The Watch Thread - Part 12

reikizi

见高就拜,见底就踩

Leaving it here.

put these words then say leaving it here ..:s13::s13:

u jin joker, just like give u a punch then say ok.. we stop.

Don't take it the wrong way man, [/COLOR]

this sentence is good, but useless when coupled with your previous reply leh

how to tell TT01 not take it the wrong way ??

sigh, I cannot get thru you at all. )

you can put me on your ignore list if you want.

:o

There are always different opinions and thoughts. good to have friendly arguments but words like 见高就拜,见底就踩 should not appear, it is personal attack and childish. It is of no help for arguments in the real or online world.

Anyway CNY leh, everyone chill lah .. this period must be happy then can Huat !!! rem , all go buy Huat Chye paper .. number 2254 !!

Lastly , please more pic and wrist shots !! :s12:

Kong Hee Huat Chye Everyone !! I go sleep liao ... still no start work .. sibei .. CBL :s13:

cyrenic

dVpVtiU.jpg

Putting this on to dive back into work..

a562140

leica FILM rangefinders! damn hardcore, man!! :s12:

too bad kodak folded quite a while back. what's the choice film stock now?

lol the film ones not mine. i wouldn't know. i do have a film rangefinder and load it with cheap expired film for fun.

i'm just dipping my toes into the game and its a lot like collecting vintage rolex. case in point - there was a body there that was valued more highly because it was a unique model with factory leica paint finishing. and it could've fetched MUCH MORE if it were not factory refurbished.

That said Leica's gone down digital... but watches have held their own with mechanicals.

lyrrom

lately, it seems that any difference in opinion will eventually degenerate into personal attacks and petty insults.

there shouldn't be a need to put others down just to reiterate and enforce your own view. everyone is entitled to an opinion, so why not we just agree to disagree?

Ed.YEO

There are always different opinions and thoughts. good to have friendly arguments but words like 见高就拜,见底就踩 should not appear, it is personal attack and childish. It is of no help for arguments in the real or online world.

Anyway CNY leh, everyone chill lah .. this period must be happy then can Huat !!! rem , all go buy Huat Chye paper .. number 2254 !!

Kong Hee Huat Chye Everyone !! I go sleep liao ... still no start work .. sibei .. CBL :s13:
(潮)一開年就安捏熱了?!!!

indigo22

lol the film ones not mine. i wouldn't know. i do have a film rangefinder and load it with cheap expired film for fun.

i'm just dipping my toes into the game and its a lot like collecting vintage rolex. case in point - there was a body there that was valued more highly because it was a unique model with factory leica paint finishing. and it could've fetched MUCH MORE if it were not factory refurbished.

That said Leica's gone down digital... but watches have held their own with mechanicals.

some leica owners purposely scratch their leica's body paint to make it look more faded right? :s22:

a562140

Going back to the speedy discussion, i own a couple of speedies and would like to clarify my understanding so feel free to chip in:

• I believe its true that Omega did not design the speedyas a watch for astronauts. It was simply picked up and tested by NASA engineers. And that was the 321 or pre-moon series
  • Also NASA qualified meant something then as I believe the battery of tests included other brands that failed. But I am not so sure that even at that time the speedy was the ONLY one that made.
  • Nevertheless the russians also brought Russian watches into space and you know Russian movements ain't that great but still made the trip and back...not sure about their value now but certainly not like the Speedy, but good enough for space (but didn't land on the moon of course).
  • Seiko chrono also made it to space around the same time with other (NASA?) astronauts soon after and the movement was created around the same time as the speedy.
  • Point is many watches and movements of that time went to space and came back safely. but the speedy 321 landed on the moon. And the toughest part for the watch is takeoff and re-entry mainly due to vibrations, and extreme temperatures ( i doubt temperature on the moon i colder than space, given the sun shines on the spot where they landed).
  • And also an automatic winding system cannot work without gravity.

comments/thoughts, anyone and everyone? :s12:

coern

every 50 pages must have one sagat... no sagat no talk!!! :s13:

indigo22

Going back to the speedy discussion, i own a couple of speedies and would like to clarify my understanding so feel free to chip in:

• I believe its true that Omega did not design the speedyas a watch for astronauts. It was simply picked up and tested by NASA engineers. And that was the 321 or pre-moon series
  • Also NASA qualified meant something then as I believe the battery of tests included other brands that failed. But I am not so sure that even at that time the speedy was the ONLY one that made.
  • Nevertheless the russians also brought Russian watches into space and you know Russian movements ain't that great but still made the trip and back...not sure about their value now but certainly not like the Speedy, but good enough for space (but didn't land on the moon of course).
  • Seiko chrono also made it to space around the same time with other (NASA?) astronauts soon after and the movement was created around the same time as the speedy.
  • Point is many watches and movements of that time went to space and came back safely. but the speedy 321 landed on the moon. And the toughest part for the watch is takeoff and re-entry mainly due to vibrations, and extreme temperatures ( i doubt temperature on the moon i colder than space, given the sun shines on the spot where they landed).

i've worn my Armani Exchange watch when I was with my ex-gf and its simply impossible for anyone/anything to be colder than her :( :sad:

*yes, its a joke :s22:

AyuReady

Nice additions of info.

But hope some engineer can share if centrifugal force still work in zero gravity?

That may explain choice for going manual.

Current speedy still subjected to same test to earn the mark of being space certified?

AyuReady

Hehe unlike pwillie jiejie, slow mo gor gor and ed yeo shushu ,

Ran out of nice watches liao, back to my trusty seiko

axwUPv5.jpg

indigo22

[*]Nevertheless the russians also brought Russian watches into space and you know Russian movements ain't that great but still made the trip and back...not sure about their value now but certainly not like the Speedy, but good enough for space (but didn't land on the moon of course).

[*]Seiko chrono also made it to space around the same time with other (NASA?) astronauts soon after and the movement was created around the same time as the speedy.

[*]Point is many watches and movements of that time went to space and came back safely. but the speedy 321 landed on the moon. And the toughest part for the watch is takeoff and re-entry mainly due to vibrations, and extreme temperatures ( i doubt temperature on the moon i colder than space, given the sun shines on the spot where they landed).

[*]And also an automatic winding system cannot work without gravity.

i think bulova also went up :o

http://www.ablogtowatch.com/bulova-moon-watch/

Ed.YEO

Hehe unlike pwillie jiejie, slow mo gor gor and ed yeo shushu ,

Ran out of nice watches liao, back to my trusty seiko

axwUPv5.jpg
不要那麼講咧。。。我的十五春花都是花將近二十年的時間搜集來的。你還有時間慢慢找,慢慢挑,慢慢集,我年過42,就要開始節制了。。。

買錶不必買貴,最重要是買可靠,買耐用,買信譽就好。至於保不保值,升不升值,跌不跌值,不應該是買錶的主要考量。因為買錶的主要,只是為了報時。買多過兩隻就只為紀念某個日子。。。

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.