The Watch Thread - Part 10

Donten

Hi Bros and sis here, looking to get a first good watch for myself. Was looking at the Tudor black Bay, should I just go for it or like my Father say, save up more and go for the Rolex sub? Can anyone who was in my shoe kindly advise? Thanks!

if original intention is to get a sub, dont settle for less. wont scratch the itch for long. both watch can exist in the same collection. i originally was gonna get a pelagos. ended up getting the sub instead.

edit: you need to go try both on hand, very important. that will probably decide which you buy.

cyrenic

I just saw the pelagos blue one, Wah damn chio. Btw quite new to all these, the blackbay get the old one or new one better? Pelagos also got different version? Gen 1 and 2?

Blackbay like a bit small uh, 41mm right.

Depends on when you plan to wear the watch most.

I personally feel that casual setting is more "anything goes".

You really don't want to wear something that wears big with anything more formal than office wear (long-sleeved), imho.

snowver

Actually i find the real thing to small for my liking, how many mm?
I tried the 36mm DJ many many times because I like it so much, but in the end it's just too small for me.

Have you tried the DJ ii or the latest DJ 41? They are 41mm. So much more modern.

cichlid

Have you tried the DJ ii or the latest DJ 41? They are 41mm. So much more modern.

Yes, but the 41mm's fluted bezel is to me not as nice, lol. That's why in the end of all the lolec models, i got the 116040.

Henabi

Hahaha I think I don't know how to judge the size hahaha sorry about it.
So it's better to go for new bb?

if original intention is to get a sub, dont settle for less. wont scratch the itch for long. both watch can exist in the same collection. i originally was gonna get a pelagos. ended up getting the sub instead.

edit: you need to go try both on hand, very important. that will probably decide which you buy.

Depends on when you plan to wear the watch most.

I personally feel that casual setting is more "anything goes".

You really don't want to wear something that wears big with anything more formal than office wear (long-sleeved), imho.

i'm 2nd to Donten's recommendation... Kashix You'll be surprised at how different the watches appear to you...
From seeing it in photos... To seeing the actual watches in a AD's display case... to actually wearing the watch around your wrist and seeing the watch colours against your skin colour

And then, trying the same watch in different watch straps, will portray differently to you again, largely due to the watch physical design.

iirc, the new Tudor heritage black bay is around 3.6K to 3.9K. So if your budget allows, go for the new one. in-house movement and max 70 hours power reserve...
If fully winded up, you can leave your watch on the table top on Friday evening and by Monday morning, the watch will still be running and ready for action.

since your dad recommended you to go for rolex sub, I'm sure both watches are within your reach... :)

guynextdoor80

Haha yo bro, I guess correctly! you are bro Christopher in Seiko Club SG in FB. Coz I rem you have a MM300 and also the Sub No Date 114060. Your pics are beautiful, I rem you mentioned there that its taken with Olympus M4/3 right?

Yes, but the 41mm's fluted bezel is to me not as nice, lol. That's why in the end of all the lolec models, i got the 116040.

cichlid

Yes Sir, you are right!
Didn't post in Seiko Club in FB for a while liao as I kena mark, the admin keep taking down my posts!!!
Haha yo bro, I guess correctly! you are bro Christopher in Seiko Club SG in FB. Coz I rem you have a MM300 and also the Sub No Date 114060. Your pics are beautiful, I rem you mentioned there that its taken with Olympus M4/3 right?

Henabi

Yes Sir, you are right!
Didn't post in Seiko Club in FB for a while liao as I kena mark, the admin keep taking down my posts!!!

why leh?!

because your casual photos are taken more professionally than those professional photographers?

cichlid

Not sure leh, maybe because sometimes I post Sub but so do others what. The last straw was when I posted the Dagaz Typhoon watch (powered by a Seiko movement) was taken down. On the same day, someone posted the same watch, but nothing happened to that post, I told myself I'm not posting there anymore. But I didn't leave the group as I wanted to see what's going on in the Seiko world cos I'm a Seiko fanboy :s22:

why leh?!

because your casual photos are taken more professionally than those professional photographers?

Andy0601a

Not sure leh, maybe because sometimes I post Sub but so do others what. The last straw was when I posted the Dagaz Typhoon watch (powered by a Seiko movement) was taken down. On the same day, someone posted the same watch, but nothing happened to that post, I told myself I'm not posting there anymore. But I didn't leave the group as I wanted to see what's going on in the Seiko world cos I'm a Seiko fanboy :s22:

hmm, that's odd.

try contacting the admin?

guynextdoor80

Alamak no wonder quite long never see your nice pics there liao! Ya I remembered you posted pics of your Sub a few times and there was once someone said you always post non Seiko pics. but I felt those were perfectly alright also, you mostly post pics of your Seikos.

Anyway forget about posting there bro, there abit weird if you ask me. I see ppl almost everyday post non-seiko watches also ok leh, how come only u kanna..:s11:

kiosai

I think it's because your photos are borderline porno liao.. :s13:
<in a good way of course>

the admin dun want to scrape up so many sticky stuff off their forum threads... :s13:

Your longtime chriscentro account in also mati due to PW issues at WUS? very sayang.. but once I see your porno, sorry, I mean, photos, I know ur new nick liao.. haha..

cichlid

Alamak no wonder quite long never see your nice pics there liao! Ya I remembered you posted pics of your Sub a few times and there was once someone said you always post non Seiko pics. but I felt those were perfectly alright also, you mostly post pics of your Seikos.

Anyway forget about posting there bro, there abit weird if you ask me. I see ppl almost everyday post non-seiko watches also ok leh, how come only u kanna..:s11:

May be when I post, there are more likes, sometimes more like than those posted by gals! :D

kashix

i'm 2nd to Donten's recommendation... Kashix You'll be surprised at how different the watches appear to you...
From seeing it in photos... To seeing the actual watches in a AD's display case... to actually wearing the watch around your wrist and seeing the watch colours against your skin colour

And then, trying the same watch in different watch straps, will portray differently to you again, largely due to the watch physical design.

iirc, the new Tudor heritage black bay is around 3.6K to 3.9K. So if your budget allows, go for the new one. in-house movement and max 70 hours power reserve...
If fully winded up, you can leave your watch on the table top on Friday evening and by Monday morning, the watch will still be running and ready for action.

since your dad recommended you to go for rolex sub, I'm sure both watches are within your reach... :)

The new black bay around 5k, dad ask me to save up then get sub but like need quite a while to get it :( any place you all recommend to buy from if really gonna buy?

cichlid

haha, I got a couple of problems with the online world recently...sorry bros for my ranting today. =:p

the admin dun want to scrape up so many sticky stuff off their forum threads... :s13:

Your longtime chriscentro account in also mati due to PW issues at WUS? very sayang.. but once I see your porno, sorry, I mean, photos, I know ur new nick liao.. haha..

slow_mo

Seiko fanboy! Waiting for a GS shot soon!

Henabi

Nevermind la, just leave it as long as they don't remove me from the group ok liao.

May be when I post, there are more likes, sometimes more like than those posted by gals! :D

nevermind cichlid... their lost is our gains! :D you are more than welcome to post your photo-porn here :s13:

The new black bay around 5k, dad ask me to save up then get sub but like need quite a while to get it :( any place you all recommend to buy from if really gonna buy?

are you willing to buy your very first luxury watch from non-authorized Tudor dealers? like pre-owned shops and gray dealers?

slow_mo

With the low AUD, I recently (in mid June), saw a BB Black (leather) in Australia for < AUD3k (after tax deduction). The savings can get you an air ticket to Australia and back!

I would have HFTL if they have the bracelet version.

kashix

nevermind cichlid... their lost is our gains! :D you are more than welcome to post your photo-porn here :s13:

are you willing to buy your very first luxury watch from non-authorized Tudor dealers? like pre-owned shops and gray dealers?

Is it safe? I think will be better to get from official dealer.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.