The Spectacles Thread.

tecnica

you can order from any authorized dealers or if you're looking at specs still under warranty try the service center? you can get it change for free
mine's a 6 years going 7 square wire.. haha... i used to get it changed at a shop in sun plaza but i call them yesterday and they said they stop taking in oakley stuffs.. so kinda lost now.. :s22:

anyway i recently done a calvin klein frame with essilor transition lenses in jb... cost me abt $240 sing only... :s22:

zoossh

everyone talks abt the frame and the lens, how about good optometrist in sg? i saw igard but dunno whether it is just another money sucking place. i'm thinking of getting a good examination for my dad. he got myopia, asthenopia and i think lately presbyopia. probably got to get a varifocal specs but i dun trust those shops, dun even know if those who do the eye testing whether they are qualified or not.

anyone can advise?

oldbreadstinks

ya sia.

expensive specs cannot anyhow. pain pain.:(

last time my specs 200+ 300, i also wash with dish soap bubbles and water. but now i'm getting paranoid lol.

just rinse but keep it dry whenever possible
water ruins everything. and sweat corrodes the frame. if you must use soap, remember to dilute it.

oldbreadstinks

Hi all,

Can someone tell me more about the Tokai Bi-AS lens?

Are there any other brands that are doing double aspheric lens?

Am into thinner lens so it's under consideration. But it's going for like $1250 retail if you go for it :eek:

bi aspherical or double aspherical lenses are found with all Japanese brands here.
if tokai is a bit pricey for you. you can consider hoya or Seiko.
their RRP seems to be lower.

if you don't have a regular optician. try checking
Paris miki for their Japanese (house brand)lens prices and other Japanese bi asp lenses they're offering.
optical 88 for their Seiko lenses
better vision for tokai.
I'm not sure regarding the prices for them but their companies are linked to those labs and may be more flexible?

oldbreadstinks

everyone talks abt the frame and the lens, how about good optometrist in sg? i saw igard but dunno whether it is just another money sucking place. i'm thinking of getting a good examination for my dad. he got myopia, asthenopia and i think lately presbyopia. probably got to get a varifocal specs but i dun trust those shops, dun even know if those who do the eye testing whether they are qualified or not.

anyone can advise?

if you have trust issues with optical shops. try snec ?
generally speaking as covered by law in Singapore all practitioners are licensed.
at snec you'll get tested (generally) by an optometrist.
cost should be around $80
I can't vouch for the accuracy and usefulness when made into glasses but It's a govt entity.

and when fitting glasses , optical shops at least for the shop's own sake, do try to be accurate. if you get bad vibes from the person serving you it might be true.
in any case if there's no trust best not to have business dealings since both sides wouldn't appreciate it.

if he is your dad I'll assumed he has gotten presbyopia quite some time back (affects people around 40)

but asthenopia? where did you get that from?

oldbreadstinks

mine's a 6 years going 7 square wire.. haha... i used to get it changed at a shop in sun plaza but i call them yesterday and they said they stop taking in oakley stuffs.. so kinda lost now.. :s22:

anyway i recently done a calvin klein frame with essilor transition lenses in jb... cost me abt $240 sing only... :s22:

no one nearby who's an authorised dealer? you can usually order from authorised dealers even if they have no stock .

its a zero profit item so unless the shop is heavily into Oakleys and want to service their customers. most rather not have them.
can you imagine a stranger walks in buys one and expects you to clean and fit the new pads because he bought them from you? but on your side , you paid $30 for something you're bounded by contract to sell for $30
you can't tell the guy to f*** off so why not just not carry them?
besides Sinkies generally(more about the Chinese ) do not appreciate service lol and they don't give good service either.

Kenneth C

ya sia.

expensive specs cannot anyhow. pain pain.:(

last time my specs 200+ 300, i also wash with dish soap bubbles and water. but now i'm getting paranoid lol.

I also suggest you use water only. Use diluted soap (like those we use for shower) only if the lens are very oily.

oldbreadstinks

I also suggest you use water only. Use diluted soap (like those we use for shower) only if the lens are very oily.

I only have water in my ultrasonic cleaner.
saw coatings coming off both frames and lenses when the lenses were scratched. and the water had mama lemon.

greatace

Saw today at Bugis Paris Miki, having promo buying either a Oakley/Tag Hauer and one more brand Frame for min $400 and can purchase Hoya Lens less 15% and then -$120 off.

Is it worth it?

Citiguy

its the lens that can be expensive. frame still got choice from 50 - xxxx.

Zeiss lens is on the higher end (but very good optical quality)), those hoya/kodak/essilor are lower.

Im considering doing a pair of progressive lens, degree about 250-300, zeiss around 1.8, nikon should be 1.2k, essilor around 0.6k.

"branded"

just look at the difference between wallets

$5 at pasar malam or an LV?

bberry, oldbreadstinks, thanks for the comments. :)

zoossh

if you have trust issues with optical shops. try snec ?
generally speaking as covered by law in Singapore all practitioners are licensed.
at snec you'll get tested (generally) by an optometrist.
cost should be around $80

does SNEC does prescription for spectacles??? i dunno if their queue is long.

if he is your dad I'll assumed he has gotten presbyopia quite some time back (affects people around 40)

but asthenopia? where did you get that from?

he say his eyes get tired easily.

oldbreadstinks

Saw today at Bugis Paris Miki, having promo buying either a Oakley/Tag Hauer and one more brand Frame for min $400 and can purchase Hoya Lens less 15% and then -$120 off.

Is it worth it?

that depends on your yardstick lol

some guys who don't haggle buy retail, that's a pretty good price.
and who's selling? who's testing? are you ok with the service?

if you're not worried about repercussions, and really haggle over the price, like an old man I've met, lasted hours for another $10 and invoked god.
that's not a good price.

for those who really haggle that way and get cheated, I can only say, there's a reason why the waiter spitted in your food.

oldbreadstinks

does SNEC does prescription for spectacles??? i dunno if their queue is long.

he say his eyes get tired easily.

they generally do prescription or if you have any other eye conditions.

by appointment only though.

and when doing the testing at snec, make sure the results are satisfactory ,meaning things must be clear. and prescription wearable. (does the patient wear glasses in the first place? astig? reading distance......etc)

otherwise if you were to use their prescription to make glasses and no matter how accurate the prescription is. you'll have no warranty on the prescription if the prescription proves unwearable.
that's one downside of using your own prescription.

zoossh

he used to do it in china.

other than appt in SNEC, are there good optometrist service and spec shop, if got myopia and presbyopia? is varifocal lens a complicated thing to assess (prescription) and do by commericial shop?

they generally do prescription or if you have any other eye conditions.

by appointment only though.

and when doing the testing at snec, make sure the results are satisfactory ,meaning things must be clear. and prescription wearable. (does the patient wear glasses in the first place? astig? reading distance......etc)

otherwise if you were to use their prescription to make glasses and no matter how accurate the prescription is. you'll have no warranty on the prescription if the prescription proves unwearable.
that's one downside of using your own prescription.

oldbreadstinks

he used to do it in china.

other than appt in SNEC, are there good optometrist service and spec shop, if got myopia and presbyopia? is varifocal lens a complicated thing to assess (prescription) and do by commericial shop?

personal belief, it really depends on how you interact. from experience, even the "lousy" ones have ther fans.

like how I buy my electronics.
not sure? visit chain where I'm assured I won't pay above retail, and complains if any would definitely be handled well?

varifocal lenses are commonly fitted in optical shops. but as mentioned earlier. if you have specifications for the lenses and you're not a "slap the glasses on and it's ok to walk off" type of person, you need to let your optometrist/optician know.
the more needs you have the more important.
basic eyecare usually turns out something like
eyetest--->figures out your power, myopia/hyperopia/astigmatism, and presbyopia for late 30s onwards
figure out which lens and frame goes together
what you need for your lenses.
generally people usually think"I want to see"

and that's it.

others maybe want wider viewing angles for varifocals
thinner lenses, curved lenses for sunglasses, transitions
harder to scratch lenses

and sometimes those things don't work together, or can't be done with the frame.
and if you're a -8.00 onwards, rimless or rimlon(half frames), don't look that good with the lenses expose without a high index lens , so if you're not willing to go for that you can't take rimless/rimlon or you're going to be pissed when you see the glasses.

oldbreadstinks

from my knowledge, almost all varifocals are done in optical shops as clinic often don't fit lenses. they'll usually give you a prescription and ask you to go "outside" to any shop.

before considering anything, just drop by any shop, make an inquiry on 1st time wearers for varifocals or progressives if they don't understand the term varifocals.
what the wearer should do, how to adapt.
if satisfied, try that shop?
if not try another shop ? and so on til someone sounds competent enough?

akloaklo

Spectacles getting expensive nowadays or what.

I remembered few years ago went to a small spectacle shop looking for cheap specs...minimum $200. Then father bought me to someplace in serangoon the specs about $100.

I don't look for branded specs the $100 specs now I wearing is 1/2 frameless at the bottom with frame at the top half ..brand is realmadrid (lol).

Not sure if spectacle shop is see young adult then charge expensive or what haha...

sgt_hippo

how come the crizal authencity card does not mention yr lens's prescription

its juz a generic card

oldbreadstinks

how come the crizal authencity card does not mention yr lens's prescription

its juz a generic card

so far, only zeiss does that.

for all other brands, as long as it's a stock lens you get a generic card
you only get the details if it's not a stock lens
previously even progressives get a generic card.

oldbreadstinks

Spectacles getting expensive nowadays or what.

I remembered few years ago went to a small spectacle shop looking for cheap specs...minimum $200. Then father bought me to someplace in serangoon the specs about $100.

I don't look for branded specs the $100 specs now I wearing is 1/2 frameless at the bottom with frame at the top half ..brand is realmadrid (lol).

Not sure if spectacle shop is see young adult then charge expensive or what haha...

just request for the cheaper stuff, as long as you're not buying from orchard or a funky eyewear clinic. they will usually have something generic for a package below $100.
but quality differs in different location.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.