The Spectacles Thread.

ohj81

I was at Adephi, so happen that there is an Optical shop there. Went in to take a look, quite comprehensive range there, ByWP and Dun both there. Tried on Dun 2051, and found that the temple legs seem a bit short and stiff at the end that sit on the ear. Doesn't seem to sit nice on my ears.

ohj81

They have this range similar to ByWP look, made from titanium but have screws. Not bad and fitting as in the temple legs doesn't touch the sides of my head until the ear part. But the build looks filmsy and have slip on silcon nose pad and ear socks which I quite wary off from Oakley experiences.

Nystalia1990

Anyone can recommend me optical shop for Oakley Deringer + Nikon Seecoat 1.6 Lens?

My degree is 300 both sides and astig about 250. Is it worth to top up for Seecoat Blue? Thanks. I got a quote for 659 the item above, is it reasonable?

Seannie

I was at Adephi, so happen that there is an Optical shop there. Went in to take a look, quite comprehensive range there, ByWP and Dun both there. Tried on Dun 2051, and found that the temple legs seem a bit short and stiff at the end that sit on the ear. Doesn't seem to sit nice on my ears.

Which shop at Adelphi? Means the temple length don't suit you. You got to look for models with longer length so that sits nicely on your ears, most likely you need at least 140mm or more.

Seannie

Thanks a lot bro. Really appreciate yur advice and insights.

My face also belongs to the oily nature, which is why I felt that looking for acetate frames without nosepads aren't really that fitting on me. And I don't quite like the idea of fixing nosepads on acetate frames which the shop people suggest. I still felt that plastic frames should still maintain their authenticity.

Yes that's what exactly I discovered in 999.9 website! I realize most of their frames having temple length of 135 / 136 which I find a tad too short for me. I need at least a temple length of ard 137 - 138 which will be just nice. 140 is a bit too long for me. :(

Does yellow plus have metal series? What other brands do you recommend besides those mentioned? Thanks for sharing. I liked your train of thoughts.

Icyworld88

Just made myself a pair of specs. Dunno expensive a not. Total $378. Levi's frame fitted with Carl Zeiss (Clarity 1.67 LT). The frame was tagged at $178 but got some discounts. I think it was pretty good price. With warranty card and zeiss logo on the lens.

I think the Carl Zeiss lens are much better than the Citizen lens which I am using previously. Got used to the new specs in a day. I took very long before the dizziness go away for the Citizen lens.

atypical

Thanks a lot bro. Really appreciate yur advice and insights.

My face also belongs to the oily nature, which is why I felt that looking for acetate frames without nosepads aren't really that fitting on me. And I don't quite like the idea of fixing nosepads on acetate frames which the shop people suggest. I still felt that plastic frames should still maintain their authenticity.

Yes that's what exactly I discovered in 999.9 website! I realize most of their frames having temple length of 135 / 136 which I find a tad too short for me. I need at least a temple length of ard 137 - 138 which will be just nice. 140 is a bit too long for me. :(

Does yellow plus have metal series? What other brands do you recommend besides those mentioned? Thanks for sharing. I liked your train of thoughts.

Yah, I also don't like fixing nose-pads on plastic frames. There are original plastic frames with thicker nose pads for asians. Those with thin nose pads are caucasian models.

I think Yellows Plus have metal frames, but most I've seen are mixed - acetate/celluloid + metal.

I'm a plastic frame junkie. :D So far, I think designer frames from Vicktor & Rolf are pretty well done. The Japanese-made Paul Smith are very nice too. Recently, I found a pair of asian custom fit Oliver Goldsmith Vice Consul in their main shop in London Notting Hill!

Kame ManNen (Japanese) make excellent frames. Vintage styles. I have 3, a full titanium saddle-bridge model and 2 same acetate models in different colours. The titanium has been serving me since 2003, and I reckon it can go another 10 years (at least)!

LaFont is nice too, but I'm not sure if they have asian fit for plastic models. Metal wise, I think they are very nice. Their shop in Paris is quite a gem.

Do take note that weight is not on my agenda. Of course, common sense lah, if a frame is not your size, or too heavy for your liking, don't force yourself lah! :D

2pm2am

ask for price list when buying lenses
don't buy anything you don't know the market price of.
open your golden mouth and ask for discount.

there are shops which do mark up certain things higher, and give you a better discount. it's not called carrot head. it's legitimate for them to do so so if you're a bargain hunter find something you like ask for a best price.

if you have the intention to buy, yes , ask for price list. don't just step into the optical shop and ask people to show you the price list.

if you just want to ask price, ask specific questions. for example, some would ask "how much is your progressive lens". if you ask like that, don't expect the optical shop to give you a specific price as there are so many brands, and materials coatings etc. Unless of cos they have packages.

also if you want to compare price, for example transition lenses, don't walk in and ask how much is your transitions lenses. if you want to compare a specific brand, tell the optician upfront the brand , index, etc so that you can compare apple with apple. otherwise don't expect a specific answers.

in short , if you want to compare price, make sure you tell the optician specifically the product that you want to compare.

Mem2003

Customer: open your golden mouth and ask ... + Discount ..... Ba ba ba
provided if intention to buy
////////////////////////////////////////////////
Problem is that some shops, the sale people(s) ONLY know Brand, Index, Plastic/Glass, rough product series (NOT exact name), ba ba ba ... quote ba ba ba rough price;

then ask for exact name series and price BUT CANNOT answer and later ....

Is Optometrists the sale people(s)...?

"Lemon" Law .... Buyer want to buy somethings that is the stated product.
How Customer know that the purchased product is the stated product?
<Glass/plastic> ... Brand? Index? Series type? Ba ba ba?
e.g. Series type have S1, S2, S3, S4, S5 corresponding to price P1, P2, P3, P4, P5 {P1>P2>P3>P4>P5} , If customer paid {"BRANDED"} for S2..P2 but is given S3, or use other brand with similar but much cheaper....
How customer know?

GOOD shop and good sale people will able to tell you the difference S1,S2, ....
AND you get what you purchased.

Thanks.

==================

if you have the intention to buy, yes , ask for price list. don't just step into the optical shop and ask people to show you the price list.

if you just want to ask price, ask specific questions. for example, some would ask "how much is your progressive lens". if you ask like that, don't expect the optical shop to give you a specific price as there are so many brands, and materials coatings etc. Unless of cos they have packages.

in short , if you want to compare price, make sure you tell the optician specifically the product that you want to compare.

oldbreadstinks

Normal lens lo
The clear type lo...

Not the expensive type like Carl Zeiss or anything

if your prescription isn't too high zeiss actually costs slightly higher than the rest

they have 1.56 index , I think they're $160?
for unbranded lenses you should be able to get them @$100 or much less than that generally.

oldbreadstinks

Is Hoya amp trueform 1.56 a worth buy at below $200. Is a progressive lens. Any feeback from any expects here. Am looking to change my specs and need some help.. tia

it might be best to ask from the fitter if they have feedback on the lenses.
it's not commonly fitted unless the shop in question supports hoya.

oldbreadstinks

I do encourage my friends to look to frame-maker frames than designer frames. I don't think Miuccia Prada or Tom Ford know as much as some of us here. They sure know about style and design, but good spectacle frames? I don't think so man .... just my opinion.

Google BBC The Secrets of the Super Brands : Fashion, on Youtube. There is a section showing Luxottica's Italy factory manufacturing frames. Y'all watch liao think for yourself.

I'm not saying Luxottica makes f c u k-ed-up over-priced frames, but please know what you're looking for and what to look out for when you prescribe your next frame.

Happy hunting .... :)
I don't think anyone who knows what's going on actually have anything good to say about luxotica.
and in europe independent practitioners protested and stated they'll boycott silhouette if it's ever sold to luxotica.

oldbreadstinks

Which brand/series of photochromic (transition) lense has the fastest response time. I'm more concerned about the dark to clear speed.

Thinking of getting the Photofusion from Carl Zeiss but not sure if there is anything with faster transition time...

photofusion changes quite fast, they're just as fast if not faster than transitions

but as for changing back, it's slower for all of them. nothing really noticeable. you might as well choose your lens based on other factors like coating/clarity/cost

oldbreadstinks

Yah, I also don't like fixing nose-pads on plastic frames. There are original plastic frames with thicker nose pads for asians. Those with thin nose pads are caucasian models.

I think Yellows Plus have metal frames, but most I've seen are mixed - acetate/celluloid + metal.

I'm a plastic frame junkie. :D So far, I think designer frames from Vicktor & Rolf are pretty well done. The Japanese-made Paul Smith are very nice too. Recently, I found a pair of asian custom fit Oliver Goldsmith Vice Consul in their main shop in London Notting Hill!

Kame ManNen (Japanese) make excellent frames. Vintage styles. I have 3, a full titanium saddle-bridge model and 2 same acetate models in different colours. The titanium has been serving me since 2003, and I reckon it can go another 10 years (at least)!

LaFont is nice too, but I'm not sure if they have asian fit for plastic models. Metal wise, I think they are very nice. Their shop in Paris is quite a gem.

Do take note that weight is not on my agenda. Of course, common sense lah, if a frame is not your size, or too heavy for your liking, don't force yourself lah! :D

locally they used to do custom add on solid plastic nosepads for lafont when I first encountered them 7-8 years back as a form of asian fit
assuming nothing's changed they probably still do if the frame isn't asian fit but you need to wait.

oldbreadstinks

Anyone can recommend me optical shop for Oakley Deringer + Nikon Seecoat 1.6 Lens?

My degree is 300 both sides and astig about 250. Is it worth to top up for Seecoat Blue? Thanks. I got a quote for 659 the item above, is it reasonable?

you're not getting overcharged if that's what you're asking.
as for whether it's reasonable that's a matter of your personal opinion.

I've quoted a lady $40 for frame and multicoated lenses before and was told I'm overcharging and it's too expensive and asked why I dishonest enough to did that:s22:
then she came back to do it again later in the week.

oldbreadstinks

Okay, anyone here kind enough to post a list of which spectacle brand you think is in the top 10?

You have the power to make others go for that particular brand which is superb and make them have less doubts on build quality etc etc.

how lol?
based on what?
build quality can be superb but fitting is very personal
the toughest frames might feel the worst on your face?

I loved oakleys last time, darn solid but the fit's horrible for my head.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.