The Spectacles Thread.

Ysatis

i guess is not the hype..

is just pple feeling comfortable wearing it because of the material and of cos the brand.

just like oakley..
go everywhere also pple wear cos it's durable and alot choices to choose from...

things just can't be unique...
when pple find out it's good, more and more pple will get .

i think more people wearing oakley than tag

Joelleyuan

I made my Hoya 1.67 AS-MC (475/575) for S$110. We (colleagues & family) thought it's a very reasonable price.

My colleague, whose 'degree' is lower (200, both sides, I think) was quote between S$50-S$80 (sorry, I can't remember exactly). We thought it's pretty resonable too.

Something additional, the last I check (last Sat.), Hoya 1.70, for my prescription, was S$280 ! So, naturally, I stick to 1.67 for my new frame ..... :)

Hi, no offense, but HOYA lens at $110 is incredible leh. They normally cost
more than Nikon lens. Are you very sure they gave you Hoya lens? Do
they give cert for Hoya lens?
I just made a pair of Nikon lens (1.67, degree 500-600) last month and it
cost me $250 (lens alone). The shop gave me a cert (like an ezlink card
like that lol) for it.

Hope someone can clarify me on Hoya lens' pricing. Thanks. :)

atypical

yup, the lens comes with a cert/card (like a ezlink card) with the Date of Issue, Lens Type, Optical Shop Name, some kind of reference number, and my prescription details.

Soon Lee Optical is more like your neighbourhood optical shop of the 1970s/80s, than your Insight or Paris Miki.

I know it sounds unreal, but I prefer to wonder how much I have been over-charged all these years ...... hahahahaa .....

Joelleyuan

yup, the lens comes with a cert/card (like a ezlink card) with the Date of Issue, Lens Type, Optical Shop Name, some kind of reference number, and my prescription details.

Soon Lee Optical is more like your neighbourhood optical shop of the 1970s/80s, then your Insight or Paris Miki.

I know it sounds unreal, but I prefer to wonder how much I have been over-charged all these years ...... hahahahaa .....

Thanks atypical.

Ya, we're easily over-charged on LENS as i heard and after checking out
many many optical shops recently.
Where's this Soon Lee Optical again?
Izzit Sim Lim TOWER? not to be confused with Sim Lim SQUARE right?

atypical

TOWER, yesh, sir. :) Look for Alex. But his sister (I've forgotten the name) also very friendly.

The lens prices here varies quite greatly one hor?

EmPtYsOuLz

Pardon me, but i really don't understand the hype about Tag Heuer frames. What's so fantastic about them? I find them much over-rated and over-priced. In Sg, in particular ..... haiz .....

hmm then any particular brand to recommend?

think i'll go back to wearing glasses....interested to get a pair of rimless
contacts not kind to my eyes lol

Joelleyuan

The lens prices here varies quite greatly one hor?
Sure! Just 1.67 lens (for my high degree) you can get quoted from $90 to $220, and u hear all sorts of brands. Some will tell you their lens are from Japan, then the cheap ones they wont say from where just tell you brand name and lately i heard they're from China lor..... and some of them get
spider web VERY easily.....
And above $220 one can go all the way up to $500+++, like what essilor, nikon, SEIKO, crizal, etc etc etc ..................

*faints*

atypical

hmm then any particular brand to recommend?

think i'll go back to wearing glasses....interested to get a pair of rimless
contacts not kind to my eyes lol

That's a tough one, coz there's a gazillions brands out there ..... But I try to go for frame maker frames, not designer, or brand frames. I'm not saying the later are no good, please don't be mistaken. Sometimes, the line is also very blur ......

We put price aside.

I think Giorgio Armani frames are very well made. But I think we can't find them here anymore. Pity.

Spivvy, ic! Berlin and Japonism are a few that I find pretty solid.

But I am currently wearing :
Kame Mannen saddle-bridge in titanium,
Kio Yamato,
999.9 saddle-bridge in acetate, and
2 Tai Hachiro Kinsei.

I'm not a fan of rim-less.

edmwwmde

The whole spec costs me $859, $230 for the lens while $629 for frame after a 15% discount. I got it from Ion's Bejewelled after a friend recommended me. Imo the staffs there are quite friendly and they provide good services. :s13:

damn, luckily I did not get the pair tonight... I was looking at the same frame, mate, but the SA told me they did not give any discount on Tag frames...

they actually gave you 15% off? Also the Zeiss lenses only cost you $230? The SA showed me some nikon lenses, which cost $800 and above...

Nevertheless, the people there are pretty friendly and they give good advice too, I bought my contact lenses from them.

edmwwmde

my alain mikli (taken by iPhone, thus poor quality):

IMG_0109.JPG

EmPtYsOuLz

That's a tough one, coz there's a gazillions brands out there ..... But I try to go for frame maker frames, not designer, or brand frames. I'm not saying the later are no good, please don't be mistaken. Sometimes, the line is also very blur ......

We put price aside.

I think Giorgio Armani frames are very well made. But I think we can't find them here anymore. Pity.

Kio Yamato,
2 Tai Hachiro Kinsei.

checked out the brands you listed
love the Berlin eyewear! especially the bottom half rims
a pity a search revealed that its only available locally at eyeplay
and it'll prob cost me an arm and leg

any recommendations for glasses (lens included) under 500?

xKomon

damn, luckily I did not get the pair tonight... I was looking at the same frame, mate, but the SA told me they did not give any discount on Tag frames...

they actually gave you 15% off? Also the Zeiss lenses only cost you $230? The SA showed me some nikon lenses, which cost $800 and above...

Nevertheless, the people there are pretty friendly and they give good advice too, I bought my contact lenses from them.

Which Optical shop did you went to? Yup 15 % off and $230 because I was given the same discount as my friend that's why I guess.

polke.

We put price aside.

Kio Yamato,
2 Tai Hachiro Kinsei.

good selection!

i'm only wearing two pairs currently, by Dita and Oliver Goldsmith.

atypical

checked out the brands you listed
love the Berlin eyewear! especially the bottom half rims
a pity a search revealed that its only available locally at eyeplay
and it'll prob cost me an arm and leg

any recommendations for glasses (lens included) under 500?

ic! Berlin is expensive, but so are a lot of mediore, but big brand ones. I'm sure there are good frames below 500$. What's your style/frame type preference? Give us some requirements, I'm sure the lot of guys here (including me) can help you out.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.