The Watch Thread - Part 10

TeenTitan01

I mentioned before - always wanted a daytona - over many years. With the previous 116520, tried it on a few times and was somehow disappointed with how it looked on my wrist. Somehow with this one, I knew it was time. The addition of the ceramic bezel did it for me. Didn't want to wait a few years to get it - because life is short.

I wanna enjoy it asap - so that I won't keep thinking of getting other watches to satisfy my urge for this one.

agreed. if you can afford to, HFTL. cos buying a substitute/homage can never scratch that itch. it the end, still have to come back to your grail.

TeenTitan01

Hi to all the pros around here, generally how do you guys perceive the brand steinhart? Saw some of the models like not bad like the ocean 1 black and the mk2 vintage. Looks jin good, worth the $$ or save up to get better? Sorry and TIA!

with steinhart, you can get a swiss movement in a sub S$1k diver is buay pai liao.

but if your long term goal is to get a rolex, i suggest you lun, have a disciplined & realistic savings plan, save what you'd otherwise spend on other watches towards your rolex. rolex prices keep going up. your re-sale value will go up in tandem. even better value for money of you can get a near-mint pre-owned rolex with box & papers.

TeenTitan01

Which model you went for? Like you buy alr then ppl say you wear fake Rolex hahaha, so asking how ppl perceive the brand hahaha.

try this on for size: kena accused of wearing a fake rolex by fake rolex wearing posers while you're wearing a genuine rolex. :s22:

what to do: rolex is the most copied watch on the planet.

but YOU know you're wearing the real deal and when you need to sell, you can get back more of your money than most other watches, esp if you bought pre-owned.

TeenTitan01

This thread really poisonous...

@Henabi: Having worn Sumo, I find my Squale's lume to be lacking. Curious about Steinhart's though.

@GX84: I actually saw chimpz's carousell post as well as a few other Maxi LEs and MK1s before hooting...Tried on the MK2.5(lol at the number) and liked it better..oh well to each his own..

Seiko lumebrite no joke. My mm300 lume I dare say it's the best among my divers.
Yeap. If you like it just go for it. Why don't want find Preowned? Saw couple mk2 or 2.5 at 450-600. Mk1 hovering at 600-650. Last time was 700-750 sia

a dial's lume is affected by the thickness of its application. the more layers of lume applied = brighter & more long lasting the lume.

case in point: my seiko orange monster & omega seamaster 2254.50 has excellent, bright, long-lasting lume.

TeenTitan01

All the talk about camera and stuff... I only have a compact camera for use during overseas holiday. Most (almost all) of my photos are taken using my mobile phone. The mobile phones now take better photos than my old old digital camera that uses floppy disk!!!

Wonderful Wednesday... Be safe, the road is very wet!!!

true photog wisdom:

1. the best camera is the one you have with you. (nowadays it's the hp cam liao)
2. it's the man behind the camera, not the gear.

cheers!

TeenTitan01

my very first luxury watch 10+ years ago :)

another gentleman owner of the cult watch! a man of sublime taste! :D

my daily beater says hi!

hASQKLe.jpg

what are your other watches today?

TeenTitan01

Thanks for reminding me, was consider bringing it to Omega Service center for a good and well deserve spa treatment. :D

please share your experience and cost:

- eg. do they burn a CD to show a before and after as well as breakdown of parts as proof of work like some angmo service centres do overseas.
- do they return old parts they replaced.
- do they include a printout from the time-o-grapher.
- etc

appreciate your sharing. :)

TeenTitan01

I am also using EM10 with twin kit lens, 45mm f1.8 and 9-18mm. The quality in that small camera is really impressive. Glad to see so many bros in here interested in photography. Was a Nikon user before jumping to m43. However, I take all my watch pic with hand phone haha.

Here is my F91-W taken with Note 5 edited in mobile lightroom.

637REj.jpg

ah! the army/reservist watch of days years gone by...

TeenTitan01

Haha same here bro, definitely the ALS.

The Lange 1 is gorgeous, but the 1815 speaks to me more. This one is my current grail.

38656.jpg

I gian this watch so much, I was and now still contemplating whether to sell both my Sub and Cartier then top up for it.

1815 up/down too lux to be a daily beater... for a daily beater, i recommend the omega 2254.50. :D

TeenTitan01

at habourfront. Free for exterior (verbal). about $15 - $20 for movement

they will tell you verbally whether it is genuine, no verification papers be given. If checking movement, they will give you an invoice

that's way more reasonable than the chop carrot prices at rsc to authenticate the rolexes. :eek:

TeenTitan01

As much as I would love to do that, selling just the Cartier alone wouldn't bring me any closer to the 1815 Up/Down. The amount I need to top up would be quite astronomical for me.

But if I can have this combo, likely its the end game for me liao. No need to look at any other watches for a very long time.

the price to pay for a solid rose gold watch...

you can consider looking to the pre-owned market (with box and papers of course) if you're not averse.

ps. but you'll need to consider the long run upkeep/service interval cost of an ALS.

TeenTitan01

went recently. their verbal verification is essentially looking up the serial no. of your omega in their system. this is free and done relatively quick.

if your watch is quite old, it might not be in their system. in that case, they can open the watch to check the movement for $15. it will take awhile depending on the crowd. they will tell you verbally that the movement is verified as authentic, give you a receipt for the $15 (which does not state that it authentic or not).

hope this gives you more info!

do they state the watch case & movement number in their receipt or not?! otherwise, that receipt is as good as useless as proof of authenticity.

btw, do they also provide any watch case or pouch?

thanks.

ps. for vintage omegas, have to contact their swiss hq directly to obtain an extract from their archives. https://www.omegawatches.com/planet-omega/heritage/extract-of-the-archives/?no_cache=1

TeenTitan01

All the end game watches talk is BS :s13:

All addicts like us know that it's impossible for a "last watch that I'm going to buy" scenario. When you buy your 30 yo watch, there is still a 40 yo, 50 yo, 60 yo... Next, will be a watch for your children and thereafter your grandchildren.

Cheers... Buying watches is forever!!!

BS or not. End game watch is a romantic goal. Dun kill off the romance in that idea lei. :s13:

In the mean time, buy buy buy hahahaha

i'm old uncle liao, not young, dynamic, up & coming young family men like you folks. am i a sad man if my omega 2254.50 turns out to be my end game watch, even though i love it to bits? :(

TeenTitan01

My wife is a one watch for life kind. She wants a Rolex DJ on jubilee bracelet. Maybe buy her that when she become a mum. :)

go hard core and get her a full gold (rose/yellow/white) lady date just with diamond hour markers on a mother of pearl dial! :D

TeenTitan01

kGs9S9B.jpg

bros, does anyone have any kang tao for an omega 2538.20 "Great White" seamaster professional gmt? pickings online seem slim to non-existent...

thanks!

reikizi

do they state the watch case & movement number in their receipt or not?! otherwise, that receipt is as good as useless as proof of authenticity.

btw, do they also provide any watch case or pouch?

thanks.

ps. for vintage omegas, have to contact their swiss hq directly to obtain an extract from their archives. https://www.omegawatches.com/planet-omega/heritage/extract-of-the-archives/?no_cache=1

iirc they state serial no.

type of job is stated authenticate movement

pouch... wu leh :D .. like below..

s-l300.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.