The Spectacles Thread.

madsite

Sorry to hijack this conversation

I have an Oakley Metal Plate Brushed Chrome 53mm 100% Authentic Hardly Used

I made lens for this new eyeglass but discovered the 53mm frame too small for my wide face. I wore it at most 1 hour.

Perfect condition

Comes with Original Box, papers, casing, and cloth bag

My loss your gain

Call me at 98413046 - Selling cheap - Make me an offer, I want to get myself another specs

popdod

Yeah lar to u high class ppl Oakley, Prada, ray ban, Armani are lousy brands lar.

Btw, my post on branded specs doesnt mean to offend anyone.

My point is...for certain goods, i'm more willingly to pay more.
For the comfort and design and also, i wear it everyday.

However, there are things i dun like to pay more as i dun see it
very impt. eg...my Tote bag is from thailand chatuchak, less than SGD$25. :s13: or belt.

So depends on individual's needs & preference.

Some audiophile will spend thousands on sound system..
as for me...got sound come out from the speaker is good enuff. :s13:

In this case, i will spend more on specs.

=:p :D =:p

ahboy82

so wat are the real spectacle brands that asians can consider?

raybans one of them? but i feel raybans so so oni and a little pricey....

oliver peoples?

wat others?

kenzio8

Good Sunday
Just wondering, anyone with high degree + astig tried owndays lenses?
Price wise looks attractive, but how about the quality? Something must give ya?
Thanks.

Nakedtoes

Now the trend is having few pairs for different occasion or outfits. Just like clothing. Not worth paying 800plus a pair. U think the plastic or metal is gold? Gold also not that ex. Anyway local opticians should price more friendly. Else ppl just get 1 pair and use long long.

ahboy82

Now the trend is having few pairs for different occasion or outfits. Just like clothing. Not worth paying 800plus a pair. U think the plastic or metal is gold? Gold also not that ex. Anyway local opticians should price more friendly. Else ppl just get 1 pair and use long long.

true.......minus my swissflex i have another pair that is more casual than biz.

want to buy another one for biz wear....then that shd be it...

henrywoo1978

Hi Guys,

Any good spec shop in the west? Prefer near Jurong Point.

And also, from some of the post I read(not that many pages, sorry), that some of you actually bought frames online. So does this mean you all got the frames and go to your preferred len shop to do the lens?

TIA.

Nakedtoes

Hi Guys,

Any good spec shop in the west? Prefer near Jurong Point.

And also, from some of the post I read(not that many pages, sorry), that some of you actually bought frames online. So does this mean you all got the frames and go to your preferred len shop to do the lens?

TIA.

for online purchase u can go taobao to look for frames and go local to make lenses...

another way is got yr eyes sight check via local optician and order yr frames with lenses online... u can try here They got 2 pairs for USD 95 promotion

Seannie

Ya economy not tat gd liaw. Me cannot change soecs lije clothing snymore. Even clothing i don change every yr now, every 2 yrs bah, wear till broken first. This yr nt buying any, only socks. My spec $900 bought last last yr end. Going to wear long long lo .... Till i huat! Or unless see any frame that is unresistible but nowadays few & far between lar. Mostly all the same and when world eco nt doing well, spec manufacturers also scale back. AND NO, dont tell me buy online. I dont condone to that concept.

Seannie

true.......minus my swissflex i have another pair that is more casual than biz.

want to buy another one for biz wear....then that shd be it...

Depends on what u work. U r IT boy. No need fashion or biz de. Ordinary spec will do comfort most impt to u cos u stare at pc whole day wat. Wat de fug u want so good spec or JLC reverso? Got tissot can tell good the time v good enuff liaw wat. Aiya ahboy ah ahboy....

Seannie

So depends on individual's needs & preference.

Some audiophile will spend thousands on sound system..
as for me...got sound come out from the speaker is good enuff. :s13:

In this case, i will spend more on specs.

=:p :D =:p

Yalor, sme people can spend tens of thousands of dollars on sme expensive watches like JLC, whereas a $10 watch can oredi tell time. Need so exprnsive watch for wat? Will feel more comfortable on yur hands? Or let u huat more mah?

ahboy82

Depends on what u work. U r IT boy. No need fashion or biz de. Ordinary spec will do comfort most impt to u cos u stare at pc whole day wat. Wat de fug u want so good spec or JLC reverso? Got tissot can tell good the time v good enuff liaw wat. Aiya ahboy ah ahboy....

Yalor, sme people can spend tens of thousands of dollars on sme expensive watches like JLC, whereas a $10 watch can oredi tell time. Need so exprnsive watch for wat? Will feel more comfortable on yur hands? Or let u huat more mah?

i kanna whack liao :s13::s13:

i not yet buy the jlc also.......i love watches leh.....just like men love sex, i love watches, same theory =:p=:p=:p

as for specs, i need to meet ppl sometimes. need to dress formally, be satki looking, so need a pair of biz specs la. not looking for those obsence priced specs also.....

popdod

i kanna whack liao :s13::s13:

i not yet buy the jlc also.......i love watches leh.....just like men love sex, i love watches, same theory =:p=:p=:p

as for specs, i need to meet ppl sometimes. need to dress formally, be satki looking, so need a pair of biz specs la. not looking for those obsence priced specs also.....

there is this Japanese brand very suitable for satki ness look
matsu-sthg. can't remember the whole name. ;)

ahboy82

there is this Japanese brand very suitable for satki ness look
matsu-sthg. can't remember the whole name. ;)

cannot be too exp.

but i still like oliver peoples leh......dun noe y......the name sounds very satki. me like

:s22::s22::s22:

Zlatan

any experts buy from coastal before? do they ship to singapore or we need to use forwarder? thanks!

The_Flash

am planning to get lenses made for a pair of oakley crosslink. Any shops in the west to recommend for cheap lens prices?

noinimod

so wat are the real spectacle brands that asians can consider?
Depending on what you're looking for, there's japanese brands like yellows plus, japonism, 999.9, dun, kio yamato, matsuda

western brands with more 'executive'/business look and specialized more in metal: ic berlin, mykita, gotti, bywp, orgreen, markus t. Stay away from the 'authorized' ic berlin shop in toa payoh though, bad service.

Because of the market trend in acetate, not as many quality metal frame brands in SG.

archangle13

Depending on what you're looking for, there's japanese brands like yellows plus, japonism, 999.9, dun, kio yamato, matsuda

western brands with more 'executive'/business look and specialized more in metal: ic berlin, mykita, gotti, bywp, orgreen, markus t. Stay away from the 'authorized' ic berlin shop in toa payoh though, bad service.

Because of the market trend in acetate, not as many quality metal frame brands in SG.

I agree with half the brands listed. I own a Japonism pair, frame super solid. Seems to be for wider faces though. 999.9 pretty darn good, but the prices seem the most sky high. Matsuda's higher range look freaking futuristic, if that's your thing. Solid too.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.