec shop, I used to make my old specs with the uncle, my first spec was like 38bux with lens some years ago, den 68bux for an ellesee, tot some ulu pandan brand till I saw the jay chou poster recently... But stop making there as I get more expensive frames, Didn't want to get nagged by my dad thou its my own money=S (hes quite thrifty)

wow realise I massive OOT..
I meant to say the uncle tell me the cost price of the lens is super low, same for the frames where the premium is on the brand...
When I was working in some company distributing luxury products den i realise the cost price/intercopx/ex-works for such stuffs in general was sooooOooo frigging low =O enuff for quite afew ppl to take a cut and still earn

not to mention that rent in singapore is friggingly HIGH. no matter how much they earn they must still cover for the 20k and above rent per month.

xialankia

not to mention that rent in singapore is friggingly HIGH. no matter how much they earn they must still cover for the 20k and above rent per month.
Yeah the rent is insane, but as a consumer I'm sure u wana pay less too! Most shop will offer you a discount within their means i guess...

foolwrong

I recently went to a shop in jurong point to check the Tag Heuer Panorama Series. They told me that the clear lens alone cost 1000++ as the lens are made from Tag Heuer. Can anyone verify what the optician said is true ????

warhunter

I recently went to a shop in jurong point to check the Tag Heuer Panorama Series. They told me that the clear lens alone cost 1000++ as the lens are made from Tag Heuer. Can anyone verify what the optician said is true ????

yes its true. No one else make that one piece of lens. LOL. will cost a bomb to buy that

AMD_FREAK

I am trying to get a low-priced Tag Heuer reflex 3006 chocolate-brown frame, but it cost around S$600 in SG.

Went to City Square in JB today, and they only sell it for around S$380 BUT they don't have the stocks because reflex is quite an old series, so quantity is very limited.. Must wait at least 3 months for the stocks to go to that particular shop's supplier. Another shop in City Square has the stock and is selling it for around S$450. Too expensive, and they couldn't reduce the price.

Anybody knows if anywhere else can I call in JB which carry Tag Heuer? Really wish to get it asap.

Otherwise, is Hong Kong cheaper? Because my sis is there now, and I could ask her to get it for me.

Thanks guys! :)

bangkibong

They sell Panorama? I thought Panorama is 2 lens made look like 1 lens. I have Panorama sunglass. Yes the lens usually is made by Tag heuer and the price is around there. But I have asked my optician before and ask him to checkk whether his lab can custom made the Panorama lens for me. He checked and said it is possible, but as degree is too high, it will look ugly and I didn't proceed to make it.

By the way the clear lens is it thin? Cos I know they let us choose several type, curve, not curved, clear or sunglass

kgoh88

Hmm, i just bought an Oakley Dictate 2.0 with 1.67index lenses for $600, is that an ok deal? My degree for both eyes are arnd 1100 each.

xialankia

yes its true. No one else make that one piece of lens. LOL. will cost a bomb to buy that

I was quoted about 1.1-1.3k depending on the tint for it... think too exp forget it=S
the guy tell me quite cheap laioz *faints*.. the lens donoe must craft where one=.=

Dun see any shop carrying it anyways

bangkibong

I was quoted about 1.1-1.3k depending on the tint for it... think too exp forget it=S
the guy tell me quite cheap laioz *faints*.. the lens donoe must craft where one=.=

Dun see any shop carrying it anyways

is it just the lens? or including frame?

Sparky894

how much does the Oakley Gascan eyewear cost in SG?

how much does it cost to fit the Gascan with prescription lenses?

490f61628fdd9.jpg

I am thinking of fitting the Oakley Gascan with clear prescription lenses so that I can use it as a normal eyeglasses. see pix below for example:

3949800846_0ce1fb6468_b.jpg

jacqqq

hi guys , think of making a new spec....

any good shop to recommend?

now what type of good lens are in the market ah?

last time i using the nikon 1.67 one...

evets

how much does the Oakley Gascan eyewear cost in SG?

how much does it cost to fit the Gascan with prescription lenses?

490f61628fdd9.jpg

I am thinking of fitting the Oakley Gascan with clear prescription lenses so that I can use it as a normal eyeglasses. see pix below for example:

3949800846_0ce1fb6468_b.jpg

stylo milo sia....

but the white pair really makes the guy's tooth stand out in a not so glam way! lol

RiDdLEr

Old Lens with New Frames?

Hi guys,

i am new to this thread, was wondering if it's worth to retain the old lens and just change to new frames?

my lens are abt 1 yr old and paid 200+ for the transitions version....

any advice?

warhunter

Hi guys,

i am new to this thread, was wondering if it's worth to retain the old lens and just change to new frames?

my lens are abt 1 yr old and paid 200+ for the transitions version....

any advice?

LOL CAN. abit hard lo. get one similar shape slightly smaller then they will help u cut and fit in lo.

warhunter

They sell Panorama? I thought Panorama is 2 lens made look like 1 lens. I have Panorama sunglass. Yes the lens usually is made by Tag heuer and the price is around there. But I have asked my optician before and ask him to checkk whether his lab can custom made the Panorama lens for me. He checked and said it is possible, but as degree is too high, it will look ugly and I didn't proceed to make it.

By the way the clear lens is it thin? Cos I know they let us choose several type, curve, not curved, clear or sunglass

LOL panorama lenses have to be cut by tag heuer only. labs in singapore do not cut these kind of lenses.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.