The Watch Thread - Part 10

Seannie

Seannie... you're referring to your tudor bbb right?

For eta movt, servicing is recommended by Rolex usually every 5 yrs. But since you just sent in for calibration, if you don't see anything wrong in the next 5 yrs time, then there's no need to send in

From here on, most important will be how you handle your watch day-to-day, especially the winding crown

Okie, thanks then will see how in 5yrs time. Winding crown i follow the steps u posted. I only wind when it stopped on sunday morning actually its less than the 38hrs power reserve stated maybe i didnt wind enough not sure. Other than that i dont suka suka wind it during weekdays when wearing it.

jonleelk

Looks way better with James bond nato strap.

The brown leather strap doesn't match the grey dial

Wrist shots!!!!! =p
To be honest, ordered this watch because of Yatto. Inspired by him to revive my SAF MR watch which had run out of battery for 6 months. Thus bought new James Bond Nato and changed battery. However, the next day after changing battery and Nato, found the watch stopped moving. Took out to check, and the crown broke off from the pin (battery still ok).

Decided not to repair the MR watch, and wondering what to do with a new James Bond Nato. Then chance upon the Stowa grey pilot which is a perfect match for the James Bond. Ordered with brown leather strap to reuse that strap with my wife's watch in future.

The rest is history.

Seannie

For official recommended it will 3-5 years for the service. But to me I will send my watch until really needed, coz a lot of watch repair master said before, "watch mostly is fault by junior watchmaker"... So we dunno our watch is give to who to service.

But this not for Rolex, I quite less heard ppl complain about this.

Yup its true... but like u said maybe rolex service centre got better control though still may risk some scratches etc... but guess its just part & parcel bah. Xie Xie Ni.

yattokame

Some of my Japan trip fotos

Just sharing. lotsa pics. not so good because the nicer ones have my family in them.

Was in Fukuoka for the first time despite having been to Japan many times. Have always loved Hakata ramen so I put on quite a bit of weight on this trip.

A012D03D-1E0E-4BE1-B5A0-CC4EFEAD0382_zpsvm4zngis.jpg

Butabara and Torikawa are almost a staple item in fukuoka's yakitori shops. And they serve cabbage first.

07722E01-600F-41F1-8691-F4CE5EE93B39_zpsflfenmkt.jpg

Took the special Aso-Boy! train which only runs once per day due to the situation in Kumamoto. Very good for kids - even has its own playground and small library INSIDE the train, just for kids.

210A6EAA-54FC-4421-8EBC-0480801EC1D0_zpsypssi7he.jpg

We all know about the service quality in Japan. Was raining so they wrapped this raincover over my shopping bag. Held it for me UNTIL I leave the shop and bowed till I was out of sight.

FDCC8254-E164-4902-A399-457EF80A9B85_zpsqu6c6hqt.jpg

Cheap buffet yakiniku about $30+ per adult. Meat and seafood and a whole variety of things to eat. 90mins IIRC. At some suburbs we drove out to.

FFC64A17-CF7C-443D-8D3D-7C57C657D006_zpshfwv1eps.jpg

Ichiran ramen at its place of origin in Fukuoka. Gotta be careful which branch you eat at. This Tenjin (orchard road area) branch serves a slightly different flavour. Had ichiran a few more times after that. Our kids' first time but they loved it too.

384815CD-642F-4088-AAD4-23F324A58D1C_zpsfndwowcv.jpg

Another train "Yufuin no mori" which is very special. A very Sherlock Holmes feel.

B4244BCC-7FCA-48EF-BE84-BE185660A404_zpstw5eyrbn.jpg

Went to this farm for kids, up the mountain, called Moo-Moo Land. Our kids insist it's Sweet apple acres - if you watch MLPFIM

474FD7BC-E21E-402D-8FB3-7CB380FBFE57_zpsc9172dwe.jpg

Thanks so much to my friend for driving us around - especially for my shopping hahahaha......

denial86

To be honest, ordered this watch because of Yatto. Inspired by him to revive my SAF MR watch which had run out of battery for 6 months. Thus bought new James Bond Nato and changed battery. However, the next day after changing battery and Nato, found the watch stopped moving. Took out to check, and the crown broke off from the pin (battery still ok).

Decided not to repair the MR watch, and wondering what to do with a new James Bond Nato. Then chance upon the Stowa grey pilot which is a perfect match for the James Bond. Ordered with brown leather strap to reuse that strap with my wife's watch in future.

The rest is history.

Wah that is very nice planning. *thumbs up*

Henabi

Okie, thanks then will see how in 5yrs time. Winding crown i follow the steps u posted. I only wind when it stopped on sunday morning actually its less than the 38hrs power reserve stated maybe i didnt wind enough not sure. Other than that i dont suka suka wind it during weekdays when wearing it.

also, its not recommended to adjust your watch timing between 9pm to 3/4am, as it will cause unnecessary damage to the watch movt and the internal gears.

it is possible to achieve near max reserve if lets say you wind about 40 times. and don't forget that the rotor moves only if you move your wrist.

for my case, i will usually rotate each watch every few days or every week... therefore, I will just give it an initial 20-odd winds and then I don't really bother about it anymore

Henabi

Just sharing. lotsa pics. not so good because the nicer ones have my family in them.

Was in Fukuoka for the first time despite having been to Japan many times. Have always loved Hakata ramen so I put on quite a bit of weight on this trip.

A012D03D-1E0E-4BE1-B5A0-CC4EFEAD0382_zpsvm4zngis.jpg

Butabara and Torikawa are almost a staple item in fukuoka's yakitori shops. And they serve cabbage first.

07722E01-600F-41F1-8691-F4CE5EE93B39_zpsflfenmkt.jpg

Took the special Aso-Boy! train which only runs once per day due to the situation in Kumamoto. Very good for kids - even has its own playground and small library INSIDE the train, just for kids.

210A6EAA-54FC-4421-8EBC-0480801EC1D0_zpsypssi7he.jpg

We all know about the service quality in Japan. Was raining so they wrapped this raincover over my shopping bag. Held it for me UNTIL I leave the shop and bowed till I was out of sight.

FDCC8254-E164-4902-A399-457EF80A9B85_zpsqu6c6hqt.jpg

Cheap buffet yakiniku about $30+ per adult. Meat and seafood and a whole variety of things to eat. 90mins IIRC. At some suburbs we drove out to.

FFC64A17-CF7C-443D-8D3D-7C57C657D006_zpshfwv1eps.jpg

Ichiran ramen at its place of origin in Fukuoka. Gotta be careful which branch you eat at. This Tenjin (orchard road area) branch serves a slightly different flavour. Had ichiran a few more times after that. Our kids' first time but they loved it too.

384815CD-642F-4088-AAD4-23F324A58D1C_zpsfndwowcv.jpg

Another train "Yufuin no mori" which is very special. A very Sherlock Holmes feel.

B4244BCC-7FCA-48EF-BE84-BE185660A404_zpstw5eyrbn.jpg

Went to this farm for kids, up the mountain, called Moo-Moo Land. Our kids insist it's Sweet apple acres - if you watch MLPFIM

474FD7BC-E21E-402D-8FB3-7CB380FBFE57_zpsc9172dwe.jpg

Thanks so much to my friend for driving us around - especially for my shopping hahahaha......

your post is sho zhun... just nice around lunch time...

post all these nice delicacies from Jipun. Can see but cannot taste.

Yatto Dai Gor so bad

somenewbie

also, its not recommended to adjust your watch timing between 9pm to 3/4am, as it will cause unnecessary damage to the watch movt and the internal gears.

Good afternoon bro Henabi,
I'm newbie here and wish to know more about watch up keeping. I have also heard my SA saying not to adjust watch timing between 9pm to 3am. This question comes to my mind - if I picked up my watch in the morning and realized that it has ran out of winding and stopped at 11:30pm last night, will I be risking damage if I adjust the timing then? It seems really impractical to winding up the watch and wait for it to run out of the 9pm-3am zone before adjusting to the correct timing of the day. Therefore I would like to know what are the safest steps to follow when our watches suay suay stopped at the 9pm-3am region and we need to adjust it to the correct timing of the day. Thanks in advance.

gaoxing84

Just forget it and if he again suaning u, pls just ignore him... If u no reply him I believe he will not suan u again.

For official recommended it will 3-5 years for the service. But to me I will send my watch until really needed, coz a lot of watch repair master said before, "watch mostly is fault by junior watchmaker"... So we dunno our watch is give to who to service.

But this not for Rolex, I quite less heard ppl complain about this.

Haha I troll him got reason one. If you're here long enough you would know. Lol now make me sound like I am the bad person Haha so sad.

Seannie now got allies already. Not fun liao Hahaha
Hehe tudor bb Satki max

gaoxing84

I even can click the "report post"!
If we come to watch thread have to ignore this ignore that, why we still want to come here?!
Pls follow the rules and I also believe almost ppl come to here is want to read abort watch and see the nicely watch photo, not come to here to see you two ppl suan Lai suan ki.

Ps: pls do not need to reply me or explain. We all can see!
Thx for your reply and share about the ignore!

Edit: this is my final friendly remind, next time I will just simply click the "report post".

Thx and happy day to all of you.

Wah play report post? Lol.
OK then. Kkthxbye

reikizi

Yalor i also duno why he keep doing that to me only. But i know u are my good fren. Wanna ask u a watch question now cos nobody replied. For my watch how often is it recommended to send in for servicing / maintenance? I vaguely remembered the shop staff told me only need send in for servicing after many years, can last 8yrs. Is that so?

I got answer u on polishing leh .....:D

anyway service depend on individual, my speedmaster date drop before 8-9 years liao still working well ... never service before.. sinn 4-5 years service cos the power reserve getting shorter .. for me is only service when need too .. if not just leave it .. I see before lao kok kok rolex no service still working

some say 4-5 years, some say 7-8.. really depend on you

somenewbie

Haha I troll him got reason one. If you're here long enough you would know. Lol now make me sound like I am the bad person Haha so sad.

Seannie now got allies already. Not fun liao Hahaha
Hehe tudor bb Satki max

Live and let live, let go, bro gaoxing,
Seannie had his fair share of trolling from others in the past. And you trolled him too much until 物极必反, it's the natural cause and effect, that's how karma works. Weekend coming so chill out and wish you have a great weekend ahead.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.