The Spectacles Thread.

2pm2am

yeh..was shocked they reduce the price like almost half... but also becus the shop owner is i know 1 ..lol

like that you must say you know the shop owner that's why you can get this kind of price. if not when people read your post than go there ask for same thing cannot get the same price how ?

for what you get, cheapest also at least 1K ( that is if you don't know the shop owner :s8:)

2pm2am

nikon seecoat is not clearer than hoya sft.

I have both. I can testify to that.

Hoya sft will forever be my present & future choice unless a better alternative comes into the market.

And double aspheric is alot better than single aspheric. Once i got used to the double aspheric clarity, there is no way i can U-turn back to single aspheric becos it will feel v "blur" otherwise. Just like once you upgrade to a condo i think v hard for you to adjust back to a hdb. Is this unhealthy??

I do not know whether this is true for all power prexcriptions. Anyone can enlighten?

double aspheric is generally beneficial for higher prescription like yours.

jemtxy

the boss is a good person and easy to talk to one... even if not i know him..i believe he will still give a reasonable discount :) yeh sorry about that part of knowing him..but not directly also..just that my fren's mom is his friend as well...

but ! i do believe the boss will give reasonable discount thou...the shop is small and not those big chains 1....and hes the only optician in at area.

woodlands woodgrove..u can take bus 912 over there..nearest mrt sld be marsiling and woodlands...

jemtxy

where is this woodlands woodgrove. Near to woodlands mrt?

Will the boss give 50% discount for hoya lens as well? Can check for us?

hoya...nope. he wont give 50%...cos when i made this berlin..he recommended the hoya lens..but in e end it was 1k for the lens itself.

frames wise they have discount 20% for students...10% for non-students... then lens..u must talk and try to bargain till u seem ok and they are willing to give as well. they have been opened for 6years+ in that area and is still doing well..not like the other opticians previously that close too fast...

Nucleus

Hiya,

Thanks for the feedback. Yes, i agree that Nikon and Zeiss starting price is higher. Hoya for 1.6 the shop quoted me $200 before disc and Zeiss and Nikon was about $240 before disc.

Hi there, many thanks for really taking the time to answer all my queries.

1) Ill get two pairs. I'm considering just replacing the lens on my old spectacles. considering that option now.

2) Right, I'm off Oakley and it does seem that the frames are getting more expensive.

3) Lady at the shop was recommending a cheaper brand titanium frame lens. so i tried a few and then requested to try a few branded ones. preferred the cheaper brand one though and bought it .

4) i went for Zeiss in the end.

5) understood.

6) true... that was what happened and i had to go back and request for some changes to be made on the frame.

In the end, although i put in a budget of $600, i spent a little more than half that amount. $350. got a reasonable looking frame. lighter than my old 'wood' frame and with Zeiss lenses.

I'm pretty happy about it but lets see how it goes.

Thanks all for your feedback...

xiaokaka

get double aspherical design lens?

Thinnest in the market should be Tokai's 1.76 Bi-Aspheric Lens..

Very high price point so not sure if u feel if ur comfortable with.

Last i remembered was around $2k - $2.4k

xiaokaka

Hiya,

Thanks for the feedback. Yes, i agree that Nikon and Zeiss starting price is higher. Hoya for 1.6 the shop quoted me $200 before disc and Zeiss and Nikon was about $240 before disc.

Hi there, many thanks for really taking the time to answer all my queries.

1) Ill get two pairs. I'm considering just replacing the lens on my old spectacles. considering that option now.

2) Right, I'm off Oakley and it does seem that the frames are getting more expensive.

3) Lady at the shop was recommending a cheaper brand titanium frame lens. so i tried a few and then requested to try a few branded ones. preferred the cheaper brand one though and bought it .

4) i went for Zeiss in the end.

5) understood.

6) true... that was what happened and i had to go back and request for some changes to be made on the frame.

In the end, although i put in a budget of $600, i spent a little more than half that amount. $350. got a reasonable looking frame. lighter than my old 'wood' frame and with Zeiss lenses.

I'm pretty happy about it but lets see how it goes.

Thanks all for your feedback...

Glad to be of help..

Once ur specs rdy, post some pics?

2pm2am

hoya...nope. he wont give 50%...cos when i made this berlin..he recommended the hoya lens..but in e end it was 1k for the lens itself.

frames wise they have discount 20% for students...10% for non-students... then lens..u must talk and try to bargain till u seem ok and they are willing to give as well. they have been opened for 6years+ in that area and is still doing well..not like the other opticians previously that close too fast...

I find it weird. if the shop owner can give you more than 50% discount for crizal 1.74, I don't understand why he can't give you the same for Hoya 1.74 .

He only quote you RRP for Hoya 1.74 at $1000, how come he did not quote you RRP for crizal ??? which I believe should be around $500 to $600 + ....

So did he really want to sell you Hoya lens or crizal lens ??? he could have quoted you a high price of Hoya 1.74 to discourage you from getting Hoya.

This is a sales tactic used by many salesman to sell their house brand products (cos they earn more commission) rather than branded products.

DaRkXiDe

Can someone give me ccomment on the Staffan Preutz Eyewear as it look slim and in light weight in some web adv lor. Hmm....intend to get a pair but wondering is it expensive:s11::s11:. Mayb someone can recommend where to get a cheaper range one =:p=:p or you want to sell me yours :s13::s13:

SPD cost about 400+ onwards. If you want cheaper range one, look for synergy about 200$ also using NXT material.

jemtxy

I find it weird. if the shop owner can give you more than 50% discount for crizal 1.74, I don't understand why he can't give you the same for Hoya 1.74 .

He only quote you RRP for Hoya 1.74 at $1000, how come he did not quote you RRP for crizal ??? which I believe should be around $500 to $600 + ....

So did he really want to sell you Hoya lens or crizal lens ??? he could have quoted you a high price of Hoya 1.74 to discourage you from getting Hoya.

This is a sales tactic used by many salesman to sell their house brand products (cos they earn more commission) rather than branded products.

he never quote the price..he jus show me the catalog for hoya lens with pricing.. actually he also encouraged me to get hoya to go along with the frames, saying his wife is the using the lens as well. however the price was too steep and my budget wasnt that high for lens as well. true..maybe for hoya, he cant go tooooo low becos the distributor dun wanna lose much. but then, im just telling the peeps here that theres a shop there and they can give it a try to see whats the best price the shop can offer compared to others :)

and yes..he did quote me the RRP for crizal..which is about 550.

xiaokaka

he never quote the price..he jus show me the catalog for hoya lens with pricing.. actually he also encouraged me to get hoya to go along with the frames, saying his wife is the using the lens as well. however the price was too steep and my budget wasnt that high for lens as well. true..maybe for hoya, he cant go tooooo low becos the distributor dun wanna lose much. but then, im just telling the peeps here that theres a shop there and they can give it a try to see whats the best price the shop can offer compared to others :)

and yes..he did quote me the RRP for crizal..which is about 550.

RRP for crizal advance Asp 1.74 is ~$400-$420

RRP for Nikon Seecoat Asp 1.74 is $488

RRP for Carl Zeiss Lotutec 1.74 Asp is $560

So for Hoya 1.74 to be $1k should mean that it's not a normal Aspherical 1.74 design.

jemtxy

So for Hoya 1.74 to be $1k should mean that it's not a normal Aspherical 1.74 design.

the price he quoted was for astig of 250..cos mine is 250, not 200.. :)

StanII

hi guys,

is it normal for crizal advance lenses to not have the airmark or watermark present? I went to ask the shop staff again and was told that it might have been cut off while cutting the shape out.

I was given the card when I collected my specs which is the certificate of authenticity, just worrying that I paid a premium over normal lenses but I didn't get what I paid for thus this question keeps hovering on my mind.

Any advices?

2pm2am

yes. the hoya 1.74 is a double aspherical Rx lens, that explains the high RRP.

Panerex

how is it possible to clean your lenses with plain water without wetting the specs frame?

Was being advised to do so by the spec shop assistant for my Crizal and Hoya lenses.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.