The Spectacles Thread.

Turquoise!

Will it be cheaper if I hoot Rayban in HK?

SG where can I buy Rayban without kena chop ah? I never buy sunglasses before but want to hoot 1 because the glare from sun is intolerable when driving :(

Wanna go down and try each of the model and see which suits my face the most :s34:

Thanks in advance bros :o

#oliver

Is there a significant difference in the performance and durability between standard multi-coatings and branded/premium coatings?
What is the average price difference?

Kusanagi

guys i have a problem

just made a new pair with the exact same lens power as my previous pair of specs

problem is now when my new pair of spectacles, it becomes very blur because the new frames are bigger, should i redo the lens or wait a week or so to get used to it?

Joelleyuan

guys i have a problem

just made a new pair with the exact same lens power as my previous pair of specs

problem is now when my new pair of spectacles, it becomes very blur because the new frames are bigger, should i redo the lens or wait a week or so to get used to it?
geezz just about the same thing that im facing. i tried wearing the new frame at home n outside, tried to tahan 1-2hrs, but the uncomfortable feeling n slight headache i get really are not "心理作用" after many tries.
i went back to the shop, the owner help me change the lens (just the left side makes me feel uncomfortable). i felt abit better and asked him what he did, he say he reduce power.
maybe my new frame bigger n much closer to my face compared to my current pair....

im still not totally comfortable with it tho, will try to see if can get used to it, but somehow i think the frame itself is also not the best fit so.... not blaming the lens alone...

sigh, its like that. i think got other pple in here who have experience.
got one guy mentioned he made like eight pairs of specs over the years, only 2-3 pairs can wear.

Joelleyuan

u tried already then tell me good or no good lor :s22:
Seannie can ask you whether your Hoya lens turn abit yellowish after abt 2 yrs?
i asked a few optical shop staff they mostly say it is due to UV rays, not the brand.
im wearing a cheapo no brand lens now, more than 3 yrs. the lens are very yellowish now. esp obvious when u placed it over a piece of white paper. but this is damn cheap so cannot hiam.
however i got another pair of Nikon lens, costs me $250, put in drawer seldom wear, recently i realized its also kinda yellowish tho not as bad as the cheapo one but seldom wear means seldom under the sun, also like that....

Then, i took out another very old pair that was 5-6 yrs ago, made at Paris Miki n i dunno what brand is the lens, this pair surprisingly did not turn yellowish!

so was wondering how about your Hoya lens? got this problem?

Kusanagi

geezz just about the same thing that im facing. i tried wearing the new frame at home n outside, tried to tahan 1-2hrs, but the uncomfortable feeling n slight headache i get really are not "心理作用" after many tries.
i went back to the shop, the owner help me change the lens (just the left side makes me feel uncomfortable). i felt abit better and asked him what he did, he say he reduce power.
maybe my new frame bigger n much closer to my face compared to my current pair....

im still not totally comfortable with it tho, will try to see if can get used to it, but somehow i think the frame itself is also not the best fit so.... not blaming the lens alone...

sigh, its like that. i think got other pple in here who have experience.
got one guy mentioned he made like eight pairs of specs over the years, only 2-3 pairs can wear.

quite sure that it might be due to size of lens, have a pair of spare with the same lens power, smaller lens size, didn't have any problems with it..

going down to a reputable shop and gna seek some advice

Vadher

One of the arm on my Oakley Transistor broke at the weakest point. Is it possible to get replacement for just the arm alone?

Joelleyuan

quite sure that it might be due to size of lens, have a pair of spare with the same lens power, smaller lens size, didn't have any problems with it..

going down to a reputable shop and gna seek some advice
well, i forgot to mention, my new pair (the bigger plastic frame) is also the EXACT same power/astig as my old/current pair on a smaller metal frame.
:(

kingcarlos

anyone has suggestions for shops that sell vintage optical specs at around 150-250 for frames? was looking at paris miki today, nice frames but like alll above 400 :s22:

only_lonely

Changed frame at msia small town. Just rm100 and got it within 30mins. My friend changed whole spec just rm200. someore good services n recommendation. Would not cheat u to buy expensive lens.
Think sg shop really cmi, told moi cannot just change frame n recommend me a not suit frame...

Seannie

Seannie can ask you whether your Hoya lens turn abit yellowish after abt 2 yrs?
i asked a few optical shop staff they mostly say it is due to UV rays, not the brand.
im wearing a cheapo no brand lens now, more than 3 yrs. the lens are very yellowish now. esp obvious when u placed it over a piece of white paper. but this is damn cheap so cannot hiam.
however i got another pair of Nikon lens, costs me $250, put in drawer seldom wear, recently i realized its also kinda yellowish tho not as bad as the cheapo one but seldom wear means seldom under the sun, also like that....

Then, i took out another very old pair that was 5-6 yrs ago, made at Paris Miki n i dunno what brand is the lens, this pair surprisingly did not turn yellowish!

so was wondering how about your Hoya lens? got this problem?

No such problem with hoya. Pls remember that hoya has the best coating in the mkt. Lens turning yellowish due to ageing so no matter under sun or not still will kena but more so if under the sun. U place it inside drawer got heat or not? Maybe temperature higher than the room temperature. Better don put yur spare lens inside box and put away drawer for so long. Better put on the table la somewhere away from heat. Cheaper lens usually one year yelo liao. Cheapo Frame oso color drop after one year. Paris miki never sell cheapo lens so shouldnt have problems as their tings oso not cheap. From what u said nikon oso not tat gd la and even mre exp than hoya. Hoya got new coating called HVLL upgraded version look damn swee see already buay tahan but im waiting for it to stabilise in sg mkt first. Looks like official price list not out yet but if u go do should be abt $50-100 more than sft coating. More dust resistant more scratch resistant.

arcturuz

am wearing it right now. very light, cost me $178, only took 20min to get the spec.

much better than my givenchy spec. :(:(

:s12::s12::s12:

did my owndays frame @ 313 outlet
v fast, good, $178 and comfortable and light and feels better than my previous rayban

h0rniieb0i

Have a pair of brand new Tom Ford TF5208 glasses with box and everything which i bought recently on impulse... pretty nice frame with a cool tortoise shell and tint of blue color... but pity it doesn't fit my face shape. Anyone interested? Bought it for around 400 last December and willing to let it go at a slight discount.

Preview of how it looks:

130326191800.jpg

occhiali-tom-ford-tf-5208-092-c49.jpg

PM me for details! :s13::s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.