The Spectacles Thread.

Heidel

actually you are right. they won't close shop by selling the tokai modecinq lens with a RRP of $950 to you for $450. that is if they only sell it to you at that price but charges other people the RRP or there about. The RRP is $950 provided by the supplier but you get it at $450. so who is trying to rip the consumer off, the supplier or the shop ? Think about it, RRP $950 and you getting it at more than 50% discount. if something is too good to be true, it usually is. i will probably think twice if out of 5 shops give me RRP of $950 but only one shop give me a price of $450 for the same product. Tokai have RRP too, maybe you can ask them to show you the price list. if you are able to get a 50% off the price list for their other Tokai lens, then you really "kio tio". and if you start recommending your relatives and friends to that shop and they are forced to sell the modecinq lens at $450, then jia lat....I say good luck to them.
Usually it's optical shops who anyhow shout price and then give you 50% discount giving optical shops a bad image. and these are usually the old school optical shops.

there is a reason why they do the demo and give you complimentary eye tests. because they were hoping they can impress you with their latest technology and hopefully will change your mind and buy lenses from them. well you didn't take the bait, too bad for them. You valued their customer service yet you didn't buy the lenses from them because you think you can get it cheaper elsewehere. in the end , it still boils down to price and not the service.

Next time you need an eye test (just eye test, you not going to buy glasses), if you go to another shop and that shop tells you they will charge you for eye tests, will you pay for it ?? or will you go to that shop that give you free eye test ? well if you can get it for free, why pay , right ?

You still don't get it do you? And you still don't believe it. All your assumption are wrong. I am not the only one getting this price. I have seen the price list, all the price lists are transparent/open for any customer to see. Other customers are also getting this price. Period.

Seannie

does anyone know of optical shops which provide touch up services for chipped paint for plastic frames. The temple area of my frames have its paint peeled off after 3 years, though getting a new frame but would like to touch up the old one

Thanks

If you like the frame, just wear it lor, paint sure drop off after sometime, as long the frame still good, no need change a new one. Get a new frame unless you see one tat you really like.

sgtoot

hi all, can u all recommend some specs shop?...i am looking to get a new pair of specs but i dont really like the old shop i went to at toa payoh..

therat

hmm actually now lesser & lesser ple are making glasses alry due to the heavy weight as compared to plastic lenses. Anyway, did you noe tat there is even 1.9 index glass now? Actually the thiiner the glass the better so tat weight is also controlled to the minimum, even if your power is not tat high. Should not have listened to the lens vendor. If you had wanted index 1.8, then insist on it & not accept the vendor's rubbish.

I can't stand the scratches on the plastic lens.
Compare scratches and weight. I don't mind a bit heavy.

I didn't know has 1.9 index.

My next spec, I will ask for 1.9 index.

How about the lens reflect colour?
Any thought?

Seannie

hi all, can u all recommend some specs shop?...i am looking to get a new pair of specs but i dont really like the old shop i went to at toa payoh..

try another shop at toa payoh. There are at least 20 shops there.

Seannie

Secret Revealed

There are many obscure tools for adjusting your glasses, some used to a lesser or greater extent by the opticians on the high street.
Here we explore one of the most common spectacles adjustment processes. A chap once said “With all of your years in optics you must have secrets, some possibly even a trifle guilty, which you have never revealed. How about telling, perhaps even publishing some of them?”

“Certainly not , those secrets, especially the guilty ones will go to the grave. Such revelation would implicate many opticians”

And so the chap is prepared to reveal, not all, but just one of the many deceptions visited on a daily basis upon the unsuspecting and wholly trusting members of the public.

“My glasses are a little uncomfortable, could you adjust them for me” requests the unsuspecting and wholly trusting member of the public (hereinafter, in the interest of brevity, referred to as the u&wtmotp).

“Certainly, Sir/Madam” replies the courteous and diligent optician.

/Aside/ “they look alright to me, not much I can do to improve them.” And there begins the universal and long established, but totally reprehensible, gentle art of the BENCH REST. The courteous and diligent optician removes the offending spectacles from the u&wtmotp takes them into the back office , out of sight of the aforementioned u&wtmotp, places them carefully on a bench and allows them to rest for a few minutes. After a suitable pause he returns to the showroom and with great concern and just a hint of histrioncs returns them to their rightful place on the face of the u&wtmotp carefully checking with a light touch and painstaking observation that they are exactly as they should be.

“How do they feel now” comes the rhetorical question .

“Oh much better, thank you very much, quite comfortable, excellent, Thank you, thank you, good day”.

Heidel

So where is it?

Since you asked where about getting Tokia Modecinq Lens. 1.6 AS. Go to any Paris Miki outlet. I go for the 1.60AS progressive lens because it has higher abbe value 42. Lower abbe value for higher index.

Tokia Modecinq 1.6AS PAL - clear, RRP $530 - 15% = $450 (add $30 for tinted lens, e.g. sunglass)

The lens is available in 3 different base curves: 4, 5 and 6. Thanks to these available curves, the lens can match the basic curve of the frame, creating an aesthetical improvement.

The Modecinq is available in high index 1.60/42 and 1.70 material making it ideal to use in half-rim frames.

• Free-form Back-side (inner) progressive plus aspheric/atoric surface design lens for wrap-rounded frame, nearer to the eye.

• Abbe value = 42 (low dispersion of light, lower aberration), Higher refractive index lower Abbe value.

• Wrap angle adjustment – wider field of vision

• Omni-directional aberration correction

• Atoric surface lens provides an extension of aspheric design, allowing lens design to optimize for both the sphere and cylinder powers of a lens. This ensures that all wearers enjoy the overall larger fields of vision plus wider side visions, especially those with astigmatism by eliminate oblique astigmatism.

• Flexible inset design (customized for reading area) for comfortable binocular vision of the near sight by considering the change in the warp angle caused by curved frames. Far PD and near PD separate left and right, inset amount can be specified in every 0.1mm. (0~5.0mm)

• Retina focus design - The ease to see and the thinness and lightness coexists by transmitting light flux or correcting aberration and frequency, the design allows the most suitable image formation on the retina through a low base-curved lens.

• Optimize astigmatism correction and wider vision by suppressing astigmatism.

• Lens surface power is precisely calculated at every point to optimize performance and

• Reduce aberrations caused by pantoscopic tilt, vertex distance and object distance.

• Intermediate corridor range of 11 mm and 13 mm

Tokia Modecinq available in single vision and progressive lens.

Take note. Pantoscopic tilt deg, vertex distance, Far PD and Near PD gives the inset value, frame bow (wrap) angle, fitting height.... all these measured data needed when they place the lens from Japan.

MiG123

what do you guys think about getting frames from smartbuyglasses.com.sg? IC berlin frames are way cheaper there compared to retail bundle prices...

avalanste

anyone knows where i can buy glasses similar to this design?

burberry-1064-1031-1.jpg

have been eyeing them for quite some time now, quite an eye-candy to me...lol

kypay

You still don't get it do you? And you still don't believe it. All your assumption are wrong. I am not the only one getting this price. I have seen the price list, all the price lists are transparent/open for any customer to see. Other customers are also getting this price. Period.

Heidel is correct. I managed to get nearly 40% off on my new Hoya Nulux EP lens (1.70, SFT, Free Foam), only SGD3XX. The RRP is around 650 if i remember correctly. Two cards are given - HOYA SFT Authenticity Card, Lens Quality Card. The shop is inside Upper Serangonn Shopping Center.

Seannie

Heidel is correct. I managed to get nearly 40% off on my new Hoya Nulux EP lens (1.70, SFT, Free Foam), only SGD3XX. The RRP is around 650 if i remember correctly. Two cards are given - HOYA SFT Authenticity Card, Lens Quality Card. The shop is inside Upper Serangonn Shopping Center.

wow, if me, i can only get it at $500+, yes RRP 650 is correct. You gotten a very very good deal on your lens. Im dazzled.

how much is your frame, may i ask? And what brand? I want to see how they do their pricing.

Thanks.

But anyway, for me, price not the most impt for me becos ultimately i patronise any shop that has the type of frame that suits me. Even if the shop going chop me on the lens i got no choice. Buying the frame & going to another shop to order lens is not a wise option becos if along the way the new shop breaks your frame or the lab it sends the frame to edge the lens breaks it, they will have no way to replace your frame for you becos in the first place the frame is bought at another shop. And the only thing they can do is to ask you to choose another frame from their shop (possibly may need you to add a bit of $ to offset the cost or maybe foc).

Seannie

I can't stand the scratches on the plastic lens.
Compare scratches and weight. I don't mind a bit heavy.

I didn't know has 1.9 index.

My next spec, I will ask for 1.9 index.

How about the lens reflect colour?
Any thought?

hmmm.. but hor when you wear your specs on your face, you cant see the scratches right? YOu only see them when you look at them when you are wiping them? i just hope you will still be able to get glass in the future becos looks like lesser & lesser labs are doing them now. Not sure abt the reflect colour, most likely just the shade of the multi-coating. Some has green, some has red/orange. Your meaning of copper colour issit looks like orange? If so, then it is another kind of multi-coat colour no problem with that.

kypay

wow, if me, i can only get it at $500+, yes RRP 650 is correct. You gotten a very very good deal on your lens. Im dazzled.

how much is your frame, may i ask? And what brand? I want to see how they do their pricing.

Thanks.

But anyway, for me, price not the most impt for me becos ultimately i patronise any shop that has the type of frame that suits me. Even if the shop going chop me on the lens i got no choice. Buying the frame & going to another shop to order lens is not a wise option becos if along the way the new shop breaks your frame or the lab it sends the frame to edge the lens breaks it, they will have no way to replace your frame for you becos in the first place the frame is bought at another shop. And the only thing they can do is to ask you to choose another frame from their shop (possibly may need you to add a bit of $ to offset the cost or maybe foc).

I and my wife are loyal customer to them (around 10 years). I just change my len, using back the old frame. My old len (nikon) and frame is also bought from the same shop. The frame is porsche design (P'8129, 53/18), cost around SGD300 plus. It is almost 2 years old already.

Seannie

I and my wife are loyal customer to them (around 10 years). I just change my len, using back the old frame. My old len (nikon) and frame is also bought from the same shop. The frame is porsche design (P'8129, 53/18), cost around SGD300 plus. It is almost 2 years old already.

good deal, good deal, i cant believe can actually get such good lobangs. Your optician is really those few ones still with a conscience. Unlike many sly ones who just ate up bulk of my hard-earnings. :(

hole

Hi all,
can anyone advise me on where to make my lens, I have astigma as well as myopia. the main issue with my current usual optician is that i feel that the shop is not very honest when comes to make my spectacles, so i decide to buy prescribe frame online then make lens in singapore. However I never done that before so I hope someone here can advise me where to go.
Thanks alot..
:s12:

sky37

I just make one spec using frame rockberries Titanium frame beta titan temple.
I also tr to google for more information about this frame. Seem like I can't find any.

Pretty light frames. Good value. First time I came across this brand.
Saw a collection of it at optical shop in AMK.

fourseasons2000

Any advice or comments would be much appreciated. Thanks!

QUOTE=fourseasons2000;70126866]Anyone using the photofusion lens? Is it worth the money compared with transitions? Was quoted more than$1k for individual frame fit....[/QUOTE]

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.