The Watch Thread - Part 10

cyrenic

A very good point on wants and needs. People today must differentiate the two.

Having a luxury watch is a want not a need. Get it only if it is within your means.

That's also why I got the Steinhart, at my age and salary, a luxury watch is not within my means (service cost is :eek: too).
Yeah, the carrying cost is the scary part for me. Anyways, a good watch is a good watch, need not have an enormous price tag. You happy can already. :)

endlssorrow

i find myself very weird
can spend money on car, food, holiday

but find it hard to spend on lux watches.

Golden_Fox

if you're young and/or like to project a sporty/rugged image, a black dial watch is suitable.

imo, leather strap is unsuitable in our horridly hot humid climate, unless you're cacooned in aircon comfort from car to office all the way. stainless steel bracelet is a more practical choice.

a black dial diving watch like the rolex submariner is perfect as it wears well in both a suit or in shorts. if you're not prepare to pay the premium, you can consider the various homage offerings from steinhart ocean one, davosa ternos diver, tisell, squale, etc. its robust water resistance means you can swim or shower with it on your wrist. raining? it's built to dive. ;)

if you're still keen on a leather strap, i can suggest a sterile dial pilot watch like this:

UT8RuCxXg4cXXagOFbXW.jpg

I'm working in an air-con room. My concern for steel strap is the weight. I seldom wear anything on my wrist.

White face black strap. Goes with everything.

If you wear with formal have to pair with black belt black leather though.

I see. I wearing dark brown belt. Dark brown leather strap for me?

coern

Loving the weekend... Had a fantastic morning with my boys at Tanjong Beach Club!

SmJVetml.jpg

rboyboy

See he carry luggage means go overseas no time reply you le. I help him reply.

This one approximate SGD 6000+

Huh tudor BB with ETA movt 6k?? Shops used to sell at 4680 SGD I think??:s11: dont anyhow bomb leh

confusedboi

Huh tudor BB with ETA movt 6k?? Shops used to sell at 4680 SGD I think??:s11: dont anyhow bomb leh

Think the pelagoes sells around 6k,, 5k range could be the new tudor black bay bronze... beyond that price range is big bro ( entry level) rolex territory liao :s13::D

sleepyman

Not so lucky to own a new black or bronze..
Only can enjoy a LKK turning bronze..
Wish everyone enjoy a good weekend too!

cyrenic

I'm working in an air-con room. My concern for steel strap is the weight. I seldom wear anything on my wrist.

I see. I wearing dark brown belt. Dark brown leather strap for me?
For a purist yes. But if you're not then don't have to care la. :)

K|muRa^84

that's where discipline and delayed gratification comes in.

current estimated price of a daytona ceramic bezel = $22,000

assuming:
1. you earn a median salary of $3,500/mth.
2. your annual bonus + 13th month AWS = 3 months salary.

after 20% cpf, your bonus+13th month = 0.8 x ($3,500 x 3) = $8,400
you put aside your bonus+13 month for 2 years = 2 x $8,400 = $16,800

balance you need to save = $22,000 - $16,800 = $5,200

you save $10/day for 1.5 yrs = $10 x 1.5 x 365 = $5,475

you can own a daytona ceramic bezel in 2 years, no problem.

why waste money on anything else when your grail is achievable in 2 yrs? ;)

A person making 3.5k a month has no business buying a 20k watch

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.