The Watch Thread - Part 10

TeenTitan01

I find it rather offensive that you assume that they carry them as if it was hard earned by them. It could be a gift from their other half, an aunt, an uncle or their parents. Maybe they carry these items and treasure them as if it was given to them by someone important in their lives? I know there are arrogant pricks who carry these things to show off, but I don't think it's fair to generalize all the people in my generation. By the way, I know students who work during their holidays everyday as uber/grab drivers to save up for watches and also give their parents money. I do think that's considered hard-earned.

nobody asks you to defend your generation. and you don't have to. they're not you. stick to watch discussion and appreciation here and you'll be fine. :)

oh, and learning to be humble and develop a thick skin and not be needlessly sensitive nor provocative are real assets to survive irl. ;)

TeenTitan01

ahya this thread se eh poisonous sia...initially my funds were for me to upgrade my camera...dunno why i legs itchy go try Rolex Sub @ THG...

my camera hasn't been upgraded ever since :s13:
hmmm... bro indigo22, i know you got your grail fav rolex 16610 liao, but you know ah, heheh, the new rolex sub 116610 clasp IS SO MUCH BETTER, SMOOTHER, SEXIER, WITH MICRO-ADJUSTMENTS ONE HOR and all solid links with cerachrome bezel some more... well? did i succeed in itching you for the 116610? =:p

TeenTitan01

Pilot watches are the best bro. You need one. Personally, I prefer them to divers hehehe. But divers are nice another way la.

i love pilots too bro cyrenic, but i find divers the most practical and tougher as they have higher water resistance rating making them more weather resistant and can be worn in all circumstances. also in our hot, humid, sticky climate, a diver on a s/steel bracelet means a rinse under the tap with soap & water while we wash our hands is a breeze.

TeenTitan01

Yup, Theres good and bad ASK

met before those who flaunt it in your face type but also those who are humble

i also want to be good, humble ask but uncle too old and father not rich. double whammy. sucks to be poor :(

TeenTitan01

hahahahaha

same. i NS, 500, stay out, take bus and train all gone already but heng dinner parents feed me.
weekend need meet gf, gf also swee, eat cheap, enjoy cheap dates.

i had to find business opportunities and lucky, i got some leads, managed to make some cash all the way till my first job.

my car license taken when i was 25 hor. hahahaha my BTT and FTT passed when i was 18 but car lessons chor like mad
go take PDL when i was 25, the person thought my license kena kantong before after seeing my BTT LOL

uncle never thought he can afford car in this life, so never even take licence. #truestory. :(

a562140

Working uncle here trying shallow fashion wannabe watch...
LIw1PFhl.jpg

Sent from Samsung SM-G930F using GAGT

so bros, does the DD crystal for the turtle from K2 have any AR coating? (at $60 I doubt so but doesn't hurt to clarify). thanks!

Oh yes I wanna know this too! I know carousell got someone selling DD AR sapphire for $60 and with $20 installation at his house lol. K2 much cheaper and with the workmanship of the reputable Mr Goh. However, if the DD that K2 offers does not have AR, it may hold me back.

TeenTitan01

sheet sia...this watch keeps running through my mind leh...

helpdesk_image.4619558.jpg

DAVOSA_Ternos_Rio-layered-copy-1024x763.jpg

davosa ternos diver rio limited edition msrp $1450, 20% discount if cash payment. aluminium bezel. only bezel pip has lume. interested? avail at chinatown point.

TeenTitan01

if its minus the colors, its 2254.50 liao :s13:

Cc: Teentitan :D

close, but the wave pattern, hands and hour markers are different.

i prefer the sword hands, hour markers (esp the large triangle at 12 o'clock)and generous lume of the omega 2254.50. :D

give huge watches a miss if your wrist can't take them, else look funny unless you strap it over a leather bomber jacket like how it's actually done in WWII.

oh and go find out about iwc mark series of watches, laco, a lange & sohne, wempe & stowa if you wish to broaden your knowledge about true WWII german pilot watches.
I've read many articles about them and I know about the five manufacturers commissioned to make them. However, what I look for is not just purely heritage. The style of the case, hands and dial also matter to me. And it just so happens that I like the modern iterations of the pilot watches. I know the propellor hands are kinda weird but it's just the way I like them

TeenTitan01

As a young parent myself, I do attest that we want to give the best to our kids and maybe even to the risk of spoiling them in the process, but I think it's a fact the demographics and earnings are shifting and most have better incomes then their parents

I bought my Rolex at age 32 after working for 8 years and having settled my wedding, house and first kids. When I was young , 24-25 just came out after uni was aiming tag heuer but could not bear to spend that 2k plus but needed a proper watch to work in one of the big 4, my only watch was a couple g shock which can't fit under the sleeve and thus I spend my first month salary on a seiko criteria limited edition :s13: for around 400 plus I think from citichain.Was envy of friends who bought tag heuer in a heart beat but as my earning increase and obligations being settled, I was too able to start dabbling in my hobbies more.
Infact too much hobbies, Lego, quadcopter, camera, watches etc

So regardless where we start from, spend within ur mean, and work toward ur own goals. Still a salaried employee but generally contented with life. Sometimes I think back the Grail watches I am aiming for could potentially be set aside to finance my two kids undergraduate studies haha and such thoughts always made me hesitate. Hahah not there yet

good on you bro AyuReady! uncle SG50 liao still don't have a rolex, have to be satisfied with a used cheap, cheap omega. :s34:

TeenTitan01

bros, your advice here appreciated!

the rolex gmt master II aluminum pepsi bezel has been creeping up in price like > 8 freaking k now :eek:

question is: is it still worth getting considering the ceramic bezel gmt master IIc can be had with better bracelets & clasp and outstanding warranty for few k more?

thoughts? thanks! :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.