The Watch Thread - Part 10

TeenTitan01

No idea but they have been there for as long as I rmb.
They do alot of servicing business which I believe is their main core business. Selling is just side. I think they don't earn alot from reselling.

Bunch of guys over at sg roc fb page sour that I made effort to go down and buy the watch then flipping it.
Lol.
Some came at 11-12 and expect to score a batman below 10. Then go complain. Lol. Working adults acting like kids. Weird.

unlike them, you can afford to camp there... just saying...

TeenTitan01

Anyone might be interested in getting a Rolex Explorer 2 16570 Black dial, with no original bracelet nor certificate, do pm me! Thanks

bro, seems you're liquidating your collection (first your tudor bb noir and now your explorer 2). consolidating? cashing out for other plans? or just flipping them? pardon me for my observation. can don't reply if it's too personal. no offence intended. cheers! :)

TeenTitan01

Agree. Wanna get the deal, do the work. You queued 6 hours, every hour $100. Ok what.

at the opportunity cost, monthly salary works out to be = $100 x 9 hrs x 22 days (30 days - 8 weekends) = $19,800/mth.

elite level pay! :eek:

gaoxing84

what the...?! :eek:

you mean you were there BEFORE 0730hrs to be first in line? you drive there at 0600hrs? fierce lah bro gaoxing84!! :eek:

don't tell me you regularly check out and refresh jw watch webpage on Mon & Thur after 0001hrs to score the desired watches, ah??! :eek:

Siao la. Never drive. I take uber. Drive to town and park there like stupid leh hahaha

kashix

tio poisoned by rboyboy dip dip, looking at turtle, did some research into sumo too, now looking at mm300, anywhere in SG can I find the real unit and try try the watch? :O I see got a lot of diff mm300, which one is the good one? got a lot of diff model like damn blur sia see alr :s22:

TeenTitan01

wonder if one day will have someone going there and disregarding the queue telling the owners he want the watch and willing to pay more. what will happen?

hmmm.... and then start an auction/bidding effort at opening at 1230hrs so as to be fair to those who also queued for it? hmmm...

TeenTitan01

I think basic business ethics 101 need to apply. If seller who accepts that on Carousell already will be considered inappropriate, let alone an actual shop. They have a reputation to maintain.

Or else maybe JW next time should add in their website pricing "$xxxx or best price"

t & c up to seller to set. if they chose to auction off the watch to the highest bidder in the queue, and state it very clearly and up front, it's up to potential buyers if they are willing to participate. who knows, some later in the queue may deem it fair as they have a shot at it (to the limit they're willing to pay anyway).

TeenTitan01

Think u can buy turtle and sell away seiko 5 eventually as a form of upgrade.

Better movement and WR in turtle I think

bro AyuReady, some Seiko 5s are equipped with the same 4r36 movement. just saying.

while the venerable classic skx007/009s are still equipped with the non-hackable and non-windable 7s26 !@#$%^&*()_+! :mad:

TeenTitan01

g59xpanl.jpg

UFO sighting at work today!

Sent from Samsung SM-G930F using GAGT

whoa! the legendary Seiko speedtimer - rightful contender to be the first mass production automatic chronograph in history (zenith - first to announce, caliber 11 first to introduce to market). :s12:

gaoxing84

will collecting red subs now earn a tidy profit at the next economic upswing? the pool's already limited as it is. double red sub prices are of course :eek: ttm, so only the hard core collectors with deep pockets can afford to play - but prices can only go up for super-collectible items like the ferrari 250 gto.

question to vintage rolex collectors:

- is there a risk of the watch patina/aged lume degrading/disintegrating during your possession?
- how do you mitigate this risk and protect your investment?

vintage replacement parts like dials, bezels are already hard to hunt down as it is, so...

thank you for sharing your insight, experience & expertise! :)

(pm me if you prefer. thank you!)

1. Patina is part of the watch aging. Let it age and degrade slowly. crazy collectors like these.
spiderweb dial etc

2. don't protect, enjoy them as it is as other modern pieces. somehow vintage already got the beat up look so continue to beat it.

3. to be honest, except for internals like movement can be fixed.
what vintage collectors (afaik) are mostly out to find the unaltered, unreplaced and undone, 100% in its original condition (polishing are frown upon as they screw up the shape of the case.)
if parts like crown chui and all, then you have to source for the correct period crown to replace. hard to find but no choice lor. if wrong crown, the value drops drastically.

part and parcel of vintage hunters. the hunt, the chase and lastly the fun.

unlike them, you can afford to camp there... just saying...

making my time worthwhile. haha

their service good?

Crowded therefore not full attention but very nice. i can try all the watches without feeling obligated.

TBH i'm getting quite irritated with carousell lol... buggy... tonnes of irritating buyers who ask crap loads and in the end no interest or disappear... lowballers... or give all sorts of excuses...

last one made me reserve my seiko sumo since start of week, to deal sunday/monday once pay come in... everyday ask me questions or ask me give discount... yesterday suddenly tell me need the funds cause aunt passed away... don't know real or not... (to be fair to that guy, he asked me to give my bank a/c no. so that he can transfer $50 for reserving for him these few days)... but just give benefit of doubt and let it go...

but day in day out deal with these kind of situations... zzz... to bad carousell still one of the best place to buy/sell preowned watches...

haha i sold most of my watches there. there will be 1 x good buyer that don't even bother to nego. patience!

gaoxing84

anyway, kym? looks too big or just nice?
15300 39mm better?
AD offers 15% upfront with me asking casually. maybe can go higher if pushed.

0A73FB56-A29A-4432-9756-67F9B0EF9AA7_zpsxnf5ebx7.jpg

TeenTitan01

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.