The Watch Thread - Part 10

Henabi

Yes our army maybe a screw up sometimes
but everyone is a asset to the country no matter what if war happens.

army clerk, storeman, commando, guards, whitehorse etc.
all must fight to protect the country.

i am a storeman and when the time comes, i will pick up my rifle and use whatever SAF taught me to fight for my country and protect my loved ones because ain't nobody is ***** around with me and my homeland.

i guess you didn't learn much during your 2 or 2.5 years.

"..if not you, then who?.."

not patriotic or whatever but this is called the code of honour.

Ermmm.... imho, you are reading too much into it and developing a theory which is way out of its original context...

Anyway this is watch thread. Not NS thread :)

cloudwane

Hi guys, need some kind advise.

Dropped by Big Time on Saturday and wanted to purchase the Orient star classic white with blue hands but it does not look good on my wrist.

Am considering buying this http://www.seiyajapan.com/collections/seiko/products/seiko-automatic-presage-sarw019 which is about $900+ SGD.

I have a Steinhart Nav B chrono at the moment and wondering if there are any other better choices than the Seiko Sarw019. Budget is probably around $900

Henabi

Not familiar with vintage rolexes.

Are these chop carrot prices?

gGXdr

That's why previously I made a comment that it will be really interesting if someone really splash that amount of money.

Because this can become a very interesting discussion and debate.

It's like "Egg before Hen? Or Hen before Egg?"

indigo22

Dropped by Big Time on Saturday and wanted to purchase the Orient star classic white with blue hands but it does not look good on my wrist.

Am considering buying this http://www.seiyajapan.com/collections/seiko/products/seiko-automatic-presage-sarw019 which is about $900+ SGD.

I have a Steinhart Nav B chrono at the moment and wondering if there are any other better choices than the Seiko Sarw019. Budget is probably around $900

you can try the SARW @ Seiko outlet @ JEM :o
Leovanwatches also selling at that price range, but they are local based :o

PS: i'm not related to them.

the lume of the SARW is nice :o

indigo22

Yes our army maybe a screw up sometimes
but everyone is a asset to the country no matter what if war happens.

army clerk, storeman, commando, guards, whitehorse etc.
all must fight to protect the country.

i am a storeman and when the time comes, i will pick up my rifle and use whatever SAF taught me to fight for my country and protect my loved ones because ain't nobody is ***** around with me and my homeland.

i guess you didn't learn much during your 2 or 2.5 years.

"..if not you, then who?.."

not patriotic or whatever but this is called the code of honour.

nvm, haha no need me niam here.

i rest my case haha

mai OT. pai seh

dont OT , ltr will have people angry... :(

cyrenic

Actually Big Time also has Seiko JDM leh. They do list that model in their price list but not sure if they have in showroom.

gaoxing84

Nomos Club Datum - surprise gift for my gf as this will suit her lifestyle more than a rolex can.
i myself tempted already. buttery smooth winding and awesome sapphire caseback to feature the in-house movement. sweet sweet cordovan leather strap!

IMG_9645_zpst4lttyda.jpg

IMG_9649_zpslgdg30bd.jpg

Henabi

This Seiko is a very nice piece.

Some things to consider:
1) Steinhart uses 3rd party watch movement, while Orient and Seiko uses their own in-house movements

2) The physical appeal of the watches on your wrist

3) other affordable Pilot brands: Laco, Parnis

But from a orient dress watch to a pilot watch

Able to let us know the type of watch you are looking for?

900 budget can also look at Citizen, Avi-8, Tissot Visodate/PRC, Hamilton field,

gaoxing84

Ermmm.... imho, you are reading too much into it and developing a theory which is way out of its original context...

Anyway this is watch thread. Not NS thread :)

haha maybe its the way you type.

i know its the watch thread. but you started this army topic so must as well ride on it and share.
lolol

coern

Gx84 strike lottery or made big money on stock market? Out of job but making it rain like Kanye?!??

Nomos Club Datum - surprise gift for my gf as this will suit her lifestyle more than a rolex can.
i myself tempted already. buttery smooth winding and awesome sapphire caseback to feature the in-house movement. sweet sweet cordovan leather strap!

IMG_9645_zpst4lttyda.jpg

IMG_9649_zpslgdg30bd.jpg

gaoxing84

Gx84 strike lottery or made big money on stock market? Out of job but making it rain like Kanye?!??

hahaha kanye got make it rain meh? haha no la. this one good deal.

less than 1.6k leh. how to say no?

:o

sleepyman

Not familiar with vintage rolexes.

Are these chop carrot prices?

gGXdr

Agree w GX84.. depends if B&P are offered too.

Most are sold at least 10x their listed prices then

"Chop carrot price" depends on how much you think its worth...
Limited supply.. "unlimited" demand..
Havent met any "in the wild" so far..

Lurker_13

IMG_9645_zpst4lttyda.jpg

IMG_9649_zpslgdg30bd.jpg

So sweet of you... your gf will definitely be over the moon when she received the gift... :s12:

gaoxing84

That's why previously I made a comment that it will be really interesting if someone really splash that amount of money.

Because this can become a very interesting discussion and debate.

It's like "Egg before Hen? Or Hen before Egg?"

debate? how?

like is it worth spending that kind of money or?

:s11:

gaoxing84

Agree w GX84.. depends if B&P are offered too.

Most are sold at least 10x their listed prices then

"Chop carrot price" depends on how much you think its worth...
Limited supply.. "unlimited" demand..
Havent met any "in the wild" so far..

must walk into tall grass then can.

cyrenic

Ah! Ok la, Club is not that uncommon.. Of course less common than the more signature pieces. Still nice though! Great price too, grats. :) Your gf will definitely enjoy the piece I'm sure.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.