The Spectacles Thread.

Charles93

Hi guys I'm still looking for a spectacle that is affordable and does not compromise quality. Was quoted at a spec shop at bukit gombak for $220 for a pair of raybans with brandless lens( super slim). Heard the auntie was saying the lens is called asahi lens, any idea? Or should I just get a branded lens like Hoya or crizal lens

mfbatzap

guys, what do you think about ordering from

Buy Sunglasses, Contact Lens & Spectacles | GlassesOnline Singapore

haven tried the website before, but their glasses look reasonable. dunno the market prices, but afraid if i were to get it at shops i wld get chopped as my last pair was made in 2009 and im thinking of doing one now...

(I live in the Pasir Ris/Tamp area by the way if anyone can recc somewhere good itll be really good thanks!)
i bought contact lenses from them before. The prices were really cheap, Malaysian prices..

Basically from what I understand, they operate from Malaysia. Delivery was a bit messy cos I needed to call their local office to bug them on the delivery status (they say stock hasn't arrived). But after they send the item for delivery, next day get liao. If I can recall, they used DHL.

mfbatzap

Why ask u become carrot kana chopped.. I made my ray ban less then 100 sing... prada one for abt 120 sing.. trussadi titanium one for 2 pair for usd95.. dun let yhe local optic shops chop... let them go bankrupt.
where did you get your specs from? ebay? amazon?

share le. Thinking of getting another RB specs.

d3n

saw and bought a Tom Ford optical specs from groupon deal... $125 for the frame. :)

ashieru2

this is an interesting thread ... nobody talks about quality of the optimetrists? is that the right word?

i know most shops use the digital machine, but what is the difference in a more experienced opto and one that is newbie?

of cos ... i have to ask ... any rec for a good opto?

and thumbs up for Mr Bread, nice info you have supplied to this thread.

reson90

i do it here... there are some at 95 for 2 pairs... and sometime got promotion 50 60% off..:D

Thanks bro for the tips! But may I know how do we get our own eye check with the respective required informations that require for online purchase? Ps first timer for such thing :s22::s13:

Mancunian2

I couldn't find Singapore in the address country list. How did you get it to ship to Singapore?
use vpost or comgateway

I just received my 2 pairs for US$95 last week
I can't even get one of the same quality for US$95 in Singapore

definitely thumbs up!

ashieru2

this is an interesting thread ... nobody talks about quality of the optimetrists? is that the right word?

i know most shops use the digital machine, but what is the difference in a more experienced opto and one that is newbie?

of cos ... i have to ask ... any rec for a good opto?

and thumbs up for Mr Bread, nice info you have supplied to this thread.

nobody have any input on this? ... strange ... :s22:

Mancunian2

nobody have any input on this? ... strange ... :s22:

Optometrist do more than just check your eyesight

They do a whole lot more, eye pressure , retina detachment, early signs of cataract, detection of prism, cornea health......

Most sinkies will not see an opto in their entire life

ashieru2

Optometrist do more than just check your eyesight

They do a whole lot more, eye pressure , retina detachment, early signs of cataract, detection of prism, cornea health......

Most sinkies will not see an opto in their entire life

ah ic ... so thats optometrists

ok so i think i want to ask the not that level 1.

spec shops those that check your eye degree, who is a good checker? are there that are more pro? or its all machine check now?

only_lonely

Izzit true that change frame only then the lens will mis focus? Went to owndays then the ah girl told me it is not advisable that I only change frame and it might causing mis focus n blurring problem.
But my lens is expensive n just new set...just the frame is not right , adjusted twice but still the nose part loose...

Joelleyuan

Izzit true that change frame only then the lens will mis focus? Went to owndays then the ah girl told me it is not advisable that I only change frame and it might causing mis focus n blurring problem.
But my lens is expensive n just new set...just the frame is not right , adjusted twice but still the nose part loose...
you just need to find a new frame w very similar shape n size so hopefully no need to cut the lens again.
can be done. i did that for one of my plastic frame.

but nose part loose by right shld be able to adjust until it fits right? or yours is plastic frame?

quotient

truth

your degree very low is it?

mine quite costly cos high degree and got rather high astig :(

anyone knows which shop got sell emporio armani EA9602 model

the moment you enter a spectacle shop, the assistant has mentally quoted you $250. this is because they need to sell at least 20 pairs a month to cover the rental and utilities.

i've been going to Eye Essentials for years. Previously it was known by another name and its shop was located along the stretch of shophouses [opposite the Muslim mosque] leading to Mustaffa Centre. Its come a long way now and its present location is at Queensway Shopping Centre #02-42C.

it's run by a mature brother and sister team. Knowledgeable and extremely patient. Discounts have always been available. if you go there earlier in the day to finalize your specs, you may even get it on the same day.

the uncle may speak incoherently but his sister and older niece/nephew is always present at the shop so there's nothing to worry about. go check it out for yourself. time to save money wherever possible.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.