The Watch Thread - Part 10

indigo22

#nomorepolicemantoscoldyou? #inbeforeoldbirdscomeintakemoralhighground #donseewhat'swrongwithsuchposts
#morepleasanthreadwithoutpreachingand"hierachy"

i deserve a medal for actually reading thru those hashtags haha :s13:

Norman Chan

Like to check with you guys who bought new Tudor watch locally, usually what is the standard discount given ?

Sinn U1

Strengths: Sinn, known as a maker of serious German sport watches, stumbled onto a little bit of brand personality with the U1 (aBlogtoWatch review here) collection. These 44mm-wide, 1000-meter dive watches are designed to put up with anything (and perhaps more) a Rolex Submariner can put up with, save for bragging rights at a social gathering. The blocky hour markers and hands grow on you quickly, while the sheer utility of the U1 is almost legendary at this point.

Jin happy .. wearing my Rolex Alternative today :D
cos Toto tio makan .. no money buy real rolex :(

Nice U1, over engineered and beautiful watch. Really good bang for buck but I don't think it's a Rolex alternative. For a watch, it truly is excellent but Rolex has never just made a watch. They make a Rolex.

gaoxing84

Nice U1, over engineered and beautiful watch. Really good bang for buck but I don't think it's a Rolex alternative. For a watch, it truly is excellent but Rolex has never just made a watch. They make a Rolex.

i would rather say Rolex had a damn good marketing strategy back in the days that make them what they are today.

innovation wise, not really. 95% of the time people buy Rolex because of the brand name and where brand reputation comes from? Marketing.

but of course they did a damn well job refining their timepieces that made a rolex a rolex.

they had to because with the huge marketing strategy, they need a product to back the marketing up.

as for innovation wise, omega did a better job but they lost in initial marketing.

TeenTitan01

Borrow your post eh bro gx, paiseh!

I have a preowned Rolex Explorer 2 (Black "swiss" only dial) full set, pm me if interested! Priced to sell! :s13::s13:

if have / know of rolex gmt master OR gmt master II pepsi bezel, pm me. thanks! :)

TeenTitan01

Like to check with you guys who bought new Tudor watch locally, usually what is the standard discount given ?

black bay noir, rose logo dial (ETA 2825-2) on bracelet - discount was 15% from tudor boutique with 3 yr warranty + boutique only gift(s).

TeenTitan01

no la. decided to do away with it. haha wasn't for me to keep anyway.

till next time.. daytonaC lolol.

but so far bo offer hahaha so i still can wear it song song

I'm sure you can offload it easily at the price you paid - essentially wearing it rent free! :s12:

TeenTitan01

i would rather say Rolex had a damn good marketing strategy back in the days that make them what they are today.

innovation wise, not really. 95% of the time people buy Rolex because of the brand name and where brand reputation comes from? Marketing.

but of course they did a damn well job refining their timepieces that made a rolex a rolex.

they had to because with the huge marketing strategy, they need a product to back the marketing up.

as for innovation wise, omega did a better job but they lost in initial marketing.

I feel rolex does have their own innovation like parachrome hairspring, glidelock, etc and more importantly, their movements have been proven to be generally reliable (except for those sway enough to have to send back to service centre) and daring to offer +/-2 sec/day for all new watches sold.

BUT, they charge such a huge premium for their image as an aspirational brand which is far more than what its mechanical quality is worth.

gaoxing84

I feel rolex does have their own innovation like parachrome hairspring, glidelock, etc and more importantly, their movements have been proven to be generally reliable (except for those sway enough to have to send back to service centre) and daring to offer +/-2 sec/day for all new watches sold.

BUT, they charge such a huge premium for their image as an aspirational brand which is far more than what its mechanical quality is worth.

took them too long la. haha and they are one company that doesn't change.
they are lucky because of their brand name.

took them years to just change the bracelet.

but a rolex is still a rolex. worldwide recognition. it's like wearing cash on your wrist.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.